We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
1,216
35
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,216
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithe main housefruit platterthought of everythingguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamsouth africalittle extras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was our first ever trip to South Africa and we had already stayed in some lovely places during our first week in this beautiful country. However, Franshoek and Akademie Street were something else entirely. We were bowled over by the understated elegance of the accommodation, the attention to detail and the almost tangible tranquility. All the staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Breakfast was delicious and the garden a delight. Katherine and Arthur were charming and wove a truly magical spell!

Room Tip: You will feel privileged in any room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at Akademie and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment of arrival the service was exceptional in every aspect and delivered with warmth and care. As others have described the building and rooms, I can only add with amazement that everything is complimentary. Yes even the laundry service. Clearly the Akademie has only one focus and that is you as a guest. The Akademie only serves breakfast but even that is an outstanding experience with everything laid out in front of you on your table. The location is perfect and safe for a short evening stroll to sample the food at any one of the many outstanding restaurants in the main street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This beautiful B&B so close to the centre of Franschhoek is perfect. Katherine and Arthur are two of the nicest people who really care about your stay and not their own profit margins! The rooms are private in beautiful gardens are equipped with everything you could think of and some you couldn't. So many little extras - I won't spoil it all and leave it for you to discover!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Spent a fantastic couple of days in Franschhoek at Akademia. Room was excellent and everything we could have needed was provided. The breakfasts were stunning, the pool and gardens were wonderfully relaxing - everything was just as I had read and expected. Katherine and her team were absolutely charming and we would love to return in the future - have already recommended to family and friends in SA and the UK!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Akademia is everything you read about and more. Well located just off the main street, beautiful setting, quaint cottages, unbelievable hospitality, thanks to Arthur and Katherine.

Outstanding breakfasts (I counted 16 different kinds of fruit beautifully cut and served each day), not to mention homemade breads, granola and of course eggs to order.

The cottages/rooms reflect the culture, the serenity of being in wine country. Very peaceful and very private. The beds were heavenly with white crisp linens and a down duvet.

We stayed in Oortuiging and loved it. If we ever make it back to Franschhoek this is exactly where I will stay, hands down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews