We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomplished Akademie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We spent a wonderful few days at the Akademie street boutique hotel in franschhoek. Katherine, Arthur and hazel could not have been more welcoming. A tranquil retreat which we will go back to again and again.

Jonelle Daniels and David Lindop

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonelledaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed in Vreugde, a good-sized room, with a comfortable, large double bed, small kitchenette & reasonable sized bathroom. There was a porch outside with a leather settee one side & table & chairs the other. The small courtyard had a plunge pool and room for 2 loungers, however, we did find at the time we tended to return late afternoon, this area was in the shade from the huge oak trees alongside the property. There is also a main pool area, though, with loungers, so I would swim & dry off there.
Hazel met us & showed us round & the next morning at breakfast, she discussed what we intended doing for the day, gave us a map of the surrounding areas & suggested which wine estates to visit etc. They have a lovely black labrador, Anna, who took it on herself to wander from cottage to cottage, checking on everyone - she's no trouble & enjoyed the attention we lavished on her, as we miss our dog while we're away!
The breakfasts were fabulous - a huge plate of freshly prepared fruit, a bowl of stewed fruit, a jug of fruit smoothy, yoghurt, homemade muesli, then a choice of cooked breakfast (my husband loved the south African sausages), croissants, tea, coffee.
I had pre-booked a day with a wine expert, Pietmann Retief, who is a 7th generation French Huguenot & a historian - we had a fabulous day, he was so interesting & informative, we could have listened to him all day.
Restaurants - we had the surprise menu at Le Bon Vivant - very good, although our server was a bit supercilious! We had the Chef's choice at Ryan's Kitchen and had one of the best meals ever - dishes we had glanced at & dismissed on the menu were actually fantastic. It was a privilege to eat there - do make sure & book ahead, though. these were in easy walking distance from Akademie. Our last evening we went to Kalfi's - was ok - wouldn't recommend though.
Franschhoek is a fabulous little town, very quaint, interesting shops, lots of restaurants, coffee shops - more condensed than Stellenbosch, which is quite sprawling and, of course, a university town, complete with students!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

If you are looking to feel genuinely welcomed and taken care of, this place is it. It is absolutely charming, comfortable and close to everything in Franschhoek. The attention to detail is astounding, breakfast was lovely and staff amazing. We stayed for two nights and would have stayed at least two more if we could. I could not recommend this guesthouse enough!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

From the moment we walked through the doors of our lovely two bedroom cottage we felt instantly at home. The charming decor, beautiful back yard veranda, and private dipping pool are only a few of the highlights of Akademie Street. Every detail has been considered, right down to the organic paraben free soaps and lotions, and the variety of home made preserves served with our delicious (and abundant) breakfasts. The complimentary well stocked mini bar was also a welcome surprise! The service and hospitality -- truly extraordinary. Thank you so much to Kathleen, Arthur, Hazel, and all the staff for making our stay in Franschhoek memorable. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer.
Barbara F.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is our second visit to Akademie St and yet again it made our holiday. The accomodation is superb and everybody there could not be more helpful. We really feel at home here and it is so close to the centre of town for all the restaurants and shopping. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryhornetHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was our second visit to Akademie Street Guesthouse. The hospitality and attention to detail is first class, eg a mobile phone in the room with all the local restaurants pre-programmed is a nice little touch! We stayed both times in Vreugde, which has it's own private garden and pool - a private haven to relax in! A few minutes walk and you're in the main street, couldn't be better. This is the place to base yourself in the winecountry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The owners Arthur and Kathleen couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. We had the 2 bedroom cottage Oortuiging which gave us plenty of space. Breakfast was fabulous and with great service.
Easy walking distance into the centre of Franschhoek for great restaurants and coffee shops.

Room Tip: Oortuiging cottage was perfect for a couple with two bedroom and bathrooms and plenty of room. Altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 362MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £275 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing