We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull hotel - ideal location”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We Visited Franschhoek for 2 nights while staying for 8days with friends in Cape Town.

We Chose Mont Rochelle on basis of reviews and recommendations and were not disappointed. The Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes drive from the town centre and is situated within the centre of the Mont Rochelle Vineyards so The views are to die for!
The service is excellent and the room we had although billed as "standard" was large and again with beautiful view over the gardens to the mountains.

The hotel has a pool and a outdoor terrace but it can (and does) get fiercely windy which rather limits the use of these. There is also a spar which we did not use.

The restaurant is circular with panoramic views over the surrounding countryside and mountains in the distance. The cloud formations over the peaks of these are simply stunning.

We stayed on a B&B basis and breakfasts were a buffet affair with hot dishes included in the price (as was a complimentary copy of The Cape Times).

We ate in the main restaurant both evenings and the food was superb although being "nouvelle cuisine" the portions are rather small! Again the service was spot on and the wine list excellent at not over priced as is often the case in up market restaurants in the UK.
It looks as if the menu is fixed and does not alter so if one was staying longer than a few nights one would need to eat in town where there are any number of excellent places including Reuben’s of course. The hotel will arrange transport for you to and from the town but makes a charge for this (see other reviews).
There is a less formal restaurant a short walk from the hotel proper called the "country kitchen" which is wher the wine tasteing for the vinyard occurs but I think it only serves lunches.
Using the hotel as our base we spent an afternoon wine tasting at 2 winery’s travelling on horseback. This was great fun and can be arranged with Paradise Stables in Franschhoek. (www.paradisestables.co.za)

One niggle was that when it came to paying the bill despite having pre-paid the accommodation the charge appeared on the final bill - it was amended without question when I pointed this out!
Would I visit again? Yes.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear Reviewer

The Team would like to thank you for your kind words! We are happy to hear that yet another Guest is happy after their stay, meeting their expectations! The Team tries their utmost to always accommodate all Guest requests and would go beyond the call of duty to ensure 100%satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back very soon! Till then, safe travels!
Thank you
Kind regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

My wife and I were on a 5 day motor bike road trip. We arrived into Franschoek late one afternoon after a very hot drive from Cape Aghulas (tip of Africa). After assessing and rejecting a number of possible accomodation venues - we were irritated, hot, tired, and thirsty enough to dive into the nearest wine barrel...we then came across Mont Rochelle. We were a bit apprehensive as to the reception we would recieve from a 5 start hotel - being ragged and dirty bikers. However it was unneccassry as the reception could not have been better. They even insisted that we park our Harley at the front entrance. Well what an oustanding place - excellent rooms with views of surrounding vineyards, cosy bar area, fantastic swimming pool, awesome breakfasts, superb service, and of course probably the best views in Franschoek from the restaurant deck. Sundowners on the deck were absolutely fantastic. Supper at their restaurant (fine dining) was excellent, with a very competent and friendly Italian piano player - who was very happy to play requests. On our last night we were keen to try the well known Reubens restaurant in Franschoek - it is however difficult to get reservations - well no problem for Mont Rochelle - just required one phone call and we were booked in. We used the hotels chauffer serivce to Reubens where we enjoyed an amazing meal at probably one of the best tables in the restaurant. What more can I say.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Dear Reviewer
We wish to thank you for your kind words and we are happy to hear that your stay with us was to your expectation. We pride ourselves on our offerings and experiences had, building lasting repationships with our Guests.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Second time we've stayed and even better than the first. Service from the moment you arrive until the bell boy loads your cases into the car is wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. Food in both restaurants is excellent, the setting is tranquil, the view jaw dropping. Do try and do the cellar tour (it has got historic value and the wine is excellent!) and both Mange Tout and the country kitchen. We're just about to re-book for 2012!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words. The Team takes the time to pamper and provide the best possible service to all our Guests. We are happy to hear that we have done just that, specially for you!
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Till then, keep well and see you soon.
Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were completely taken aback as soon as we walked through the doors. We were greeted immediately by the friendly staff, offered a glass of excellent wine, and made to feel completely welcome and at home. Our suite was just perfect and the views were breathtaking from both our balconies. The breakfasts were sublime, there was everthing there to choose from and all kept fresh, the hot being cooked to order. We went on a wine tasting trip on horseback so we were able to take advantage of the beautiful and stunning surroundings which were picture perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff to them everything was a pleasure to help us out and make our stay memorable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something special and if we ever go back to the area we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treacle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your "home away from home". Indeed, it was our pleasure to pamper you!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Sept 2010.

The hotel is tucked away from the centre of Franschhoek surrounded by it's own vineyard. A beautiful location overlooking the mountains. The grounds and hotel were beautifully maintained.

We were greeted warmly by all of the reception staff and offered a complimentry glass of house wine while completing the registartion process.

We were shown to our room, Room 32, which was beautifully appointed and had a really great bathroom. The only small gripe, was that the view was restricted as we were in a room built into the eaves- but the room itself was lovely (and we could see a partial view over the mountains)

The food in the main restaurant was amazing - really good quality. The house wines (all produced by it's own vineyards) were very good. We also ate at the Country Kitchen (over by the vineyard and wine tasting rooms) and again, good quality food.

We really enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernurse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed here for one night as part of an Educational trip for Travel Agents. Beautiful location, great staff and brilliant wine tasting!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We throughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, but still close to the town (about a 10-15 minute scenic walk) Great food and lovely outdoor dining for dinner. Spacious rooms, beautifully decorated with friendly staff. Perhaps slightly over-priced. Would definitely recommend...........

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGemma2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £248 - £709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing