We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous winery and top in service”

Grand Provence Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$147.38*
and up
Full-Day Private Food and Wine Tour in Franschhoek
More Info
US$147.38*
and up
Private Foodie Tour in Franschhoek from Cape Town
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winery, restaurant, and art gallery.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous winery and top in service”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My review is overdue but I had to write it after I just opened our 1997 Grande Provence red varietal that we had stored for one year. The wine was simply exquisite and it brought back such fond memories of our day trip to the winelands. We visited last October, had a fabulous tasting and we were sold on the Grande Provence to bring back to the US with us. We took a day tour with a small company to visit five wineries and this was by far our favorite. Highly recommend. I included a picture of our wine back in the US and it was worth the wait!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DallasFashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    92
    44
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“If You Could Only Choose One Winery.......................”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I had only one short week's stay in Cape Town. Because we believe South African wines to be some of the best in the world, we wanted to take a day trip to the wineries.
We researched a bit, and decided on driving out to the Franschhoek area to explore. It was a lovely drive, and only about an hour from Cape Town. We were feeling a bit peckish, and began looking for a winery which also served lunch.
We came across this winery, after driving by an assortment of others, and drove in.
I'm so glad we did. We spent a very leisurely afternoon here. There are a number of wine tastings to choose from in the very pleasant wine tasting room. We chose one which would give us a nice selection of whites and reds. We were so impressed with how complex the range of flavors were. We then went to the restaurant, and enjoyed a leisurely lunch of appetizers a la cart. They were small, beautifully presented, and oh, so tasty. They filled us quickly, because they were so satisfying. We decided on nothing else but a very small and delicious cup of espresso. The service was attentive and very professional.
This restaurant offers chef's table lunches or dinners (for about 7 courses for 10 guests @ 595R each). Do check the website first to see what is being offered, and then make your reservations.
After lunch we strolled into the art gallery which was being set up for a new exhibit. The work we saw was fantastic.
This would be a great setting for an event or special occasion.
Accommodation is offered for 10 guests in the Owner's Cottage, complete with butler service and a personal chef.
This was one special afternoon where we really felt we had treated ourselves well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bronzebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What e memorable dinner”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We recently went to Grand Provence for our anniversary dinner . The food was absolutely great and the service was good and very friendly. The menu had a good variety to choose from and the food was excellent, the flavors great and well presented. We had to book in advance to make sure we could be accommodated. Don't pitch up at the restaurant and expect to be seated as tables are booked out in advance. Set a good 2 hours aside to spend on your dinner. This was a truly memorable evening of good food and good service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Franschhoek”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

During our time in the South African wine region we were lucky enough to visit a lot of gourmet restaurants. Le Grand Provence was by far the BEST!! We were lucky enough to meet the extremely talented executive chef the night before we dined at which point we already had a reservation so took the opportunity to ask for a few tips on the dishes. The next night we were greeted and seated at a lovely table by the window. The restaurant is a small single room with only a handful of tables so already felt very personal on arrival we all went for a 4 course menu which was extremely fairly priced as well as a number of bottles of wine. The chef personally came out and welcomed us and gave some recommendations which was very nice and by the end of the night we had invited him to join us for coffee and a lovely chat. Overall it was a fantastic night with exceptional food, if you can only have dinner at 1 place in Franschhoek this is the place to do it!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Location is very impressive: gardens are beautiful, atmosphere very nice... but what a terrible service. The place was empty but we have been told by the restaurant manager that each single table was reserved, which was not true as per one of his waiters who we talked to at the same time. We were properly dressed I swear. We sat down and overheard the manager say: do not attend this table until I say so... which he never did. Finally, a waiter, probably ashamed, gave us some service, not sure of what to say... whilst the kitchen was trying to keep up the path with not much success. Frustration grew when all tables occupied by other men from the same corporation as the restaurant manager got the most attentive and quick service.... even though arrived much later than us. Finally, the menu is uninteresting and not adapted for a quick and healthy lunch and the food very very average.
Generally speaking: do never go again, at least as long as this restaurant manager is here. There are plenty of wonderful other options in the area with better food, wonderful, nice and attentive service, in short: value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Provence Estate also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Grand Provence Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing