We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, authentic Cape Dutch Guest House”
Review of Lekkerwijn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lekkerwijn
Ranked #15 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My 3 sisters and I had a wonderful 4-night stay in the "Ballroom" and really enjoyed the walks around the farm style property, our tour of the 17th century home complete with antiques and wine on the stoep with the owners and manager. Although we had chosen the coldest weekend of the year to visit we managed to keep toasty and warm with heaters and warm duvets. The staff were amazingly helpful and gave us lots of advise on places to visit, things to do and where to eat. It was really good value for money and close driving distance to Stellenbosch and Franschoek. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LoriManson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a charming place and hosts! Such a pleasant place even in the cold and wet Cape winter. A real honour to stay in such a historic place and experience the legance from a by-gone era. Just need to put up with a few creaky floors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles_Midrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a wonderful guesthouse in a beautiful spot with fantastic hospitality. They welcomed me into their family, breakfast is fantastic, the surrounding area is wonderful. Clean rooms, great service, and wonderful communal areas to sit and read. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfercycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We picked this guest house as we wanted to stay in a traditional Cape Style house. We were not disappointed. This house has been in the Pickstone family since the early part of the century and maintains the style and furnishings from that period whilst also having modern facilities such as wi-fi.
We were staying in a grand family house.
Geoff the manger really looked after us and recommended places to visit in the area.
It was a winter visit so the weather was rather depressing but none the less a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful Cape Dutch experience with the original furniture. We stayed in the cottage and enjoyed the experience.

The grounds offered a great playground for a birthday celebrate our friends birthday.

Great host and a wonderful tour of the main house .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gillion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This historic farm house is sited between Stellenbosch and a short distance to Franschhoek.
Simon, the host who is so knowledgeable on the historical facts gave us a history lesson on the estate that my wife and I stand amazed. The place is certainly very peaceful and well maintained.
Breakfast was fresh and loving prepared by the cook. We were greeted by 2 cute little pigs inside their enclosure that was a short walk from our room. There is ample of space for family with children here. there is apple tree, goat, cat and some other little animals around. Indeed it is a very hospitable place to stay. Thank you Simon, we hope to be back soon...

Room Tip: stay in the main house if you dun like animal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My sister and I spent 2 nights at Lekkerwijn recently and fell in love with the beautiful old home, the gorgeous antique furniture and the lovely gardens which were full of bright red autumn leaves. Simon, the owner, made us feel so welcome and chatted to us like old friends! On top of that upon our late arrival on the Friday evening, tired and starving, we were offered the most delicious Cape bobotie ever - really one of the best I've ever had! And Simon brought a cheese platter to our room so we could snack before hitting the comfy beds. We will definitely be back to visit Lekkerwijn on our next trip to Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixen148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
8.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
377 reviews
4.6 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#16 of 64 in Franschhoek
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
373 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
612 reviews
9.0 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#22 of 64 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lekkerwijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lekkerwijn

Address: Lekkerwijn | R45, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lekkerwijn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lekkerwijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing