We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Akademie Steet. The staff were extremely helpful and our room was lovely with its own private pool. We also enjoyed a couple of visits from the pet labrador, Anna, who we had been looking forward to meeting! The breakfasts were delicious and we only wish we could have eaten more but were so full up from dinner the previous evening at the great nearby restaurants. The visits to the nearby wine farms were great fun and one of the highlights of our honeymoon. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAnna061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
854
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our fourth return visit to this delightful hotel, which has to be one of the easiest places in the world to simply switch off and relax. Once again we stayed in the charming Gelatanheid cottage, with its own pool and manicured private garden. Once again we were struck by the unobtrusive but very attentive service, and the friendliness of all involved in the hotel. The attention to detail is faultless, down to the complimentary sunscreen laid out with your pool towels just in case you forgot to pack some! Little touches like this are in abundance at Akademie, and we will be back next time we need to de-stress in this beautiful village and valley.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved the cottage we stayed in, Verguede, the smallest but lovely, with plenty of room for the two of us. A beautiful private garden with a plunge pool and patio was the icing on the cake. Breakfast, whether taken in the garden or in the main house, is a sumptuous affair. The owners love this place and their guests and it shows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PubLover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Akademie Street Boutique Hotel is ideally situated in the beautiful Franschhoek wine area, in a quiet street with private houses and in walking distance to restaurants and shops. Although we arrived late, we were cordially received and shown around the beautiful main house and outside the marvelous garden with the old trees and the other guesthouses each with its private garden and swimming pool. We have booked one of the two large suites in the Twyfeling House (main house) with a spacious bathroom in a winter garden and direct access to a private garden as well as access to the heated swimming pool. Breakfast was served under an old tree in the garden by our hosts Katherine, Arthur, their daughter and staff: homemade muesli, fresh fruits and different hot meals.
At this peaceful place, you get more than the luxury of a five star hotel: you feel like home, get a maximum of privacy – even at breakfast everyone has his or her own little corner in the garden – and the staff spoils you without being intrusive. Already after booking, you get a welcome letter by the hosts with informations about traveling there and proposals of activities and places of interest in the area. During your stay, there are always plenty of fresh fruits and a minibar available in your room, your laundry is done within one day – all for free. After breakfast, deck chairs are made ready for you in front of your room and close to your swimming pool. Before you leave, they even ask for the address of your next hotel in order to send you any items you may forget in your room.
Katherine and Arthur put their heart and soul in making you feel comfortable at their house. They check for you the best restaurants and wine farms, they have a chat with you during breakfast and they show you different possibilities to continue your journey. Thanks to you and to your staff for the wonderful stay at your lovely hotel and guesthouse! We hope to come back again and spend even longer there than just two nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is not British Raj but Franschhoek (the nicest of places on our route Cape Town to PE) and this Guest house ( = the Jewel ! ) . It is a pity that proprietors of anything from grand hotels to small coffee shops have to ask us to give a comment to tripadvisor: I was inclined to refrain from writing but this place is better than anything my wife and I have experienced through many yrs of travel and thus changed my mind! We stayed in the lovely Uitsig where Catherine (and perhaps ,also Arthur) has given a personal touch to each detail. The breakfast with an excellent fruit platter was served in the garden - and while we were eating the room was cleaned: excellent service! Free laundry and wine bar adds to the value. We are not fond of dogs or cats but this black lab just added to the feeling of being in someones home... We wish that everybody had the opportunity to relax in the beautiful, enclosed garden, listening to the murmuring water and looking at the nice flowers and sculptures.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

These amazing and unique properties provide absolute perfection in a tree lined residential area of Franschhoek. We stayed in Oortuiging and it was everything we had hoped for and much more. Furnished with paintings, quaint and quirky in design as befitting its age and beautifully furnished and equipped. The owners Kathy and Arthur had thought of every small touch and offered discreet and delightful service in this definitely five star boutique hotel. Breakfast was quite awesome with home made granola, yogurt, fruit smoothies, sliced fruit platter, choice of cooked breakfast and toasts/breads. In conversation I mentioned my love of ginger tea (from previous trips around India and Sri Lanka).....at each breakfast thereafter there was a little plate of sliced fresh ginger.....just a measure of the extra mile the staff and owners go to for their guests.

Breakfast was served around the courtyard pool at separate tables - the pool itself-was overlooked by a wonderful stone Angel and child sculpture! One delight after another here, for example, the owners opened their beautiful home to guests with warmth and hospitality allowing borrowing of books from an extensive personal library and DVDs.

Our garden had a giant Stinkwood tree, multiple leafy seating areas including a comfy leather sofa, an ornamental pool, a baptismal font sculpture in the trees and our own plunge poolporous could not ask for more in terms of relaxation. Every member of staff was precise in their duties whilst at the same time being wonderfully affable, efficient yet low-profile.

We stayed seven days here and would definitely recommend it, if you like first class facilities and service in a quiet and peaceful setting but within an easy walk of all the wonderful restaurants here in Franschhoek. We have stayed in fabulous places worldwide and Akademie Street Boutique can hold its own with any of them. Perfect setting, weather, accommodation, hospitality and the superb South African climate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at Akademie Street and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were extremely welcoming and the accommodation of a very high standard. We were lucky enough to stay in Gelatenheid, which is a self-contained house complete with kitchen, swimming pool and outdoor bath. (There's also an indoor tub for those who aren't keen on bathing al fresco!) This is definitely a great place to stay for couples looking for a little romance in the winelands.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrs_snuffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing