We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Akademie for three nights. The hotel/guesthouse was chosen do to its high praises and it managed to surpass our expectations. We stayed in one of two rooms in the main house. Each room has a private garden area, our enormous, bright bathroom with heated-floors led to our garden which contained a soothing fountain. Our room also had a lovely sitting area, complimentary mini-bar and snacks, king size bed with heated blankets. After a day out on the town we came home and snuggled up to a movie we took out of the small communal, but well curated DVD collection.
Every morning the breakfast service was impeccable. In fact the entire staff was extremely accommodating and helpful in planning a self-driven wine route. Arthur helped us one night get a reservation at Ryan's Kitchen, which was our best meal in Franschhoek.
We would certainly come back, perhaps in the summer to see the plants in full bloom and use the well designed pools. You can't go wrong with this place if you are looking for a relaxing, luxurious, yet unassuming place to stay in Franschhoek and I would recommend it as a destination if you are in the Cape Town area in fact.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife & I stayed at Akademie for three nights as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. We'd read some excellent reviews prior to booking (recommended by our travel agent) but nothing prepared us for just how accommodating and hospitable Katherine, Hazel & Arthur made our stay.
Nothing was too much trouble and all members of staff went to great lengths to ensure that we were completely satisfied. This included booking a horse riding trip, two sets of taxis, confirming dinner reservations and even helping us organise the collection of several cases of wine that we purchased during our stay.
All this and I haven't even mentioned the food yet! Make sure you're hungry as the breakfast is excellent and involves several courses! On our last day we had to leave at 5am to make a connection, but the kitchen sent up a dry breakfast the night before which we thought was a very nice touch.
A few other highlights:
- Super comfy (and large) bed
- Heated floors were divine and kept the room nice and warm
- Simple and effective wifi login and password, none of the web login rubbish you get in most hotels, internet speed was good
- Excellent in-room illy coffee and snacks included in the price
- Local mobile phone provided to us with lots of useful local numbers and saved us roaming costs

We really enjoyed our honeymoon in South Africa and have vowed to return. We will definitely stay at Akademie again for our next trip.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just perfect !

Beautiful place. Excellent Hospitality!

We were made to feel very comfortable right from the time of check in. We were well cared for and All of our requirements (Vegetarian food, etc.) were well attended to.

Hazel, Katherine and Arthur form an excellent team and many big hotels (esp. Sun City ones) should learn about hospitality from them. (Even the dog - Ana - was very well behaved and welcoming! )

Of our 25 days of travel all around the beautiful South Africa, this place can easily be rated as simply the best - A home away from home !


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for just one night at the end of a long journey in South Africa, in the dead of winter (for South Africa). I am sorry we were not able to spend more time at the idyllic hotel.

We were welcomed by Hazel and other members of their staff. We stayed at the smallest of their rooms but by all means, not small at all. You will be amazed Perfectly appointed and I struggled to find anything not provided, even down to a cell phone for the guests use! Huge bed, wonderfully comfortable. The bathroom was delightful with a walk-in shower and great bathtub.

A plunge pool, back porch with couches and tables and garden back yard for our exclusive use. Too bad it was so cold in SA. (winter again). Akademie is within easy walking distance to the downtown area (5-10 minutes if strolling).Perfectly prepared breakfast with both hot and cold selections. We dined in the library where you could easily gotten lost.

Everyone on their staff was ready to encumber you with hospitality or leave you to your own, if that was you wish.

A special thanks to Hazel who arranged a wine tour at the very last minute with Bradley. It was outstanding!

This hotel is better than any 5 star hotel we have stayed. They sincerely wish and successfully make you comfortable. I just wish we had more days to stay.

This is a slice of heaven on earth in South Africa!

Room Tip: Any one of the rooms will thrill you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drjohnrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at AKADEMIE for the third visit in March this year. We have travelled extensively in South Africa for the last ten years and this establishment without doubt wins top prize. Luxury accommodation and breakfasts are of the highest standards and we experienced peace and privacy which was better than any 5 star hotel. Our rooms (GELATENHEID) were luxurious with its own private pool and entrance. The owners Arthur and Katherine are always so helpful and are able to give you reliable advise on restaurants and places to visit. AKADEMIE exudes class
to be enjoyed by discerning clients and we have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.
Rosalind and Murray Low, Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murray l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to South Africa, and we stayed a few nights at the Akademie.

We have fine memories of authentic art, a superbly stocked library, peace, calm and, above all, highly civilised, sparkling and vivid conversations with the wonderful people who run and staff this delightful boutique hotel, which is imbued with the charm and elegance of Katherine, Arthur, Hazel and all of the rest of the good people who make up the Akademie 'family'.

Beyond the hotel you wander out into the entrancing landscape that surrounds Franshoek, to eat at the many fine restaurants within five minutes of the hotel or drive to the awe-inspiring wine estates which are all within a 10 minutes drive.

A magnificent experience in every way.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in (Twefyling B) was just right; very comfortable bed and very peaceful and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 910Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent three nights in the Akademie, a converted family home in a quiet but central street in Franschhoek that has retained a domestic air. The original family still run the small hotel and their beautiful art, much painted by a family member, is everywhere. They also have a fabulous library with a wonderful selection of South African literature and factual books. The gem of the hotel is the Romanesque courtyard with a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by lawns and shady trees. It's heaven to sit with a book, listening to the running water and birdsong. The hosts are truly welcoming and arranged for us to have some much needed laundry done at no expense and made reservations for local restaurants and personal wine tours. The breakfasts were exquisite, with unusual South African choices freshly cooked and beautifully served. There were also lovely snacks in the room and a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. The room was perfect, spacious with the most beautiful bathroom opening out on to a garden area but with complete privacy. Lovely bathroom products too. We loved Akadamie Street and would go back in a shot.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £275 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing