We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly our best B&B experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two days in December and thought it was an amazing experience. Our room (Uitsig) was great, with all sorts of thoughtful extras, and the breakfast was breathtaking. And with the US dollar gaining strength recently, a very good bargain considering the level of service.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mclondon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2008

Not much to add to all the other reviews! Stayed in Gelatenheid - huge two storey villa, private pool, indoor and outdoor bath, delicious breakfast, complementary champagne, etc. Also liked the added touches like free use of a mobile phone with restaurant numbers programmed in. Can't recommend highly enough. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. Great value - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

There isn't much to add to the other reviews. The place is simply great, and the hosts do make you feel welcome. The service is impeccable, and Arthur and Katherine are very helpful in pointing out the wineries to go to etc. We stayed in Gelatenheid, which is enormous and stunning, with its own private pool. If I really have to find a fault, it's that I never saw the other rooms, but given what I saw of Gelatenheid, my feeling is that the cheaper rooms are probably wonderful and perhaps better value. Definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whirlwind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Akademie Street guesthouse is quite simply one of the most fantastic places to stay in South Africa. We stayed in the two storey house, Gelatenheid, which is absolutely stunning. There is a bath on the balcony outside, another in the sprawling light filled bedroom and a separate shower room. Fluffy towels, top notch toiletries, an ipod docking station and a pre-paid mobile with all the local restaurant numbers in it all combine to make this place truly special. The breakfasts are amazing, better even than what's on offer in the local restaurants, and the hosts Katherine and Arthur can't do enough to make your stay perfect. They're a wealth of knowledge on the local area and will happily offer advice if you're a bit stuck on what to do. We were on our honeymoon, so our expectations were extremely high - and we couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KateHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We would have liked to have given this six stars. We had read all the reviews and it lived up to all expectations. Arthur and Katherine were sensitive hosts. The pre-booking experience was exemplary and the information they gave us whilst we were there added hugely to the quality of our stay. It may seem a tad expensive but you pay the one price and then everything that you may want is included. We stayed there our first three nights in SA and it made the process of getting to grips with a new country completely trouble-free.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ValanTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Once again a great stay with Katherine and Arthur. We always feel very much at home here and would never think of staying anywhere else in Franschhoek. We always receive a very warm welcome. They think of everything (right down to the local cell phone to use during our stay). Simply the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Laser_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

What can i say about this amazing property? It is a gem and truly a perfect place to stay in Franschhoek. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of our South African holiday and our expectations (very high since we read all the perfect tripadvisor reviews) were exceeded. We rented the 2 story Gelatenheid, which is as beautiful as the pictures on the website. Every last detail has been accounted for, from a print out of the weather forecast for the week, chocolates on the pillow, high quality bath products, cell phone programmed with the local restaurants' numbers, and of course the fully stocked fridge (with sparkling wine) as well as crisps and fruit.

Arthur and his wife Katherine were the most warm and kind hosts, and even compared to the usual high south african standards of hospitality, Akademie House stands out as one of the top value and most luxurious stays we've had in SA. Their gourmet breakfasts are delicious - fruit, eggs, tomato, hashbrowns, cereal, toast- i am still craving a fruit smoothie that i had one morning.

The location in town is just perfect - a great base for exploring the region.

The pool was too chilly for us to swim at this time of the year but oh how delicious those swims must be in the height of the African summer.

They leave naught for want - it is truly paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Livie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £275 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing