We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
US$788
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$684
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$556
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$317
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$861
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$512
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveller rating
1,225
35
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,225
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithe main housefruit platterthought of everythingguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamsouth africalittle extras
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place is brilliant. We stayed in the Gelatenheid building. Large comfortable rooms, well appointed, lovely wall paintings, choice of baths, swimming pool and extensive courtyard gardens. Great breakfast. Catherine, Arthur and Hazel were absolutely charming and informative hosts. They recommended two great restaurants for our two nights in this lovely place. This accommodation was the highlight of our trip in South Africa. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This place is awesome.

Booked last minute, and on our way, we were e-mailed about a problem with the shower in our room, which they promised to solve.

When we arrived around noon-time, the problem was still not solved, but it was promised to be solved by 3pm (normal check-in time).

Despite this, we were offered the chance to cancel the booking, and the lovely host Hazel, even gave suggestions for other good guesthouses if we should decide not to wait.

VERY pleased we chose to stay. After some vineyard visits, we returned to the room, which was ready, and the excellent shower in full operation.

The room was very cozy, while at the same time providing all thinkabable amenities incl. espresso-maker and ipod-player. A cold bottle of champagne was even ready for us.

We immediatey felt at home.

Breakfast was excellent, with local delicacies. Very cozy with a friendly dog walking around waiting to be petted.

Don't hesitate to book here, there is zero chance of disappointment - enjoy!

Room Tip: Stayed at the Vreugde room, which was excellent and had small private yard and pool!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripadvicegiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Simply wonderful. Charming hosts, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, gorgeous dog! We immediately felt at home at Akademie Street and were blown away but the thought that had gone into the rooms. From candles & bath salts in the bathrooms to a choice of complimentary drinks & snacks in the bedroom. Staying in winter was perfect with electric blankets, thick duvet, heated towel rails ... I can imagine that in summer it would be even more perfect with private plunge pools and beautiful courtyard garden. I will admit that I am very fussy about where I stay and often find tripadvisor a curse rather than a blessing! But please do trust me when I say stay here! I promise you'll love it - especially if you're as fussy as me!

Room Tip: They all looked stunning!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshineisgoodforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Franschhoek is a beautiful little slow-paced artsy community that caters to tourists, wine aficionados, and foodies, and Akademie Street is the perfect unassuming bed and breakfast fit for the destination. Ideally located just a short walk from the main street, the hotel is tastefully decorated with gorgeous artwork and antique worn woven wool rugs.

Directions, maps, meal reservations, umbrellas, restaurant and winery suggestions, etc were happily provided to us the moment we requested or even before we even thought to ask. The owners of the property, Katherine and Arthur, and all members of the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Hazel also made sure that our breakfasts were perfect. And breakfast is an extra special treat at Akademie Street. Our table was filled each morning with exceptional local delights - fresh made jams and pastries, fruit, cheeses and a made to order hot breakfast.

We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of July and despite all the positive reviews we were completely floored. If we had known how great it was we would have stayed longer. The breakfast was amazing. You definitely feel like you had a very private and secluded room. Our bath was gorgeous and if it had been warmer we would have been able to take advantage of the gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews