We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We booked Akademie Street on the strength of TA reviews. It was even better than the reviews suggested. We rented Oortuiging Cottage, the oldest of the buildings that make up the guest house. This is a private two bedroomed cottage connected to the rest of the premises by a path through a beautiful, secluded garden. Here too there are areas to relax and a private plunge pool. On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owner and her staff. They were very attentive and had a wealth of knowledge about the local area. It was on their recommendation that we visited Kalfi's on our first night (see my review elsewhere on TA). Akademie Street is ideally situated in a quite location within easy walking distance of all the local attractions (except the vineyards which are some way out of town). Inside the cottage the rooms were impeccably clean and the huge master bed was very comfortable. What really made us feel welcome was the attention to detail which shows that the owners really understand what visitors need. Good quality toiletries, free mini-bar and snacks, free laundry, and wi-fi. Not to mention the breakfast, which was probably one of the best breakfasts we've had anywhere – two courses, both freshly prepared with high quality local ingredients. We stayed at Akademie Street for two days at the end of our three week holiday. We wish it could have been more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We absolutely loved this very special place! Service was outstanding , thanks Hazel , Oom Flip and the rest of the staff. Rooms are spotless , warm and just so beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelinejec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A wonderful historic house & experience! We were charmed of the fine design style, warm atmosphere and friendly people (and the housedog) we met there. From the first moment we were welcomed in the house we knew we have to spend at least a few days there, and it felt like we didn’t want to leave it in the end. Every detail is very well taken care of, each room seems to be more beautiful than the other and every room seems to have its own story. Every time we entered the house it seemed we returned home after a long journey. The impeccable service and fresh breakfast are just a detail. Just don’t miss it if you visit Franschhoek! We know for sure we will come back there. Our rating, definitely excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela_1210_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

wonderfully welcoming and personalized stay...katherine and hazel made sure we had everything we could possibly need...Uitsig room was large and well-appointed...we had a really restful stay topped off with a superb breakfast...all the staff were friendly and helpful and the cherry on top was Anna the rescued young black labrador who was irrepressibly friendly! can't recommend this hotel more if you are in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcheong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Gorgeous place; every room/cottage is different, service is friendly but not intrusive. Great breakfast, lots of homemade items. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had an enormous room that was a wonderful space, quite comfortable bed and a little sitting area with reading chairs and small sofa and another area with a table and chairs… so we had lots of room to spread out! We opened the floor to ceiling shutters every morning to let in the sun. We threw out our touring plans when Arthur gave us more “local” advice on wineries to tour and he was right on the money with his recommendations. Parking at the Akademie Guesthouse was easy and convenient. During our delicious breakfasts every morning in the cozy library we had interesting conversations with Hazel about South Africa (since we’re from the States). She is a wonderful representative for South Africa and we often think of her perspective when SA is in the news. We walked “downtown” to dinner every night with superb recommendations from Arthur. He also helped us with our reservation at LeQuartier Francais where we celebrated a birthday and our 30th anniversary. Just a note, we are just now writing our review for our August 2010 stay because we had some family issues when we returned last fall, but we didn’t want to miss an opportunity to give a “Hip Hip Hooray” to Akademie Guesthouse!.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Finding the gabled Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest Lodge tucked a few streets away from the hustle and bustle of the main road was like discovering a hidden gem - it was exactly what we were looking for.
Our accommodation was the two bedroomed cottage which suited us and our teenage daughter perfectly. We wanted to be together under one roof and this fragrant & comfortable, self contained cottage was a dream find.
The dictionary definition of "Bijou" is given as "something smart and delicately worked (as in jewellery); elegant and tasteful" - and for us, this describes the whole Akademie Street experience.
Hosts Katherine and Arthur (a divine couple!) are owners and custodians of this rare gem. Their hospitality exudes a worldly elegance yet engages with South African warmth and gracious charm.
Breakfast is extraordinary, the service special, the environment tranquil and the whole experience not to be missed!
We can't wait to go back...
The Millers, Llandudno Cape Town

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llandudno42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £276 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing