We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Lovely stay....delicious breakfast, hospitable hosts, friendly and helpful staff, great location for the amazing restaurants in the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2009

We were amazed with Akademie Street! The atmosphere was so peaceful and warm and the service was just perfect. We felt like we had the best of both worlds, our room was beautiful and really had the feel of a luxury hotel room, but in such a lovely guesthouse setting with truly personalized service. Arthur and Katherine really took the time to welcome us and took an interest in our trip. They even helped us pick the most scenic driving route to our next stop. Our only regret was not having more time to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan17240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

A Superb Guesthouse where we we looked after by Kathy & Arthur is style.
So very clean with friendly staff, and a breakfast that keeps you going for the day.
We look forward to coming back again but this time formuch longer.
Thank you Akedemie Boutique Hotel & Guesthouse

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkerpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

What a beautiful place. What a privilege to have stayed in this beautiful old cottage.Everything was perfect. Katherine and Arthur received us with open arms and treated us with such warmth.
Loved the fact that we had our own little garden and swimming pool.
Left with the fondest memories.
Thank you so much

Regards Karen

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalupawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The gardens are beautiful, the rooms are fantastic and very individual. The location is perfect for walking in to the village with all its great restaurants and shops. The breakfast was outstanding and certainly very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxcoCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Easily the best place we stayed in the 2 weeks in Sth Africa. Everything was perfect and done with such style, grace, finesse that we were left amazed.

The Room (we were in the little Oortuing cottage) was outstanding and a real treat to have an entire house to ourselves; the breakfast was beyond belief and we are still dreaming of the home made and baked muesli, the staff were kind and gracious and seemed to know just how much each guest wanted to interact with them.

Its an easy and safe walk to the excellent restaurants on the main street of Franschoek (Rubens and Le Quartier Francais were superb) as well as other local attractions.

From start to finish this place was a total pleasure and treat. Cant recommend it highly enough. The free laundry service was excellent too!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We very much enjoyed our brief stay but would definatley go back when we next visit South Africa. The staff were so friendly and helpful and even managed to arrange an emergancy dentist appointment for me, which was very much appreciated. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The pool room that we stayed in was beautiful and the bathroom was amazing - we had seen nothing like it before. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GunnerBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £238 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing