We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Much Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Much Better”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I along with my sister spent nine nights at this fabulous guesthouse. We stayed in the Oortuiging cottage which had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room, kitchen and dining area. The cottage was charming and the decor outstanding. Even though the cottage was built around 1860 every inch has been updated with lovely modern baths and wonderful art. Arthur, his wife Katherine, along with Hazel
were so accommodating and planned some things for us to do. In fact, they all felt badly because the weather was so poor for our first few days. The entire staff runs efficiently and quietly in the background. We would walk through the beautiful garden to the main house for breakfast and by the time we returned to our cottage everything was made up and our snacks and goodies replaced. Only two blocks from the main street area with fantastic restaurants it was a perfect location with outstanding hosts. We loved it so much we have made reservations for a return next May!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
861
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congresbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Akademie Street is one of the loveliest guesthouses you will find anywhere. Our room was large, very comfortable and superbly appointed - as far from a "standard hotel room" as you could wish for. Beautiful gardens and friendly owners and staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Stay here and you will love it - guaranteed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is an artist's paradise! We were 3 couples traveling South Africa for the 1st time. We decided that we will now rate all rooms around the world by this accommodation! What set Akademie Street Guesthouse apart was the unique and personal paintings throughout the premise and rooms. A tranquil, peace and beautiful accommodation with an extraordinary history. Make sure you read the history in the information provided in the room because the owner is humble and doesn't tell you that he and his late wife started Le Quarter (an amazing restaurant one block from the hotel) started this restaurant where she was the chef. This is an experience you will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We ended our three weeks in Southern Africa with a one-night stay at this lovely Guesthouse. It was not nearly enough!! The grounds are simply exquisite, with bubbling fountains and lush plantings which were coming into their spring bloom. Our room was large and comfortable and decorated with bold splashes of color from the amazing artwork that hangs in every room throughout the building. The hospitality was wonderful; the staff was quick to address our needs and endless questions - while making us feel like part of their family. Oh, and did I mention the breakfast??!! An unfortunate dinner choice the night before made us all hungry and ready to tackle the tasty selections. If your travel plans take you to South Africa's wine country, you should make Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse your private retreat and home base for exploring the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Gelatenheid house during our 3-night stay here in Sept. and it was really lovely. Katherine, Arthur, Hazel and all the wonderful ladies here made us feel so welcome and at home. The house was very homey and exuded warmth and charm, with beautiful paintings all throughout the house and fantastic, colourful rugs on each side of the bed. The wrap-around balconies and decks surrounding the house were wonderful and so enjoyable sitting out on during nice, warm sunny days. The pool and fountain were really nice as well. We were really missing our dog, Tommy, at home but Katherine and Arthur's really friendly, sweet dog, Anna, made us feel right at home, wagging her tail and was always ready for some attention. The breakfasts were fantastic here and they even beautifully laundered some clothing for us, without any cost at all! I would highly recommend staying here and we hope to someday come back and stay again at Akademie!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Wonderful stay, amazing attention to detail, superb breakfast, comfortable room furnished to high standard, fully justifies its superior rating. A very warm friendly place to stay with excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We began a three week tour of South Africa in Franshhock at the Akadamie Guest House. We stayed in the private house which was just lovely and so very comfortable. Our little kitchen was well equipped for coffee, tea or cold drinks and every day we had amazing treats of nuts and cookies left for our enjoyment. The weather was a bit cold but we had a pool outside our terrace and could even enjoy a soak in the tub on the terrace if warmer. Hazel, and Katherine made us feel so welcome, assuring every desire was met. I felt as if I had come home and everyone was happy to see me! The breakfast was outstanding! The best we've had yet!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing