We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views & wine”

Haute Cabriere Tasting Room
Book In Advance
More Info
US$157.20*
and up
Guided Wine Lands Day Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 57 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the slopes of the Franschhoek Mountains, Haute Cabriere – The Home of Pierre Jourdan - specialises in still wines and Cap Classiques produced exclusively from Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. The Tasting Room offers visitors a personal introduction to its wines through cellar tours and tastings, in English, Afrikaans, Geman or French. Next door, Haute Cabriere Restaurant treats guests to the “True Marriage of Food and Wine” with a menu that revolves around the family-owned estate’s wines.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views & wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Beautiful view of Franschhoek valley while you taste Haute Cabriere's wine. Really good service and staff are friendly and eager to share more on the wines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank capetown101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi capetown101,

Thank you for the review and for visiting us in Franschhoek. Your comments are very much appreciated and we looking forward to you vising us again soon in the stunning Franschhoek Valley that we are very fortunate to live and work in.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    79
    22
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunsmuir, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and good wines!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you enjoy wine tasting in a beautiful setting with no crowds then this is a great place. We were there in May which is the beginning of fall. The leaves were starting to turn and the view from the winery is gorgeous. We were so impressed with the lack of crowds at all the wineries we visited, makes the experience something to savor. We had some light snacks to go with the wines and had a great time. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Brook,

Thank you for visiting us and your kind words. Autumn/Fall is a lovely time to visit as you say you can see the seasons changing and the visitors are a great deal less than in Summer. But busy or not we are very lucky to have these spectacular views across the Franschhoek Valley. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you to Haute Cabriere on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arnim at his best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you have Haute Cabriere on your list of places to visit in Franschhoek WELL DONE. The Farm itself and the building and Cellars are well worth seeing, absolutely beautiful and shows off the passion of a man who loves creating great wine and "champagne". The restaurant has the most wonderfully prepared and presented meals and the taste is unbelievable. I would rate it only behind The Tasting Room. A MUST is to have a Cellar Tour with Archim von Arnim himself, it's like no other wine tour you would have been on, full of life stories, humour and amazing historical knowledge of wine and the area, and if he does the Sabrage so much better. Haute Cabriere..can't wait to visit again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Russell,

Thank you so much for the review and your kind words. We take great pride in what we do and constantly strive to improve ourselves to ensure all visitors receive the same experience as you did. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant wine tasting experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had a group in Cape Town from the USA and they wanted to experience a proper wine tasting experience, with cellar, wine and off course a champaigne taste and off course a little show of how to pop a bottle with a sword! They surely delivered on all the aspects of what i have booked and we had the owner herself doing the tour and we all loved it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Hank,

So glad to hear that you and your group thoroughly enjoyed your visit to us as it's always wonderful to hear a visitors experience both from our local and international guests alike. We look forward to seeing you here again soon and perhaps joining us to experience our culinary delights.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic for wine tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good price for tasting various wines and has become my top favourite for Chardonnay. However one point to make the wine is slightly more expensive than buying from a retail store (Woolworth's), which is surprising. It is a wine farm therefore should be cheaper than the stores.
Other than that fantastic experience and breathtaking views. I would definitely revisit when I come back to Cape Town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosied20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear rosied20,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our Chardonnay Pinot Noir is amongst your favourite wines. Just on your comment on pricing: Upon closer investigation you will actually find that most wine farms charge more for their wines on the farm compared to a retailer – simply because the experience is just so much richer. Where do you find a retail store with such an amazing setting and views, a place to sit outside in the sun overlooking the Franschhoek valley, a host of highly educated, dedicated and friendly staff to explain the wines to you, tell you about our history, show you the wine cellar, carry your wine to your car, give you advise on where to go for lunch… etc.? We believe that we offer something very special at Haute Cabriere – and we do not consider ourselves as competing with a normal retailer. Also, what you are referring to is an exception rather than the rule – normally our wines are priced very much in line with the rest of the market.

See you again soon!

Kind regards
Christiane von Arnim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haute Cabriere Tasting Room also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing