We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Ranked #30 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Amazing place to stay. We stayed at le Manoir de Brendel over the last weekend and found it to be wonderful. The breakfast was delectable and the Manageress, Karin was eager to help us out with everything. Booking again in March.

Room Tip: Try either of suites 1 - 5 within the manor house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YN93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Once again thank you for your return visit with the extended family. Hope the luggage was on time with your return flight. Would love to see you in March with the Harvest Festival. Warm Regards, Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was my first visit in SA and booked the Le Manoir de Brendel Estate without any Recommendations because I wanted to surprise myself with a trip to another continent and culture. As I arrived I had a really nice arrival - the hotel staff showed me around shortly and I got help with my baggage. The first good impression was confirmed in the honeymoon suite itself. I really enjoyed the big room even if I was traveling alone. The best part of my weekend trip was the wine testing, where the own wines were presented. I took some of the Brendel Merlot home, what a lovely present for some close friends. Even if there is only a breakfast served in the hotel itself, the staff helped me to get reservations for restaurants in Cape Town and Frenchhoek - this is what I call a customer support.
Thanks to Le Manoir de Brendel and it's perfect staff for the nice weekend, hope to check in again.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Thank you for your generous compliments Stephan. Hope to see you soon again indulging you with our hospitality. Kind regards, Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked Le Manoir de Brendel via a website and didn't know what to expect. We found the place very easy to find and were given a lovely, warm welcome by Karin and Peter. We were shown to our beautful (suite) room and the team helped us with our luggage and booked us both a taxi into town and a restaurant reservation for the evening.
Later on in the evening we tasted some lovely Le Manoir wine and we were delighted when Karin said she would upgrade us to the Honeymoon Suite as we were celebrating our engagement; what a lovely surprise!
Breakfast the next morning was superb too, and a little but unusual. Sadly we then had to move on but we would have loved to have stayed longer as this was by far the nicest place we stayed in the Cape Town area.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Always happy to hear we could make a special event even more special. Once again, congratulations on your engagement. Pity your family is too big to ship them over for a wedding here. Good luck with the future and wedding arrangements. Warm regards, Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Helsinki
1812
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Room Tip: Well i like real jacuzzi so i can recommend honeymoon suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On our first visit to South Africa from UK, we stayed at Le Manoir for 2 nights a couple of nights ago and were highly impressed by the faultless service and wonderful surroundings. Could have stayed for much longer. Got there late to be told we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was stunning. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff recommended a great restaurant in town (Allora) and arranged a pickup for us. Fabulous breakfast on the terrace overlooking vineyards and mountains. We have been highly impressed by the level of service and style in SA - and it doesn't hurt that the exchange rate is in our favour making everything extremely good value as well. Thank you Le Manoir for making such a great contribution to our well being. Was difficult to leave.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

So many accolades from our grateful guests have never been more appreciated after such a busy season. It has gone awfully quiet compared to the previous 5 months and we are missing it, because we love what we do. Thank you and please visit again. Warmest regards, Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We got married in the beautiful chapel on 22 Feb, followed by drinks on the lawn and a dinner for 46 on one stunning table under the shade of the trees. It was truly magical. A stunning setting. We booked all the rooms at the guest house and it was fantastic. A big thank you to Karin and the team for doing a wonderful job. It was so special. Many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had been to. We would highly recommend Le manoir de Brendel to anyone wanting a stunning venue for their wedding.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Lilly109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Whoop, whoop! We are so delighted with all our happy wedding couples' reviews. Le Manoir de Brendel has definitely been the best kept secret in the valley but it looks like the secret is out! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and even more so inviting you wonderful friends and family along to stay with us. We agree with your guests; 'best wedding ever'. I have never seen guests bopping around so happily as on that evening on the patio under the stars. Love to you all - Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had our wedding weekend at this absolute gem in Franschoek. Stunning venue, beautiful accommodation, garden and pool. The best by far is the amazing staff with Karin at the helm. She was calm and supportive and made the whole day spectacular. The staff went above and beyond what's expected to create a wedding weekend that exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning but go for the pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ushandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

What can I say; stunning wedding + stunning couple + stunning guests = A Day to Remember forever. Thank you so much for the compliments, the privilege of hosting this wonderful day with you and the best weather ever blessing that day. Kind regards, Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
4.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#16 of 64 in Franschhoek
295 reviews
3.4 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
300 reviews
7.6 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir de Brendel Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Brendel Estate

Address: R45 Main Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £119 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Manoir de Brendel Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le-Manoir-de-Brendel Estate is situated 55km’s from Cape Town International Airport, in the heart of the Cape Winelands, a mere 5 minute drive, from the historical Franschhoek Village, rated amongst the top gourmet & wine towns of South Africa on the R45. Our 5-star rating represents the highest category for accommodation and service. Continental & Hot Breakfast is served overlooking the Klein Drakenstein Mountain and vineyards. Bring your racquet along and enjoy a game of tennis on our court overlooking the vineyards. Lazing in and around our swimming pool is what our guests do best when the Franschhoek summer days are upon us.Book a wine tasting session in the afternoon enjoying our best wines-all suites are serviced daily and equipped with A direct dial telephone, M-Net, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, safe for valuables, hairdryer, gowns, slippers and luxury bathroom amenities. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Manoir de Brendel Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing