We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, decent picnic food”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Mont Rochelle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$117.37*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great setting, decent picnic food”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We went to mont Rochelle mainly because most of the other picnic options in the winelands tend to have bread, cheese and cold meats. This picnic has a variety of cooked food including caramelised vegetables. The food did not seem like much, but we filled up pretty quickly.

We had our picnic along the dam which was beautiful. It was quite windy though (and we lost some champagne, a glass and a platter of food, so be warned).

All-in-all, a good alternative to other picnic options in Franschhoek and Stellenbosch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laser_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary Picnic”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We wanted to do something special for our anniversary so decided on a picnic on a wine farm. Was very impressed with the speed and valuable information received by e-mail from the staff at Mont Rochelle so I went ahead to book the picnic. We chose the gourmet basket, which was a little more expensive to treat ourselves a bit.

Upon arrival the staff was very friendly but we did have to wait for our basket even after they phoned us 30 minutes earlier to confirm that we were coming. Then they realised we got the regular basket so we had to wait a bit longer for the 'upgrade'.

The setting is spectacular by the dam and very romantic. I did find the food a bit scarce for the price - we paid R370 for this basket. The only real expensive items in there were 4 small prawns and smoked trout.

All in all - nice setting and friendly staff but overpriced food for what you get.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb setting, great staff and good wines!!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Waitress was the best, good award winning wines for all tastes... We had a real good time. Cheese platter is awesome and the cook is of a good advice... Awesome place! Quite a view...

Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting and views”
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel was one of the highlights of our latest trip to South Africa. The attention to detail and helpfulness was second to none. It was my husbands birthday the day before we left and I bought some wine from the vineyard and a very nice Mont Rochelle polo shirt which they kindly wrapped for me in a very posh bag and raffia and looked great. The only downside was that the wine was confiscated at the airport, I had totally forgotten that you cannot take liquid through security. Anyway the thought was there! We had a beautiful room with fabulous views of the mountains and gardens around the hotel. Superb staff throughout and so happy and smiley all the time. We ate at Mange Tout the first night which was excellent with a few surprises along the way which I won't divulge as it would spoil a surprise for future guests! The other two nights we ate at Country Kitchen where they specialise in Italian cooking the decor is Tuscan and very stylish. The trip around the wine making tour and tasting afterwards was an added bonus all included in our stay at Mont Rochelle. We will certainly be staying here again in the not too distant future.

Helpful?
Thank petapiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Permits for Mont Rochelle are easily available in the town, and come with a helpful map of the walks, which cater for all levels of fitness. The views are well worth the walking!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mont Rochelle also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing