We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place with very special people.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This review relates to the room type Vreugde.

My husband & I stayed at this property for three nights, and have only praise for the accomplishments of the owners and staff in making this a very special place and a memorable stay.

Whilst we only viewed one other room in addition to the one we were staying in, I can only assume that they are all of the same quality, standard and comfort levels.

Ours was beautifully decorated with every amenity and wish covered from bathrobes, candles, heaters, blankets, laundry, reading material, stocked and replenished fridge, tea and coffee, mobile telephone programmed with restaurant numbers and property contact and a huge comfortable bed...

We had the addition of private parking and a small plunge pool with loungers plus an outside sofa where we happily sat sipping superb wine and enjoyed frequent visits from the resident black Labrador.

The main house and other communal areas including a small pool were also beautifully kept.

Wi-fi was available in our room but there was also a computer available in the main house with printing facilities if required.

The staff were exceptional and happy to share their knowledge and recommendations and arrange activities such as bicycle hire and/or restaurant bookings.

Breakfast was an excellent cold and hot selection and immaculately presented with many items home made.

The location is within walking distance of the main street with ample dining options and select galleries and other shopping needs.

This is a perfect play to spend time and the pride and care taken by all involved in the running of the property is evident, and we very much look forward to returning.

I highly recommend a stay at Akademie Street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

After a whirlwind tour of the Cape Peninsula we ended up at Franschhoek and the Akademie. Each room is very private and personal. I don't usually stay at "guest houses" but this if far from your standard B&B. We had one of the least expensive rooms but still with our own pool, veranda and kitchenette. Everything was very comfortable and welcoming, and despite having tonsillitis it was a very pleasant stay, in fact as it was so comfortable we spent a whole day relaxing in the room, watching DVDs on the provided player and sitting on the veranda. If we come back to South Africa we will definitely come back and form longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBermondsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Everything about this place is really special: the rooms are beautifully decorated with really thoughtful touches such as bathrobes, lovely toiletries and huge, really comfortable beds!
There are private areas close to each room and lovely gardens and pools.
Everyone is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
The guest house is within walking distance of all the great restaurants and shops of Franschhoek.
This really is the perfect place to stay in Franschhoek!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 rooms in the main house (where reception is) and they were lovely. Since you book...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katejcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our *wonderful* travel agent, Janine Krook, of Inspired 2 Explore, recommended Akademie Street Guest House (and Franschhoek) for our trip to South Africa. My husband and I were looking for accommodations that were within convenient walking distance to area restaurants and wine farms, as we really enjoy walking around the places we visit.

It's hard to put into words just how good the service was at Akademie Street Guest House. The only other place we've ever stayed that comes close to (and perhaps matches) the experience we had here was at L'Auberge Carmel, a gorgeous B&B in Carmel, CA, which is a Relais & Chateaux property (all properties with the Relais & Chateaux "stamp" have extremely high quality/customer service standards).

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Vreugde suite, and we really wish we could have stayed for longer. We (and everyone who stays there) had our own, very private room with a terrace (ours had a pool, table and chairs, and very comfy couch!). The bed was extremely comfortable (and huge!) and the bathroom was amazing. There was a separate shower and soaking tub, and plenty of counter space for the two of us. Laundry is actually included in the stay, and the entire mini-fridge is packed with complimentary beverages, snacks, and goodies. A cell phone is left in your room for your use around town, to make dinner reservations if you wish, etc., at no charge! They offer a very large DVD library (along with other entertainment options, including music, etc.), which we did take advantage of on our last, lazy night there.

But describing the accommodations (and how those alone go above and beyond what you might expect) doesn't even come close to giving a fair review of our stay here. The service, as I tried to touch on above, was the best we've received anywhere. There is just something so sincere about the care that goes into your stay. Hazel greeted us upon arrival and was very apologetic that our room was not yet ready (we were several hours earlier than check-in time, so we hadn't expected things to be ready). She happily had our luggage taken and stored so that we could explore the town while the room was prepared for us. She also made sure we knew how to get to certain places, and offered to text us when our room was ready. We mentioned that we would be interested in having a driver the following day to take us to some of the wine farms that we wouldn't be able to walk to, and the next morning, Kathryn, one of the owners, was completely on top of that request and arranged it all for us while we ate breakfast.

Kathryn is so sweet and hospitable. You immediately sense the pride she takes in running the guest house. She so genuinely cared and ensured that our time there was comfortable, relaxing, peaceful, private, and just totally enjoyable. Honestly, it was all those things and more!

I remember being pleasantly surprised to find our room totally clean by the time we returned after breakfast that first morning! They are so quick, and so thorough! But they never once got in the way - we wouldn't have even known they were there, except that one of the cleaning ladies came back to pick up our laundry, and pointed out a 20 ZAR bill that she had found in the trashcan that my husband had accidentally thrown away! What honest staff Akademie Street Guest House has working with them! They were wonderful.

We really loved our special visitor, Anna, the guest house black lab! The suite we stayed in is apparently one of her favorite spots to hang out, so we had the pleasure of playing with her a few times during our stay. Anna is such a well behaved, sweet, friendly, loving dog. We felt as though we had our own pet for a couple of days - she was so entertaining! But if you are not a fan of dogs, I wouldn't let this turn you off. As I mentioned, she is very well behaved, and will not bother you if you don't want to see or play with her.

We were really sad to leave Akademie Street Guest House (and Franschhoek)! I hope that we will be able to someday return, and that Kathryn and Arthur will still be running everything - they do an impeccable job on all levels, and for that reason, we wouldn't think to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Akademie in mid October 2012. We haven't stayed anywhere else in Franschoek - why would we? This is a the place.
We occupied the Oortuiging cottage. High quality accommodation and great tranquil setting. We'd driven a lot,before coming to F. So it was really pleasant to sit around in the garden and just enjoy the plants and peacefulness, in what felt like our own private cottage.
Others have commented on the owners and staff - all true, including the gardener and Anna (super dog!).
Lots of nice touches - choice of breakfast (and times and location), art work and for me(J) the Sth African jazz cd (Played it numerous times and forgot to remove from dvd player when leaving - apologies. ps Arthur - perhaps some further cds/artists?)
I&J

Room Tip: Just arrange one!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobekatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at Akademie street for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago on our honeymoon. We had a private appartment, which was luxorious and cosy. It had it's own little swimming pool, but the weather was too cold for us to brave a dip! The set up is very peaceful and private. The location is perfect - just a few minutes walk and you're on the main street of Franschoek.

The owners and team went out of their way to help us with a range of things, from restaurant recommendations and bookings, to very helpful directions to the next stop on our journey down the Garden Route. The breakfast is really a treat! We very much enjoyed our stay, and wished we had stayed an extra night on our trip. I highly recommend Akademie Street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy_Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I can’t imagine a nicer place to stay in Franschoek (or anywhere else in South Africa) than Akademie Street Guest House. If you like privacy, comfort, friendly service and beautiful surroundings, this is the place for you. Akademie Street Guest House is located on a quiet street just two blocks from the main street in Franschoek. All the rooms are designed to give guests as much privacy as possible. Our room, the Pool Room, couldn’t have been nicer. It was large, bright and absolutely luxurious. Doors and windows looked out towards the pool and garden; we enjoyed a quiet afternoon lounging around the pool with the resident dog, Anna. The bathroom is all glass, ceilings and walls (more like a sunroom than a bathroom) with a separate room for the toilet. An enclosed courtyard ensures your privacy. We enjoyed the heated tiles on the floor on a cool morning. The beautifully furnished large bedroom includes a comfortable sitting area. Hosts, Katherine and Arthur, have thought of everything. You are invited to help yourself to anything from the well-stocked bar. Fleecy bathrobes and slippers are provided; they have an excellent library (both video and book) available for your use. They even provide free laundry service.

The owners will greet you at breakfast and chat with you while you enjoy their delicious fruit platters (almost too pretty to eat) and specially cooked eggs, bacon, sausage or ham. We truly felt relaxed during our brief stay and will definitely recommend this guest house to all our friends.

Room Tip: The "pool room" where we stayed was perfect, but I'm sure that all the rooms are very...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladvisorNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £259 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing