We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

This little 'haven of heaven' was our first stop on a trip to South Africa to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Akademie Street guesthouse is the perfect start to a tour of the winelands region. Everything about this accommodation oozes charm, tranquility and outstanding service. We were treated like royalty and made to feel that we were the only guests, even though there are a number of properties which serve to make up the Akademie Street site. Arthur, Katherine and Hazel have created an experience which is a hard match for others to achieve. We can't wait to return and feel like we've been away for a month after only 2 nights - which was exactly how we felt.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexBatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
838
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

My wife and I spent a night in Fransschoek and stayed at Akademie Street in the Uitsig room. If only we had stayed for longer! Akademie Street provides a warm and personable welcome, coupled with extremely comfortable accommodation, full of understated elegant style, and a fantastic breakfast. Our room was bright, large and well furnished, with lovely views over the mountains and an individual character that is lacking in most hotels and guest-houses. It is also very close to the top restaurants in Franschhoek (which is safe to walk around at night).

Akademie Street does not have all the facilities that some more luxurious hotels have but makes up for it in a big way by providing a unique, welcoming experience in very enjoyable surroundings. This is the place to stay if that is the sort of experience that you value. We will return to Franschhoek and we will stay there when we do.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Fantastic start to our honeymoon. Easy, lovely drive from Cape Town airport. Great location within a couple of minutes walk of many of the renowned restaurants of Franschoek. Chances are you may already have your eye on a couple, as Arthur e-mails out his excellent restaurant guide in advance.

We stayed in Gelatenheid, which is a beautiful detached cottage with its own garden, little pool, large wraparound balcony, and outdoor (and indoor) bath. Cooked breakfasts were superb - the best we had in South Africa - and a good chance to chat to staff to help plan the day ahead. Hazel, Arthur and Katherine were charming hosts and gave sound advice on how to spend our time in Franschoek.

Franschoek is an extremely pleasant place to spend a few days. Beautiful part of the country, and numerous outstanding vineyards and restaurants (of the latter, we'd particularly recommend La Petite Ferme, and the Tasting Room at Le Quartier Francais). And Akademie is a great choice for a comfortable, homely base.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DushAndMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here for one night in Uistig and can only say that it was fabulous! The room was fantastic, the welcome warm, the service perfect and everyone very friendly. At breakfast, we were even given a suggested route back to the airport (we were flying out in the evening) with recommendations for vineyards to visit and places to eat which meant we really made the most of our last day in SA. We hadn't asked for this - it was done voluntarily and was a very thoughtful touch which was much appreciated as we always value local knowledge and recommendations. No hesitation in recommending this establishment as a very comfortable and good value place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJKK271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in the large cottage for 2 nights. It was fantastic. We had our own private swimming pool, garden. The cottage was 2 floors. Upstairs was a large sleeping area with a lounge area, bath plus another bath outside on the veranda decking.
Downstairs was the kitchen and larger loungeroom.
Great location.
I wish I could stay there for a month.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bariloche
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

An amazing place, all big and luxury rooms, very helpfull staff, and also the best breakfast we had in SA. Only 1 block from the mainstreet, so quiet but very good located to go to one of the amazing restaurants in Franschhoek. We decided to stay 2 more days than planned, just because this Boutique Hotel is just amazing to relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holandargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

If you are looking for good food, good wine and fresh air, this is the place to choose. The room we stayed in (Uitsig) was modern and comfortable and we were really grateful for the underfloor heating. There was any luxury we could have asked for, from an ipod docker to a proper coffee machine in our room and the multitude of paintings on the walls made the place special. The king size bed also deserves a special mention! The breakfast was really yummy and you gotta try something of all the food they offer or you will miss out!
Thanks Katherine for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing