We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Boutique Hotel, wonderful staff & perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Akademie for one night in September. The attention to detail was outstanding and the staff were all wonderful, friendly and a wealth of information. We wished we could have stayed for a week. We would love to come back with friends in the future.
Penny from Australia:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Akademie Street and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I wish we had more time there. We stayed in the Oortuiging cottage with our daughter, it was a lovely cottage with wonderful furnishings. We loved to quiet garden out back and close proximity to all the wine country has to offer. The staff provided information and ideas for our days in the wine country as well as restaurant recommendations. We loved breakfast outdoors in the main house garden. As we needed to leave early our second morning, the staff sent breakfast items to the cottage the night before so we could eat before our early start. I highly recommend Akademie Street, the location, accommodations and staff are superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

When we booked we received a list of restaurants and things to do - very useful for the peak season. From the moment we arrived Hazel, Arthur and Katherine greeted us by name and attended to our every need. The house was beautifully presented with tasteful decor and a stunning, cute sun trap garden. Our room (the pool room) was the best hotel room we have stayed in. Ever. Little touches like local chocolates, nespresso coffee machine, complimentary mini bar, plus big ticks like heated floors, super king bed, home cooked breakfast, and complimentary clothes washing, ensured we did not want to leave. Everything was so thoughtfully organised - an example was our room was serviced whilst we had breakfast. Why doesn't every hotel do that? My wife cried when we left because she didn't want to leave - enough said!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieHMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I booked at Akademie Street with some reservation as we both find the intimacy of guesthouses uncomfortable at times, but the location was perfect for our needs so we moved forward with a booking. What a pleasure this turned out to be! Our hosts were focused on giving us as much privacy as we needed and access was easy and unobtrusive.

The room and amenities were of the highest standard and - as environmentally conscious people - seeing good quality, environmentally friendly and NOT tested on animals toiletries - was fantastic.

Too boot, being welcomed by Anne - the guest house dog - was a wonderful addition and surprise.

We would highly recommend the venue and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I along with my sister spent nine nights at this fabulous guesthouse. We stayed in the Oortuiging cottage which had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room, kitchen and dining area. The cottage was charming and the decor outstanding. Even though the cottage was built around 1860 every inch has been updated with lovely modern baths and wonderful art. Arthur, his wife Katherine, along with Hazel
were so accommodating and planned some things for us to do. In fact, they all felt badly because the weather was so poor for our first few days. The entire staff runs efficiently and quietly in the background. We would walk through the beautiful garden to the main house for breakfast and by the time we returned to our cottage everything was made up and our snacks and goodies replaced. Only two blocks from the main street area with fantastic restaurants it was a perfect location with outstanding hosts. We loved it so much we have made reservations for a return next May!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Akademie Street is one of the loveliest guesthouses you will find anywhere. Our room was large, very comfortable and superbly appointed - as far from a "standard hotel room" as you could wish for. Beautiful gardens and friendly owners and staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Stay here and you will love it - guaranteed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is an artist's paradise! We were 3 couples traveling South Africa for the 1st time. We decided that we will now rate all rooms around the world by this accommodation! What set Akademie Street Guesthouse apart was the unique and personal paintings throughout the premise and rooms. A tranquil, peace and beautiful accommodation with an extraordinary history. Make sure you read the history in the information provided in the room because the owner is humble and doesn't tell you that he and his late wife started Le Quarter (an amazing restaurant one block from the hotel) started this restaurant where she was the chef. This is an experience you will never forget!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £246 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing