We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we were still there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wish we were still there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Second visit and just as fabulous! We were in Oortuiging which is a separate cottage with front door directly onto the quiet street so you feel very private and self-contained. The back door leads to a private patio where you can relax on the leather sofa, and cuddle up with Anna the beautiful Akademie Labrador!

Katherine and Arthur were away when we were there but Hazel is a fabulous host and a credit to the team.....such a lovely person and always has a ready smile. As do the kitchen staff, they are great! I must also mention the housekeeping girls who very kindly handwashed some delicate clothes for me....all part of the Akadamie service!

The attention to detail here is amazing......better than some 5 star luxury hotels I have stayed in! And the bed and linens were out of this world......no wonder we never made breakfast till 0945 every morning!

Short walk into the village so you can either eat in Franschhoek or drive further afield. Recommend The Common Room, MCC and Kalfis in town......and try Holden Manz for dinner (they will pick you up), Pierneef at La Motte, Delaire Graff, and Goatshed at Fairview.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
838
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stunning property comparable to other amazing places we stay in SA and half the price. Sadly only there for 1 night. Would whole heartedly recommend. 2 days later i realised i must have left my mouthguard, so the staff ended up fishing through the rubbish, found it and posted to my home. Extraordinary!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurassic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This property gives new heightened definition to a guesthouse. It is truly beautiful inside and out with attention to every detail imaginable. The accommodations are elegant but comfortable and homey at the same time. It is, however, the owners along with their caring staff who made our stay unforgettable. Katherine, Arthur, Hazel and the rest of the staff truly believe in the product they are delivering to guests from all over the world. They made us feel at home away from home on our 40th wedding anniversary. Diane of Long Island, USA

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We adored this place! The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, and they made us feel welcome. They went out of their way to be helpful, by calling various wineries for us to double check hours, by providing a more detailed map than we had, and by giving us a cell phone for local calls. They also do a phenomenal job with breakfast! At first, they brought our a tray of all sorts of fruits, yogurt, honey, and granola. That would have been enough for me, but then they asked what hot dish I would like. It was great, and in a great location.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different, and we stayed in the one with the conservatory attached to it (Twyfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Akadamie Street Hotel made our stay in Franschhoek absolutely perfect. We traveled with another couple and stayed in Twyfeling. It was luxuriously comfortable. Katherine and Arthur are exceptionally kind, bright and talented. They have maps for walks, suggestions for dining and anything that you could possibly want. The breakfast is absolutely fabulous. Everything is fresh and plentiful. You are within walking distance of everything. We bought wine and cheese one day and had a lovely picnic on the patio. I would recommend Akademie Street to anyone. You will be delighted with the service, the spaciousness and comfort of the rooms, the quality of the furnishings, proximity to all of the local interests and Katherine and Arthur's hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleTNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I visited Akademie Street Boutique in mid-June 2012 and what a great experience we had. Hazel was quick to greet us, make us feel comfortable and fill us in on everything we needed to know for our stay. Katherine and Arthur were always present to answer questions and also provided a very convenient drawn out map of all the wineries and attractions in Franschhoek. This made it very easy for us to navigate the town and gave us plenty of activities. We stayed in Uitsig and from the heated floors and beautiful views, incredible!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful and served a great breakfast!! Their playful dog Anna is also a great touch to make you feel at home. We highly recommend Akademie and hoped to come back!!

Adam and Lindsay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is an amazing inn within walking distance of dozens of great restaurants and shops. Katherine and Hazel thought of everything we might want, made recommendations and reservations for us, left a cell phone for our use, and our (huge) room had a fridge stocked with sparkling wine, Amarula, and lots of other goodies (at no extra charge), It rained during much of our 3-day stay and we didn't even care. The (huge) glass-enclosed bathroom has a heated tile floor and it was really cool to watch the clouds coming across the mountains from the warmth of the room. We would love to return there one day (maybe in the summer).

Room Tip: We chose the room with the glass bathroom (I think it was called the pool room) and it was great. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete4215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing