We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional in every regard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every regard”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon to South Africa. Akademie Street were brilliant even before we arrived, arranging bike hire for us so that we could pedal our way from vineyard to vineyard!

On our arrival we were met by Hazel who was faultless throughout. After showing us to our room she arranged a dinner reservation for us and said she would find us a map for the following day. We stayed in Uitsig which was beautiful and very big and had everything we could have asked for.

It is the little touches that really set this place apart, the complimentary minibar, the laundry service and the unbelievable breakfasts. All of the staff were brilliant and a real credit to Catherine and Arthur the owners. Catherine too was very friendly, as was Anna the resident labrador.

Sadly we had to leave Akademie Street after 3 nights but we very much hope to be abe to return here one day. An exceptional Hotel in an exceptional location.

.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
854
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Uitsig room. I cannot really say anything that others haven't already said. The hotel is ideally placed, the service beyond any expectations of mine. A truly delightful place to stay and Franschoek such a scenic place. A far better place to base yourself for a winelands trip than Stellenbosch in my opinion.

This hotel set such a high standard, nothing else could compare. We only spent 11 nights in SA travelling from Capetown, around the winelands and back via Hermanus but Akademie and the Franschoek valley were without doubt the highlight of our trip.

The Uitsig room is a huge space which you have all to yourself. It's located just a few steps away from the main house above their unused garage (used as a store) so is really peaceful.

I'd like to thank Elisabeth and all her staff for a wonderful stay and if Anna looks like she's put on a pound or two apologise for 'treating' her at the breakfast table ! (hint: She likes Eggy bread) :-)

At this moment the temperature in the UK is about 1c, it's snowing heavy and I wish I could be right back there now, this instant. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Akademie to anyone.

Room Tip: We can't fault Uitsig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Akademie and once again we weren't disappointed. We stayed in the Uitsig suite which is a beautiful,private airy room, we could leave all the windows open at night so no need for the aircon. All the staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. I really cannot fault the place, I hope we can visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonutsCheltenham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year 2012. My husband and I were travelling with our two grown children. We had two separate cottages separated by a secret garden walk and garden gate. Each with our own plunge pool.

"Magical" doesn't quite cover the charm of this boutique hotel. Each little guesthouse nestles in the dappled shade of matured trees, each is unique and reflects the traditional Cape Dutch architecture. This would make an amazing honeymoon location. So private, and both sets of accommodation very special.

Inside the main reception and building--the fun continues. Great sitting room and wonderful library full of books that were of interest to my husband and I (we are history and natural history buffs). The main attraction in this area though is Anna the labrador! We loved her, and she visited with us during breakfast under the vines in the courtyard. We stayed in five absolutely stunning hotels during our trip through South Africa, but the Akademie Street won hands down in all categories--especially breakfasts! Thanks for the recipe for the granola ;-)

In the rooms: our bed was super comfortable and had lovely bed linen. Wonderful bathroom, charming and rustic but very modern at the same time. A sweet kitchen area with a place to self cater meals if you wished, but who wants to with all that great food within walking distance from the guesthouse?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunbridgeWells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The property is warm, charming, and eclectic. The pool area is divine and a sanctuary. Breakfast was a real treat as well. Never been so pampered by a lovely hotel staff. The hotel lab, Anna, was also lovely to have around. Hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A wonderful place to stay if you want five star accommodation on a small scale with amazing attention to detail. It is so refreshing to have everything you could possibly want and more without having to get room service. They really have thought of everything and more. Katherine and Arthur made us really welcome and have a wealth of information to share on Franschhoek and the surrounding area. The breakfasts are legendary for good reason. And all this within a few minutes walk of Franschhoek town centre with its fabulous restaurants.

Room Tip: There are 6 different rooms/suites - something for everyone so take your pick. Oortuiging is ideal i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselleB200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the Akademie Street Hotel for 3 nights while on our month long Honeymoon in December. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Everything was wonderful from the moment we arrived at the hotel. We got a very friendly greeting and tour of the property from Hazel. We stayed in Vreugde, which was perfect for us. Although I'm sure all of the rooms are equally as great. We even had our own plunge pool to relax in after a day of wine tasting. If you are traveling to Franschoek we highly recommend you do yourself a favor and stay at the Akademie Street Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenBasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing