We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wood fire pizzas with a mouthwatering toppings”
Review of The Stall Cafe - CLOSED

The Stall Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Stall is a friendly, casual, and inexpensive eatery in Franschhoek, serving lunches and dinners. Particularly attractive to local families and tourists with children. Excellent menu and serving only Franschhoek wines.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wood fire pizzas with a mouthwatering toppings”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It was a rainy day and we had pizzas in mind... But you get pizzas all over the place. Takeaways, per slice and the normal stuff in restaurants. The Stall in Franschhoek, however will blow your taste buds with their original choices for toppings: green figs, feta cheese, lamb, butternut, white anchovies... Not on the same pizza. I liked the atmosphere and the scenes around the place. Quite reasonable price. Don't let the high prices of Franschhoek scare you away from a good pizza. Try The Stall Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeonKitching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Burgers”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Franschhoek for a weekend - Friday night relax at our guest house with a simple take-away supper. Our hosts referred us to The Stall Cafe and we settled for hamburgers. Hit the spot for what we needed, they were delicious. Hard to enthuse about a hamburger - but we all enjoyed them !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza Ever”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Came across this restaurant by accident but ended up to be one of the best pizza's we have ever had. I woukd rate this a 4 star out of 5 star experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and unpretentious wood-fired pizza”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Stall was an accidental find, but one of the highlights of our Garden Route journey. The wood-fired pizza was served warm — a crispy, thin base heavy with high-quality toppings. The parma ham on ours still has me salivating at the mere memory. We also had a beef burger, and my partner loved its caramelized onions. Restaurant is very casual. Service staff were friendly, asked about our travels and where we were from. Did I mention this place has gorgeous views of the Franschhoek Mountains? It hasn't yet fallen into the tourist trap cycle, which makes this place all the more treasured.

I've blogged about The Stall and my Garden Route journey here: http://wp.me/p2wzln-2Kn

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venialvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummie!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great Food and service with a smile what a delight! This is the place where you want to be for the best 500gr T-Bone ever!! Sided with the grandma style home-made chips and topped of with some delicious mayonaise (we are Dutch, sorry for that...;-)) appearantly produced by that same lovely-lady! If ever visited by Belgium law-enforcement people they would probably confiscate the all original (and therefore governement property...) old train station sign of the Brugge Grand Central but that adds a twist to the utmost illegally good food that the serve at this place for nickle and a dime. We salute you on keeping up the good work! Thanks guys, Peter & Esther from the Netherlands

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PeeVeeEe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stall Cafe also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing