We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I, together with my parents, have just returned from our third literary festival - having stayed in Akademie Street each time. Despite our high expectations based on previous experiences, we were again so impressed. There is a sense of luxury that comes from the fact that every possible detail has been thought of and prepared and provided by the wonderful team led by Katherine, Arthur and Hazel. Their warmth and genuine hospitality is as special as all the quality touches that make this little hotel stand out above others. The rooms are all beautiful. The feeling is one of arriving home and being incredibly well looked after and indulged. To do this stay justice though, one really needs to allocate time to simply be at the hotel - and allow plenty of time for a breakfast that will be hard to ever beat. The only way we could leave was by immediately booking for our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
838
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A dear friend and I returned to Akademie Street for the third time, staying in the little cottage Oortuiging for the second time. We were visiting for the literary festival, but the only disadvantage is that we had so much to do, we didn't spend enough time in our home from home! Leaving Akademie is always a wrench.

I'd endorse everything other reviewers say -- the thoughtful attention to detail, the well-stocked fridge, fruit bowl and snack basket, the atmospheric gardens, the breakfasts worth fainting for... but we must mention the plentiful books throughout (as well as an excellent library in the main house) and the art! The rooms are full of paintings, many with personal meaning and history for the owners, and they give a sense that one is staying in a place with a past of love and warmth.

We were trying to pin down what sets Akademic apart in a town full of superb hotels and guesthouses, and it has something to do with the sense of intimacy created by Arthur and Katherine, and the quality of the staff -- who stay on year after year, creating consistency, a sense of welcome and familiarity when one returns. It's hard to pick one person out, but Hazel is the most tremendous asset.

Nothing is ever too much trouble: they booked a restaurant for our first night, found me an excellent hairdresser, and when I had difficulty with the wi-fi (which was entirely the fault of my laptop), everyone rallied round and spent much time and effort trying (and ultimately succeeding) to sort it out.

Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: They're all good. If you want a little more privacy, Oortuiging (the cottage) is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank persephoneinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights intending to explore and experience the winelands, on arrival we were delighted with the accommodation and welcome, everything appeared perfect. The following day my husband became ill, fainted, knocked his head and broke his nose. We needed to call paramedics and he then spent a night in hospital. This incident, far from home could have been very frightening, however the care and attention from the medical staff was excellent and the compassion and concern from Arthur, Catherine, Hazel and Chris (the night porter) made the whole experience very bearable. Thank you so very much, we have promised to return and hope it will be very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Twyfeling A in main house, very lovely with access to the garden. Large bedroom and bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed here in Gelatenheid several times.
There is a bath on the upstairs balcony in which you can bath on a hot summer evening.
The cottage (Gelantenheid) is very comfortably and
beautifully furnished.
We just love it.
Especially in summer, because you have your own pool, and Franschhoek gets very hot in summer.
The owners, Arthur and his very charming wife make you feel like family.
The breakfast on the terrace next to the pool is delightful.
The Guesthouse is so close to town, you can walk down for lunch or dinner.
Franschhoek has many very good Restaurants.
We highly recommend a stay at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Gelatenheid will always be our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Our room was beautiful with the bathroom enclosed in glass. The owners were so pleasant and helpful. They were also very pleasant to chat with. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We took Arthur's advise on what wineries to visit and were very pleased. The B & B is very close to the town center - an easy walk. A must stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay in April was our third in 18 months, and it is not going to be the last. We have now stayed in 3 different rooms. The size of the rooms are very different, but they are all cozy and comfortable with a lot of practical details. It would be difficult to name a favorite room.
The breakfast is fantastic, you get it exactly as you want it. Ingredients are sourced carefully and everything is of a very high quality.
The hosts, Hazel, and the rest of the friendly staff make us feel at home.
We look forward to "come home" again within the next 12 months.

Room Tip: All we have tried are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Akademie Street for 4 nights for our honeymoon and had a brilliant time. We stayed in Vreugde which is beautiful and private with it's own pool. The attention to detail was incredible - there is nothing they hadn't though of from swimming towels to blankets outside for the chilly night, a local cellphone with pre-booked numbers and a fully stocked room bar and the most delicious breakfasts! The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing