We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
durban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We travel a lot ( and are very fussy!) but Academie is superb. Everything has such attention to detail from the rooms to the food & is one of the most relaxing places to stay in South Africa. Breakfast is the best ever!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nipperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
846
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Akademie. The family could not have done more, from the comfort of the room, giving all the information we needed, even no extras! We could not suggest any improvements and look forward to spending more time there on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We were over the top when we see this beautiful cottage, no photo can do them justice, you gotta be here to see it for yourself. Love it the moment we step in. Hazel the manager, Catherine the host cannot be anymore friendly and helpful. Breakfast is beautifully set in the courtyard with the pool!
I am so glad I managed to book the only1 nite available, even though I had to reshuffle my whole itinerary, it's total worth it! Now I can only wish I got more nights here...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Oortuiging in January 2013 and enjoyed our visit so much that we repeated the experience this year. Our visit in 2014 was just as enjoyable and it is difficult to see how it would be possible to improve on the wonderful experience of staying at this property. The key is the great attention to detail and a genuinely hospitable approach by Arthur, Katharine, Jessie and all their staff. If the opportunity arises for you to visit Franschoek and stay at Akademie Street, just take it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London england
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Uitsig, a large bedroom with kitchenette and bathroom over the garage. On arrival, we were met by Hazel, who gave us a run down on Akademie Street and Franschoek. Breakfast is served in the courtyard at individual tables, with plenty of fresh fruit, yogourt and muesli, followed by a cooked breakfast. Katherine is always there and is a real delight to talk to. She really could not do enough to us, to making sure that there was bread that my husband, who is allergic to sesame, could eat. She and Arthur are full of local knowledge and just want to make you feel at home. The thoughtfulness extends to towels and sun lotion provided next to the pool and a mobile phone in the room with their number in. Staying here spoilt us for any further accommodation as we were always comparing it to here! We would have stayed longer if we could have.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Vreugde House at Akademie St last October. It was basically a charming, small cottage with a private plunge pool and garden often visited by Anna, the friendly and sweet Akademie St dog. On the first morning there, our hot water wasn't working. We told Katharine and Arthur, and they were extremely apologetic. By the time we got back from our day of wine tasting, the hot water had been fixed and they offered to pay for our dinner to make up for the issue. That says everything about the kind of people they are and the place this is. Thank you both for such a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Our 3 night stay was pure bliss. Every member of the Akademie team contributed to the polite, personal, genuinely hospitable atmosphere .
The location is excellent being just a few minutes walk from the wide variety of excellent restaurants in the town.
Our room, Twyfeling A, was exceptionally comfortable together with a large, light and secluded conservatory for our bath/shower room which led to our private patio. We had the pool and garden to ourselves! Every conceivable extra is provided free of charge - from efficient Wi-Fi, satellite TV and local mobile phone to daily restocked mini-bar, fruit, chocolate, biscuits and laundry.
Breakfast was taken outside in the garden with a wide choice of continental or cooked food, all of the highest quality and served with a smile.
As others have observed, it was a pity we had to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing