We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$542
US$454
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
US$667
US$559
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
US$372
US$334
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$240
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,221
US$854
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$893
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$455
US$275
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
1,216
35
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,216
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithe main housefruit platterthought of everythingguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamsouth africalittle extras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived in Franschhoek after a grueling drive in heavy rain through the mountain pass from Hermanus en route to Cape Town.

We were stopping over for a few days to break our journey and be able to explore the wine district.

On arrival we had the warmest and most friendly greeting ever experienced. First impressions always count and this was a Wow. We had help with our bags.

Where does one start we had rooms in the main house which was a beautiful Dutch colonial style property. The rooms were enormous and each had its own private exit as the owners informed us that guest privacy is of paramount importance.

Another surprise was the high quality goodies left out for us and the fact that the in room drinks fridge and all snacks were complimentary.

We had been traveling for some weeks and another unexpected surprise was that they asked if we had any laundry and that to was dealt with on a complimentary basis.

then as if that was not enough we were each provided with a mobile phone so we could phone each other in our rooms, the staff if we needed anything and they had also very thoughtfully programmed in telephone numbers for the main restaurants etc making life very easy.

In fact I actually used up the phone credit and they topped this up free of charge.

The rooms were very luxurious as were the en suite facilities with top notch toiletries to match.

Then we have the breakfast, well each guest has their own private dining area so you do not mix with other gusts again ensuring privacy and the food was superb.

The owners and staff were all 100%+ for attention and service.

On one evening we arrived late and the night watchman was also extremely friendly and a font of local knowledge.

We were given lots of help and recommendations to make our visit more than memorable.

The shops and eateries in the main street have everything you could want from leather to boutique items.

We would give at least 7 stars if it was possible.

Whilst this guest house in in a road behind the main street this actually adds to its attraction as it is free from noise.

The grounds and backdrop are also superb.

One final point do not be put of by the appearance when pulling up outside as this is one of those amazing gems one finds when traveling and should not be missed.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the main house but if not any of the three cottages hidden away in the lush gardens are great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

So often people consider a luxury hotel as a grand, opulent, mass market palace of great scale; losing touch with what it means to be truly luxurious.

We were fortunate enough to stumble upon Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse while we were in Franschhoek, having not organised anything in advance. By chance, Twyfeling B was available for two nights.

I am ashamed to say that this was in September 2012, and only now have I taken to Tripadvisor to add my voice to the chorus of compliments. Perhaps I was trying to keep Akademie our secret so that one day in the future, should we spontaneously venture to Franschhoek once more, that we may again knock on their door. However, I think the word is now out, and greater planning will be required next time, espeicially during Franschhoek Uncorked.

Arthur and Katharine - Congratulations on being named Tripadvisor's Best Luxury Hotel in the World! On a personal level, we are thrilled that the effort that you and your staff go to has been recognised in this way, and wish you all the success that this publicity should bring.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IceManNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Akadamie over Christmas in Twyfeling B.
Before we arrived we had an email from Arthur asking whether we wanted to hire bikes as the Shop would be closed when we arrived on Christmas Eve. This attention to detail summed up our experience. Their wasn't an honesty bar in the room as everything in the bar was free. The amazing point is, that when you are offered this, you find it is not abused.
We could itemise all the personal aspects but would prefer guests to be thrilled in the same way as we were. We hope to be back next Christmas.
The surroundings are so peaceful and beautiful and the pool perfect for cooling off in the hot weather.

Room Tip: We loved Twyfeling B, as it was tucked away with its own conservatory, having said that , all the guests seemed to love the rooms there were in as well. Sorry I marked Fitness Centre, as far as I know it does not have one and not sure how to remove it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Of all the places we stayed in South African, we would rate Akademie as the highest. We stayed in Gelatenheid with a six month old baby and it was perfect. The accommodation was tastefully done and felt like a home rather than hotel. There was plenty of space and shade with the verandas for a baby in 36 degree heat. A microwave for sterilising etc.

Katharine, Arthur, Hazel were the right combination of knowledgeable, welcoming but not intrusive. The service from their whole team was excellent. We were impressed that we could do a mountain of washing at no extra cost and the mini bar was stocked and included.

The location is also perfect. An oak lined street only 2 minutes walk from the main street. If you are travelling with a baby (or not!) I can recommend this venue. We would put our baby in her buggy and by the time we walked to the restaurant at night she was asleep.

The breakfast was excellent.

You can tell this place is someone's home and one feels privileged to be let in. Yet Arthur and Katharine's obvious aptitude for business ensures it is well run, efficient, clean and everything works. They clearly pride themselves on being Number 1 and, in my opinion, quite rightly so.

Book it - you'll love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner and another friend and it was the most perfect place we stayed in all of South Africa. The cottage was beautiful and the private garden and pool was just divine. Beautiful mountain backdrop didn't hurt either. And the owner and staff were all incredibly warm and friendly, organising winery transport and providing suggestions for us as required. Thanks you for making our stay with you so special. We would recommend to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews