We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 times perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay in April was our third in 18 months, and it is not going to be the last. We have now stayed in 3 different rooms. The size of the rooms are very different, but they are all cozy and comfortable with a lot of practical details. It would be difficult to name a favorite room.
The breakfast is fantastic, you get it exactly as you want it. Ingredients are sourced carefully and everything is of a very high quality.
The hosts, Hazel, and the rest of the friendly staff make us feel at home.
We look forward to "come home" again within the next 12 months.

Room Tip: All we have tried are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Akademie Street for 4 nights for our honeymoon and had a brilliant time. We stayed in Vreugde which is beautiful and private with it's own pool. The attention to detail was incredible - there is nothing they hadn't though of from swimming towels to blankets outside for the chilly night, a local cellphone with pre-booked numbers and a fully stocked room bar and the most delicious breakfasts! The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and just wish it could have been more . Echoing all the comments below - wonderful place, people , service and attention to detail . As a couple with a toddler we were worried that a boutique hotel may not be right for us now- we were wrong ! Could not have been more welcomed. Hotel perfection personified

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Debbie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location but very close to the main street full of restaurants and shops. We stayed in Uitsig which is a lovely room with its own private veranda. The breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented. Arthur, Katherine and Hazel couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions for outings and restaurants. The attention to detail throughout is impressive.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Sorry about the mistake with the restaurant which the Akademie doesn't have but I can't change it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were blown away by this pretty period property, the attention to detail* delicious in-room snacks and the heavenly breakfast which consisted of numerous courses. Homemade muesli/granola, stewed fruits, an exotic fresh fruit plate and a cooked breakfast. Amazing.

The location was picturesque and perfect (a 3 minute walk to the main street for shopping and dining) the staff were helpful and friendly and the decor was an eclectic, colourful mix of antiques and modern art.

*Just one example of this superb attention to detail was a basket by the pool filled with beach towels and sunscreen (free of charge).

Room Tip: We felt absolutely spoilt in Gelatenheid, the two storey guesthouse - couldn't believe it was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zee_and_Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a very special time at Akademie street. what a classy establishment. Hazel really impressed us, she is a great asset. The breakfast setting was very special. Friendly, professional staff. Personalised service, even newspaper delivered to the room in the morning. They made our special weekend even more special. We will definitely return, next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Not having confidence in ratings, we were surprised and delighted with our experience at Akademie. The street is quiet, but just a few blocks to local restaurants and shops. The main house feels like a beautifully appointed home with family art. The pool and gardens are manicured, and a perfect spot for eating a delicious breakfast of assorted fruits, cereal, eggs. The staff will remember your choices, and the quality and service is amazing. We stayed in the main house in Twyfeling B, which is very private, and spacious. We especially enjoyed the sun room, and the view to the gardens. We struggled with the coffee maker, but it was a tiny hitch in a delightful stay. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £246 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing