We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like in Heaven ;-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like in Heaven ;-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you are looking for your home in Franschoek - you will find in Akademie ! We were 3 nights - to less ! Staff is very friendly and owners - like best friends ;-)

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewGdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
847
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our room and the grounds at the Akademie Street Boutique Hotel were so delightful that we hesitated to leave the grounds. Extradinory gardens and a room with quality attention to every detail. We felt pampered. Akademie even has a cell phone in the room pre-programmed to make local reservations. We had never slept on a more comfortable, spacious bed. But then there is also the food! Delicious cooked-to-order breakfasts and yummy treats (with and without alcohol) in the room. And then there is also the staff! Hazel printed out a driving route to assist us in our return to Cape Town through the traffic. She and Katherine added special stops of interest on the way and then gave us their numbers to call in case we got confused! Thoughtful and kind - beyond all expectations - is all we can say

Kathryn Menges

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building but one can also rent an entire cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynm414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our staff as they are a lovely team and enjoy the feedback. Spring is a particularly pretty time of year to visit the Cape, so our garden has been colourful and fresh and has different perfumes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We arrived at Akademie Street Guest House a little early for our 3 night stay. As our room was not quite ready, the host and staff made us very welcome and gave us tea and coffee. When I first arrived there I was not feeling too well and the staff were very good and proceeded to prepare our room ready early so that we could have some private time.
We stayed in the Vreugde Cottage and it was very nice with comfortable beds and a kitchenette with everything you would need. The fridge was stocked with drinks and nibbles, all complimentary. The Vreugde Cottage also has a nice size bathroom and a nice garden to sit in with a plunge pool.
The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, pastries etc., We think that it would have been better if the cereal and fruit juice etc, had been put out on a side table instead of crowding our table. As sometimes, we found the staff were a bit too fussy arranging the bowls and plates on the table instead of letting us get on with our breakfast. But that is just a personal observation.
We found the host and staff extremely friendly and helpful. A prime example being that on the morning of departure, which was very early in the morning (due to an early morning flight from Cape Town) the Night Porter brought over a Continental breakfast which we thought was very thoughtful of the host.
It is a nice hotel to stay as a base for tours of the Winelands, but I wasn't overly impressed with Franschhoek. Too quiet, but with nice restaurants though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for your comments on our being a bit fussy! It is always helpful to hear things from another perspective and we will discuss this with our lovely staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had the most amazing getaway here! Everything was thought of and the food and service unbelievable. Room was gorgeous (Uitsig). All in all I cannot fault it! Katherine was delightful, would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We arrived late after a long drive from Plettenbeg bay via the little Karoo. (worth the drive as the wild flowers and mountain scenery were fantastic) We were greeted by the owner like family and shown to our accommodation which was in Twyfelling. The rooms were perfect for a family as my wife and I got our own room but were close enough to the kids room to make them feel comfortable.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with huge comfy beds. The free coffee, snacks and drinks were a great treat and the bathrooms were just superb. My daughter loved Anna the house dog and had great fun playing with her during our stay. The kids even went into the pool much to the amazement of the staff as it was freezing.

The location is great as its only a few mins walk to the village centre and all the great restaurants. We love Franscheok, it is a safe, pretty town with lots to see and do. the food at le Quartier Francaise tasting room was very very good, my kids even managed the five course degustation, its a must try whilst in Franscheok if you are a foody like me.

Its easy to see why Akademie street gets such amazing reviews, its because its amazing. Don't even think about staying anywhere else :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelheapsoftimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were having a family holiday, six of us, elderly parents, two sisters and their husbands. The holiday consisted of being cramped in a 4x4, with a trailer for the luggage, as we drove from SA, into Namibia and back again through Franschhoek. Needless to say, we arrived fairly out of sorts and grumpy.
That changed within minutes of meeting Katherine and Hazel.
These two lovely, quiet, understanding and patient ladies made us so welcome, in this most beautiful of hotel and guesthouses I think I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.
The attention to detail in each room is remarkable. Collectively, we could not think of anything, any item, need or want that was not in place.
Not only would I recommend this place to anyone, I would go further and say that we will not stay anywhere else in Franschhoek again. We pass through perhaps once a year or two years. And I can't wait to go back! But it will be for a longer stay next time, I hope.
Thank you so much, to all the lovely, friendly staff at The Akademie.

Room Tip: Allow Hazel and Katherine to select the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We spent two nights here. We knew from the moment we arrived that our stay was going to be special. Both Hazel and Katherine made us feel very welcome. They made restaurant bookings for us and helped us plan our days. The bedroom was gigantic with lovely views. After a long days sightseeing It was so relaxing to sit out on the balcony with a chilled sparkling wine from the free mini bar. It truely one of the best hotels I've stayed in. it would be difficult to suggest anyway it could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing