We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

From the moment we made the reservation everything was done promptly and professionally, any queries I had were answered to my satisfaction. The reception from Arthur was very warm and friendly and of course the following morning we expirienced an even warmer and friendlier reception from Katherine. The breakfast was great and the rooms were neat and had everything one expects from such an establishment. We were pleasantly surprised to be informed that all the beverages in the well-stocked bar fridge were free. It was not surprising that after breakfast of the second day we spent a lot of time chatting with both Arthur and Katherine - that is just the way they are - they make you feel welcomed and at home in Akademie.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sombu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
847
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

Although small, Franschhoek is a bustling little town where a visitor could be overwhelmed by the opportunities on offer (restaurants, wine-tours, trips etc); Arthur and Catherine of the Akadamie St Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse complex were able to offer solid advice on the neighbourhood as well as other areas which was tailored to the guest's requirement. The food was excellent and benefited from that 'homecooking' touch - fresh herbs and sauces/juices. Our small bungalow was very private, yet not cut off from the others, being linked by a lovely garden. The bedtoom possessed the largest bed we encountered on our trip! The bijou kitchenette was excellent and well stocked as was the minibar. The laundry service was free - a bonus that was welcome after a few days of travel - and this is not always the case. The bathroombathroom, though rustic in design, was roomy and had copious amounts of hot water for the full size bath and a large enclosed shower unit; it was scrupulously maintained. The site of the accommodation was two streets back fro the main town thoroughfare. However it was a five minute stroll to the nearest eatery, bank or 'shopping opportunity'. Our stay at the Akadamie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse was made memorable by the high standard of surroundings; the privacy of our own furnished verandah and garden with plunge pool; the high standard of maintenance throughout the public rooms of the property; last but not least, the high level of personal attention given by Arthur, Catherine and staff and their enthusiasm to spend time from their their busy schedule to answer questions on and give advice about the interesting features of their beautiful town and its surroundings. We had not hesitaion on passing on their details to other travellers that we met later in our holiday; people who wanted somewhere nice to stay during a visit to the wine producing area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldanaldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copnehagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

Coming back to enjoy Franschhoek we wanted to stay central and found Akademie Street Guesthouse on the internet. It looked fantastic and was even better in real life. We really had a great stay. Beatiful place, perfect in every detail. Arthur, Katherine and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, outdoor under the gazebo, was brilliant - homemade müesli, freshly squeezed juice and a great omelet. We stayed in Gelatenheid and enjoyed the spacious bedroom and the wonderful setting, enjoying a glass of cool white wine on the porch with a view to the surrounding mountains before dinner. We had a look at some of the other rooms and they all looked great - each with their own charm. Arthur and Katherine were very helpful arranging trips - hiking, winetasting and golf. And advising on great places to eat. We really recommend it and are longing to go back. Erik and Marianne, Denmark.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EM2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed at the Akademie for 2 nights and could only wish we had more time! This hotel deserves it's ranking on Tripadvisor and we highly recommend it (and I'm a pretty demanding guest as we only stay at boutique / luxury properties and this compares favorably with the Relais & Chateaux options that we booked for the balance of our wine country / Garden Route tour).

The pros:
- excellent personal service from Arthur and Catherine (the owners) and the rest of the staff (they even made sure to run out to purchase skim milk for our coffee to satisfy our picky requirements)
- amazing accomodations (we highly recommend the 2-story house, which has an amazing upstairs "loft" with surround terrace, outdoor bath and comfortable seating)
- great location within walking distance of the town
- excellent recommendations for wineries / meals
- although it's not cheap, it felt like an excellent value for money with no "nickel and diming", including free minibar (including an excellent local sparkling wine, soft drinks, liquors and snacks), free laundering service and deluxe hot and cold breakfast selections

Cons
- none (it's not a big resort with many facilities, but that's not what you come here for anyway)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clydethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

We spent 3 nights at Akademie Street and just LOVED it! We stayed in Twyfeling for the first night, with its shower etc in a lovely light conservatory. We then moved into Gelatenheid for the remainder of our stay. We could hardly believe that the accomodation could be even nicer, but it was. A whole two floors of space. The beds in both rooms are the biggest we've ever slept in. Everything was just perfect - attention to detail is paramount and this included the delicious breakfasts when every need was catered for. The owners tried hard to help us sort out our camera problems and made us feel really comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

We visited when the weather was uncharacteristically wet and rainy in November so were'nt able to use the gardens and pretty setting. Some of the rooms have a private plunge pool - bracingly cold but this seems to be the case everywhere on the Cape - and others use the main pool - although this wasnt fully operational when we visited - As a keen swimmer I would have used this in better weather. There were 4 of us travelling as 2 couples and everything had been thought of with clear instructions on how to do things in the handbook - even playing a DVD using 2 remotes was very clear and there was a small library of films. Breakfast was excellent - the best we had - so overall very happy. Not a lot of off street parking and narrow road so you'd have to check this first if turning up with 2 hire cars.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IfafaBird
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Akademie is a really beautiful spot in Franschoek . They offer a variety of different rooms/cottages in a stunning garden setting. We stayed in the Vreugde cottage, which had a little pool and veranda (with a brilliant heater....very practical as it rained the entire weekend). The owners Katherine & Arthur are extremly friendly; Arthur even picked us from a winefarm where we got stuck after heavy rain. Would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IfafaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing