We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, but...”
Review of Dieu Donne

Dieu Donne
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.43*
and up
Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape...
Ranked #19 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, but...”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

As part of the wonderful Wine Tram tour, we stopped at Dieu Donné and decided to stay for for lunch in the Roca restaurant. The setting was nothing short of sublime and we enjoyed 'poll' position on the terrace with views that may possibly be unrivalled anywhere. We were served enthusiastically enough by our waiter, who was both knowledgeable and entertaining, and the food, beer and wine were all very good. However, the whole occasion was soured when we came to pay as, with some paltry excuse, they could not find a machine that would accept cards! As there were 6 of us, we had run up quite a significant bill and, not expecting such a problem, we had to 'scrape' together enough cash to pay - mainly because the waiter wanted his tip in cash rather than as part of the credit card payment! Not very dignified and a sour taste was left after what should have been a memorable experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    64
    20
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views ”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We went to Dieu Donne for wine tasting and enjoyed the slightly more relaxed method of being able to choose the wines we wanted to taste, rather than having a set list, and that we could go to the counter when we were ready to try the next one.

The wines were good and with such an amazing view over the valley, I would definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Took a tour of the wine farms in the Franschhoek area, and Dieu Donne was one chosen because of the spectacular setting and views. These didn't disappoint us, but the service was so awful that even though we had decided that we wanted to have lunch here, we left without eating.
I suppose the wines could have been good, but the sour look on the servers face, the tiniest drop of wine in the bottom of the glass really just left a bad taste in our mouths. We thought it such a shame that such a beautiful place could be so successfully spoiled by bad service.
I would like to give it another try, but sincerely hope that the management does something about the extremely poor service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 33Wren33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really a God given view but the restaurant mediocre”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We visited Dieu Donné in 2009 and again in 2011 and both times we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place. Also the restaurant was exquisite, so we were looking so much forward to going back in November 2013. We were very disappointed. The Restaurant Roca has been transformed into a very average restaurant. I ordered springbok cappacio which I had had a few times before during our 3 week long tour in South Africa. At Roca I got 1 thick slice of springbok, not very much like the thin sliced capaccio that I had previously been presented to. This was typical for the whole meal. I wonder if there has been a change of chef at the restaurant. They ought to do better since the location is the very best in South Africa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, poor service”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Visited to taste wines. The views are stunning and the place is really nice. Sadly the service let them down.
There were no other visitors there, so just the 2 of us to deal with. We asked for the tasting, selected what we wanted and that was all. The woman was far more preoccupied with Facebook than with us. She did not tell us anything at all about the wines or anything else. She simply served the wine. We realised halfway through that cheese was available, so we ordered a platter, which was delicious. I would have expected her to tell us about that sort of thing, make us feel welcome and try to sell their produce. Not at all. She was cold and acted as though we were an inconvenience. We bought a little, but could have bought a lot if she'd made an effort and come off Facebook for a while.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Testing12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dieu Donne also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dieu Donne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing