We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best to stay in Franschhoek!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best to stay in Franschhoek!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

We spent only one night at Akademie Guesthouse and wished we could stay longer. Our accommodation was at the Vreugde and was wonderful. Very private, beautifully furnished, with all the conveniences. There was a private swimming pool in front of our veranda just for our enjoyment. The breakfast was excellent, as well, as the service. We would recommend this place to anybody who is visiting Franschhoek.
Shelly & Ed
Philadelphia, USA.

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
838
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

We stayed in Vreugde for four nights at the end of October and loved it.It was perfect for hot sunny days with a shady garden and fans on the verandah. We were surprised and delighted to find free mini bar, snacks and fruit provided each day.
Arthur and Katherine are perfect hosts and their attention to detail is outstanding.
We can wholeheartedly recommend “Akademie Street”.You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Privacy in private garden.
  • Disliked — Room a little small.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobinMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

Spent two nights at the Akademie Guest House for our honeymoon. I think I would have happily cancelled the rest of the trip and just remained there! We spent one night in a small cottage which was very charming and had everything we needed, the next night we stayed in the larger house which was amazing with wonderful views of the mountains. The gardens are beautiful. The breakfast and setting are divine. The acccommodation is tasteful and luxurious. The hosts Katherine and Arthur are wonderful and have thought of every single detail and you are just a stroll away from the hightstreet with all its restaurants. I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SarahB-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

We have just returned from our first visit to SA on a trip organised by our friends, who were with us. It culminated in a four night stay in Akademie Street and what a place!
We could not have receiveda warmer welcome from our hosts and their staff. They have thought of everything and it's so homely. The breakfasts were fantastic! Keep us going all day! We had two of the houses and had such a lovely, relaxing time in the stunning grounds.
We will certainly return. Thank you so much!
John and Fran Gathercole.
Cheshire
England

  • Liked — Our hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frannygath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

It's interesting re-reading the reviews here. I've just returned from a stay at Akademie, and whilst it is no doubt beautiful, I didn't quite get the same sort of good feeling from the hosts that people describe.

Firstly, the good. We stayed in Uitsig, which was utterly gorgeous - the photos on the website don't do it justice. Great decor, all the amenities you could need, and some great touches such as the complimentary mini bar and snacks (we never got chocolates on our pillow though as mentioned by others on here, booo!), free laundry and wi-fi. There was also a folder full of local information and maps. The breakfast was amazing, even though sadly I could never make it past the muesli and fruit stage.

Now for the not so good. Upon arriving we were asked what time we would like breakfast. I asked what time it was served, but rather than being given a timespan, we were asked to name a time. I asked what time it ended, and was told 9.45, so I chose 9.30 which earned me the response "oh, you're late risers". Errr, yes, I'm on holiday... Then when I stated we might not always have breakfast, I was told "can you inform us the night before if you don't want breakfast, as we put a lot of preparation into it". I thought this was rather off. I don't know the night before whether or not I want breakfast. I'm on holiday, and I want to be able to wake up at my leisure and decide. And quite frankly, I've paid for it, so whether I eat it or not is irrelevant. We missed breakfast one morning because we overslept, and after that my girlfriend was too scared (I know this sounds faintly ridiculous) to go again, in case we got told off. lol.

More seriously, one evening my girlfriend witnessed a few youths, one of whom had a large stick, roaming around the private gardens. They ran off when the dog started barking. We immediately called the hosts to warn them, but there was no answer. Despite calling a couple of times and leaving a message, we didn't hear back from them.

So, all in all, I thought Akademie was a beautiful place to stay, but we felt a certain froideur towards us. Perhaps breakfast-dodging lesbians aren't their cup of rooibos. I wouldn't stay here again, but I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 3 November 2008
We are sorry that these guests felt in anyway unwelcome or unsafe. It was surely not our intention. We try to make Akademie Street Guesthouses a haven and a retreat for all our guests.

The remark about us feeling a certain froideur towards people because they are lesbians is ridiculous - in fact we are speechless!

We have always regarded people as individuals. We do not classify them into groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

After reading the reviews, I had high expectations and they were more than met! My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. We felt so pampered and looked after.
We stayed in Uitsig, a MASSIVE and beautiful room above the main house with a beautiful view of the mountains. So stylish, spacious and comfortable. So many small touches - from the pre-programmed mobile phone with restaurant and activity telephone numbers ready to use, to the candles in the bathroom, the comprehensive restaurant list, the free laundry service, the inclusive sparkling wine chilled in the fridge. A special mention has to be made of the bed - wider than it was long, and it was plenty long - so comfy, with every combination of bedding you could wish for (duvet, blanket, sheet, soft pillows, hard pillows...). iPod speakers by the bedside. Divine chocolates on the pillow at bedtime. Loved the bathroom taps that made the water flow like a waterfall. Breakfast was amazing too - a huge variety of fresh and interesting fruits, yoghurt, muesli, eggs cooked to order. With Katherine and Arthur around to give us tips for the day's activities - we went on a walk around the outskirts of Franschhoek one day, and a hike up the mountain the next (don't forget to get a permit for the national park at the tourist office).
Our stay at Akademie meant we were spoilt for the other places that we stayed at on our trip and nothing could compare to the level of attention to detail and comfort. The best B&B I've ever stayed in! We really didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

We spent 5 magical nights this October in Vreugde , one of the smaller cottages. It is close to perfection .The garden is perfection.
Franschhoek has to be one of the most beautiful towns in South Africa with an incredible array of top class restaurants and Vineyards and thanks to Arthur and Katherine's knowledge you get first rate advice on how to make the most of these resources.
A special mention must go to Katherine's muesilli (nothing like the commercial stuff) and a big hello to Lulu (one of the cats )

  • Liked — The incedible garden
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing