We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Now back in grey cold UK the South African sunshine and charming staff of Akademie Street seem a million miles away. Tucked away in a quiet residential street it is an oasis of calm and tranquility where the softly spoken staff do all they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I have rarely stayed somewhere where one felt so much a part of the family, including the affectionate Anna, the hotel's black labrador. The staff are friendly and informative but anxious that you should enjoy your privacy as well. The breakfasts were gargantuan, freshly cooked and a highlight of our stay. The pool, though small, was set in a quiet garden where one could relax with a book in the sunshine or shade. We were very sad to leave and would definitely stay again and recommend it unequivocally to all. Clare and Richard Moon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

The Akademie guest house is a perfect place to stay to explore the restaurants and wineries in Franschhoek and Stellenbosch. The house and gardens are beautiful and very comfortable and there is always someone nearby if you need anything. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful; the garden setting by the pool was lovely. All the staff are very good, and Arthur is very knowledgeable about the local area and happy to help you plan your day. We fell in love with Anna, the playful Labrador pup, she especially likes to lick you when you have been in the pool. We had a great time and hope to return for a longer stay another time.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank icklesister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

From the moment we arrived we relaxed - the welcome, fantastic rooms, setting, pool - wonderful bathroom. Fantastic people. Breakfast was special - provided in different places around the house so very private and excellent. We would come back any time.
Even little touches including free mini bar which is unheard of these days

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarlettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The attention to detail at Akademie is extraordinary, from the quality and size of the towels to the bookmark placed in a book lying with the pages down to hold the place. Friendly, welcoming, knowledgable, an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryankeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

After a less than perfect stay in Franschoek two years ago we decided to try Akademie Street this time, but could it possibly live up to the wonderful reviews - YES in every respect.
We only stayed two nights at the end of a five week tour of South Africa during which we stayed in some excellent accommodation, and met so many friendly people, but it is hard to imagine ending anywhere better to reinforce so many fond memories.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeakTravellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Akademie Street is perfect - charming, beautiful, excellent service, and more. The owners and everyone who works at the hotel are engaging, helpful, interesting, and nice. It also is conveniently located. My husband and I were traveling for 3+ weeks. This was by far our favorite hotel and we hated to leave. We give it our highest recommendation. We have vowed to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0leA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We have never been in a place so complete, friendly and relaxing as Academy Street Guesthouse is. Every consequetive day, Hazal and her staff gave us the feeling that we where their (!) guests of honour. During every short moment of beeing out of our room, they created a new surprise of service as if it was the most common and natural thing to do. So, in one word: Paradise !

Ria & Wim
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiavandenBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £237 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing