We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable wine tour”
Review of Unwind Franschhoek

Unwind Franschhoek
Ranked #33 of 60 things to do in Franschhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable wine tour”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Brad collected us from our Guest House at 10.00 a.m. for a full day wine tour.
He took us to 5 different wine farms all of which were varied and interesting with knowledgeable staff.
This was a great introduction to South African wine.
Brad has a very comfortable car and is very easy company. He gave us an informative overview of the Frankschhoek area and we also visited Stellenbosch and Paarl.
Thanks Brad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ellie5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Guide in Franschhoek”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Brad Garrod is the owner and definitely knows his way around the area. Full of knowledge and ideas and interesting tidbits. Had a most wonderful time with him. I most highly recommend him. He also has self catering guest cottage if you are interested on a quiet street just a couple blocks off the main drag.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Femmevazaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of a trip filled with highlights - Great day of wine tasting w/ Bradley”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a wonderful introduction to the beautiful winelands area and its many small family-owned vineyards. The day after arriving in Franschhoek from the United States my wife and I booked Brad for a wine tasting tour. We generally like to explore on our own so we were not sure quite what to expect but Brad delivered exactly what we were looking for, a relaxed and private experience full of great wine, amazing views, and even some delicious artisan food pairings.

Brad is a great guy and I will echo the previous reviewers comment that it's almost like having a friend show you around. As a licensed tour guide, he knows all about the Cape area, not just the wines, so he is able to give you a history and background throughout the day if you are interested. His choice of wineries was perfect, it seems like he goes out of his way to work with smaller estates of high quality that you might not find exploring on your own. Thanks Brad!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank punkrocknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
744 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“A great way to see a few boutique vineyards”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Picked up by Bradley from our hotel in Franschoek, we spent a morning visiting 4 smaller vineyards, as suggested and pre booked by him. We went to 4 vineyards, sampling 21 different wines plus various cheeses and olives, and talked to the vineyard owners. We especially enjoyed Stony Brook and Eikehof and purchased wine from them. It was a really relaxing morning, with Bradley driving us around, giving us lots of information about the history of the area and various wines and introducing us to owners. We would strongly recommend Bradley to guide you around the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most relaxing day”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent a very enjoyable day with Bradley. We visited a number of vineyards, all very different but all very beautiful. It was so relaxing, Bradley had pre booked all the wine tastings and lunch at a very popular, justifiably so, restaurant, who he called on the morning to ensure we were inside as it was a particularly windy day. Bradley is very easy to get along with and having him with us while meeting people at the Wine Estates ensured the conversation flowed. It was so interesting hearing all about South Africa and we basically chatted about everything. It was like being taken out for the day by a friend rather than a tour guide, we will definitely contact him if we visit Franschhoek again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne346834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unwind Franschhoek also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Unwind Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing