We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akadamie Street Boutique Hotel was absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We loved every minute of our stay at Akademie - it was not just the cottage whcih was wonderful and well equipped and everything you would expect/hope/need in a boutiqiue hotel (including a ktichen to prepare baby bottles) it was even more the people who were always cheerful and welcoming and willing to help. It was like vivistin relatives who look after you incredibly well. Visit!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

Outstanding in every respect. The accomodation, breakfasts and hospitality were faultless. This is the second time we've stayed at Akademie Street (specifically Gelatenheid) and it remains top of our list of accomodation throughout South Africa by some distance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobesm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We cannot praise Akademie highly enough. What a delight to stay in such an individual guest house(This doesnt really do it justice) where everything had been thought of. Arthur and Katherine obviously love what they do as their enthusiasm is boundless and their staff seem very happy and genuinely keen to help with everything they can.
Our apartment was superb, very large and extremly clean and very very comfortable with a very high spec. The surrounding gardens are very peaceful too.
In essence what a wonderful place to stay and so so much better than the typical bland hotel. if only there were more examples like Akademie.
We would only think of staying at Akademie when we next visit the area.
Top marks on everything to the team!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed there for the third time with our little daughter. It is always a pleasure to came back. This is not a usual hotel where you stay for a night, this is a place where you should stay longer. Situated in the heart of beautiful Franschhoek some of the famous restaurants (and the shops as well) are within walking distance. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Katherine, Arthur and all the staff they pay attention to the details. That is what you see and feel everywhere in the hotel. For example the complimentary bottle of Graham Back in the fridge, the adapter plugs everywhere in the room, the free wifi access or the excellent laundry service just to mention a few. Breakfast is really first class. Everything is fresh with a great variety of fruit, lekker muesli, hot and cold breakfast. We love to stay in "Oortuiging" which is a historic cottage with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a lounge and a kitchen with dining area. It also has a beautiful shady verandah and a privat garden with a swimming pool. Everything is perfect there. Katherine, Arthur and all the staff are really doing a great job! They make you feel at home. For us there is no other place to stay in the Franschhoek area, and we tried several before...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGDuesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in South Africa.

One of the highlights of our holiday was our stay at Akademie Street Guesthouses in Franschhoek. We stayed in Uitsig, a beautiful upper flat with verandah - very spacious and beautifully furnished.

Our hosts, Katherine and Arthur, were absolutely charming and couldn't do enough for us, and Hazel, who had been working at Akademie Street for only a few weeks, was very attentive and happy to advise us about lovely walks and places of interest in the area.

A short stroll takes you to the main street in this beautiful little town and to the very interesting Huguenot Museum.

We would highly recommend Akademie Street Guesthouses to anyone - and the breakfast is superb.

Frank and Jean, Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandFScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The hospitality at Akadamie Street is second to none and it seemed no request was too much for our hosts and Hazel. Our cottage was spotless, bright and well appointed, with a generous private garden and plunge pool, which also ensured complete quiet as there were no adjoining rooms. There was also a selection of interesting books on South Africa. As an added touch, the minibar and laundry services are complimentary. The property is itself only moments walking distance from the main street, yet retains an air of quiet calm and cool behind the whitewashed walls and against the searing midday heat. In terms of local activities, Arthur readily lends his local knowledge on which of the many wine estates to visit and which vintages to try, meanwhile Katherine is a keen gardener and an expert on the local flora - the garden has some interesting plants in it. Both will graciously welcome you into their home. We loved our stay here and will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muirrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We travel a lot.
I think it is one of the best place we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATASLithuania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £276 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing