We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Would definately recommend this guest house - beautiful surrounding, 1st class accomodation and brilliant breakfast!! You would not be disappointed booking to stay here - the owners were so hospitable offering advice on places to go and my husband even got their muesli recipe as it was so good!! 1st class place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

We were travelling in South Africa for our honeymoon and this was my favourite place in which we stayed. The setting is absolutely beautiful and as soon as you step through the front door at reception you know that a lot of thought and care has gone into the home design -- making the place lavish but cozy, decadent but homey, classy and quirky all in one. All the art work is a touch of class with many of the paintings done by Cathy's father and painted ceramic work by her aunt. A sense of design and art definitely runs in the family!

We stayed in Twyfeling for 3 nights (extending from 2 nights as we loved it so much). The room (massive) with adjoining conservatory is at the front of the main house so it may not be as private as the other guesthouses at Akademie but we didn't have a problem with that at all. There is no traffic on the street and there are very few people coming through the house or reception so we were never disturbed. One day we were lucky to have a tour of all the accomodations as all others had checked out. Each place is gourgeous, private, and has its own personal feel and style.

As mentioned in other reviews, all the amenities and inclusions are top-class (and thoughtful). The breakfasts were bountiful and too tasty that it takes either a big appetite or strategic planning to make it to the last round of hot food. It even got my Irish husband passing up the eggs and bacon (and etc) for yogourt, muesli, and fruit (a habit he continued for the rest of the holiday!). Their home toasted muesli is one of the best I have EVER eaten.

As for Cathy and Arthur, they are wonderful hosts and attentive to every detail. From food and restaurant recommendations (our main reason for choosing Franschhoek), tips on day outings, and printed driving directions they were always available with their advice while the info binder and pre-programmed mobile phone in the rooms are invaluable.
There's enough to do in the area or within daytrip distance but if you also want to just have a period of relaxation and chilling, Akademie Street Guesthouses is a perfect retreat and a real treat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erkybourky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed here during our recent honeymoon in Southern Africa and found Akademie Street to be everything we had hoped for. A must for a Cape Winelands visit! We stayed for 2 nights in the spectacular, vineyard-filled town of Franschhoek and Akademie Street provided us with wonderful service, a fantastic location near the Village and various vineyards, and delicious breakfasts (try the local sausage and jams). Arthur and Katherine were fabulous hosts!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Our son and daughter booked us a night here as a special treat (an anniversary present)during a holiday in South Africa and it was absolutely fantastic!

We had the Gelatenheid guest house which was beautiful and very indulgent. It has its own pool and garden, an outdoor bath tub on the balcony (as well as an indoor tub and bathroom!) and huge amounts of space. As well as being very luxurious there were lots of very thoughtful detailed touches such as matches where there were candles, a well stocked drinks fridge and a mobile phone with local numbers (restaurants etc) pre-programmed.

To top off the treat of staying here we ate that night in the tasting room at Le Quartier Francais (absolutely superb).

Our only regret was that we were only there for one night. Katherine and the staff we met were lovely and it was a highlight of the holiday.

David & Helen

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandHelen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We were only able to stay at akademie for one night, which is a shame. We stayed in Gelatenheid which was beautiful. We won't touch on the little extras because all the reviews have got it right in terms of the phone, minibar, international plugs, internet, chocolates, etc.

Our main complaint concern the breakfast (which we note that others have complained about as well). We had to be on our way as of 8.15 in order to make it to Stellenbosch in time for a tour. Perhaps we've got it wrong because we've only been to about 65 countries and stayed at a number of guesthouses spanning numerous price points but the owners need to be more flexible about the time and place that one can have breakfast. I don't care if my fruitplate comes in the shape of a star if I can't have it at 7.45am when I want it. The hosts seemed reluctant to serve us breakfast at 8am (which was later than we wanted it to begin with) and said that we could only have a cold breakfast. We found that highly irritating. We also would have preferred to have breakfast in our house and/or on our patio but that certainly not an option.

Additionally, we would have preferred a little bit more of choice in the minibar. There was no wine and there were no diet or light soda drinks. There was also no vodka. Our view was that the bar looked like it had been stocked for two men rather than a couple. The snacks were appreciated but it would have been nice if there was something more interesting then normal potato chips and some salted peanuts.

In short, it was very nice and we would recommend it to others however we have stayed at better (perhaps we've been spoiled) both from a service and a value for money point of view.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

If your going to visit the Winelands Franschhoek is the place to stay, its quaint with some great restaurants and has a number of great wineries within a short driving distance.

We stayed in Vreugde for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. The room was lovely with a private outdoor seating area and plunge pool. The free mini bar is a nice touch and is replenished daily. The free laundry service is also very useful.

Katherine and Arthur are very knowledgeable and will give you invaluable advice on the best places to go (from personal experience) and how to maximise your stay. They are both extremely welcoming and friendly.

The guesthouse is a 2 minute walk from the main street and it is very safe to walk down to the restaurants in the day and evening.

Overall Akademie street has an amazing attention to detail and strikes the perfect balance between being a homely guesthouse but giving you enough space to do your own thing. Will definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed in the Gelatenheid cottage at the Akademie Street guest house. Was lovely to have a whole house to yourself and the outside bath is a fantastic touch! Upstairs is beautifully decorated and comfortable. Downstairs is a little bit basic and has some unusual and personal design features. The owners have truly gone the extra mile with little touches such as a complimentary bar and snacks, a mobile phone programmed with key numbers to use and a laundry service. The breakfast is wonderful. The whole guest complex is very homely and has the owners tastes firmly stamped on each touch. It is certainly colourful, comfortable and typically South African.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#8 of 12 in Franschhoek
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £250 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 8 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing