We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous guesthouse in the heart of wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at Akademie Street and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were extremely welcoming and the accommodation of a very high standard. We were lucky enough to stay in Gelatenheid, which is a self-contained house complete with kitchen, swimming pool and outdoor bath. (There's also an indoor tub for those who aren't keen on bathing al fresco!) This is definitely a great place to stay for couples looking for a little romance in the winelands.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrs_snuffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Akademie Street is a beautiful little place within easy walking distance of the high street in Franschoek. Its run by Arthur and Catherine, lovely people with a long history in the valley and an unparalleled knowledge of the area. The property is meticulously maintained, with buildings which ooze character and staff who make you feel like you've come home to stay with your own family. Breakfasts are beautifully prepared in an old cape kitchen. The staff effortlessly provide a concierge service which would put most 5 star hotels to shame. This is far and away the nicest 'guest house' or 'B&B' I have ever stayed in, or are likely to in the future. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed just one night at Akademie Street, and we left wishing we could stay another night. All the attention to detail makes a huge difference - for example the Illy espresso machine in the room (excellent coffee on demand!), good toiletries, access to a small library of DVDs, etc... A lot of thought and effort has gone into the rooms and the whole experience. We will certainly be going back!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but our room (Twyfeling A) was great - the pictures online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our fourth visit to Adademie Street, and once again the service couldn't be better. Every detail is perfect, and the owners and staff are fantastic. We stayed in Gelatenheid, which is a large 1 BR villa with a private pool. Everything about our stay was simply perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just back from a trip touring the Eastern and Western Cape. We stayed for two nights at Akademie Street in Franschoek and it was one of the best places we experienced during the whole two weeks.

Franschoek itself is an idyllic town with a perfect setting and the accommodation was the icing on the cake. The property has grown over the years from a single house to a number of individual cottages in the grounds that vary in size. We stayed in Vreugde, which is the smallest accommodation, but we thought it lovely with it's own little garden and plunge pool.

Katherine, Arthur and the rest of their team were welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. Freshly cooked and eaten al fresco in the garden of the main house.

On top of all this, drinks and snacks placed in the room, including a great selection of fresh fruit, were all included in the room rate as was a laundry service.

What more could anyone ask?

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of excellent quality. Just make sure the size of room slected meets your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had a lovely two stay at this guest house. The owners were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, although we did not have a cooked one, there were lots of options. The guesthouse had lots of character with a pretty garden with fountains which added to the peaceful experience. It was a very quiet location and just 5 minutes walk to the main street with many restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent two days here on our way from PE to Cape town on our Honeymoon - this was our absolute favourite place. We stayed in Oortuiging - a beautiful 2 bedroomed cottage complete with small kitchen and living room - we thought we'd only booked a room but it could have housed four of us! It was a bit breezy for the plunge pool but we loved the labrador who wandered in and out wagging her tail, and breakfast was delicious, homemade muesili followed by whatever else you wanted. The complimentary laundry, drinks and snacks are some of the small additions that make this place deserve its amazing reviews! We loved every second and one day will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £275 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing