We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Beautiful hotel, a town with stunning food ! well worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Glad you enjoy your time. Franschhoek is truly a treasure.
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    183
    107
    62
    32
See reviews for
108
324
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had an excellent stay, location and views are magnificent, room (top flor with exposed beams etc..) was very cosy, clean and comfortable, with all fittings in perfect working order.

I would not go as far as descriping the room as luxurious, but more like subtle luxury, high quality furniture, fabrics and ameneties. The whole property seemed to be in very good shape and had the same feeling of understated luxury.

We found the service to be outstanding, from check in, spa booking (ecellent by the way), directions and suggestions, booking tables in town, arranging transfers etc., all was done very swiftly and with a smile - we had no problems at all.

Breakfast was of good and decent quality, we had dinner one evening in the Le Verger restaurant - right on the edge overlooking the valley, I was very surprised of the food quality, wine knowledge of the staff - all in all a very nice and memorable dinner.

The grounds are really beautiful and well kept, only downside was that the pool was freezing cold, that there seemed to be a lack of lounge chairs and not really any pool service (drinks etc.) but no problem for us but missed revenue for the hotel.

Actually the whole pool layout is a mystery as it does not properly take advantage of the magnificent views, some more lounge chairs on the area above the pool could be a good solution and strange to palce some fan kind of machines in the area.

Would not mind to stay here again, but would probably try out one of the wineries with accomodation instead next time around.

NB. we had free internet (WiFi) but I am not sure if that was intended.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
I am glad that you enjoyed Le Franschhoek and hope that we see you in our region again.
Your idea on the pool loungers is a good one. We have been thinking about leveling the garden area above the current lounngers to create more space with mountain views.
Happy travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Everything, and I mean everything at this hotel is used within an inch of its life. The carpets are stained and worn, the linens are shabby and the towels are frayed. Poolside, the cushions are dirty and the chairs are coming apart. This is not a 5 star property but has the pricing of a 5 star. It appears that the owners have enjoyed the profits over the years but have not reinvested any in the property and it shows. If coming to this incredible area stay at Le Cartier Francaise as we have in the past. Maybe a few more rand but well worth it. You'll see us back there as well but never here again unless we hear of a renovation plan of significance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjfMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thank you for your comments. You'll be happy to know that we have already replaced the sisal carpeting on the main staircase. Yesterday I met with a designer to plan our soft refurbishment of our public areas that will be taking place over the next few months.
Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had reservations for the 22 December and arrived on a day with a slight drizzle. After driving for about 9 hours all I wanted was a comfortable room and 5-star service as we were paying 5-star rates over the busy festive season. On arrival we were greeted by a miserable front desk receptionist and staff to the extent that I commented saying "You could put a smile on your face!" We were asked to put our luggage onto a golf cart after which I enquired whether we should not just drive to our room as this was quite a far distance away. All the luggage was then placed back into the car. No guests were seen in the public areas. No atmosphere. Cold reception. No tour of facilities. We had booked a luxury suite. We were placed in a disabled room without prior consultation. The room had not been prepared as one would expect at a five-star establishment - no welcome letter, no lights on or curtains opened. No mirrors on any walls except for the bathroom. I am in the hospitality industry and have stayed at may five-star hotels around the world and this establishment does not live up to its brand or advertising. We immediately checked out and will not recommend this hotel. Lovely setting, disappointing experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

A wonderful find, we came to the Winelands for a friends wedding and wanted a hotel in Franschhoek.
Our room was huge, it was in the top of the hotel and was double aspect views over the mountains (which had been charred due to recent fires) and vineyards. We could see the restaurant below that had tables in greenhouses in the garden a very romantic setting for dinner. The room had the beams of the thatched roof structure which was amazing to see the construction. There was also a balcony to the room.
A good breakfast buffet. Comfy lounge area to relax in the afternoon.
The spa that is within the hotel grounds is well worth a visit, but booking ahead as it does get busy.
The only downside is that the hotel is located a good distance from the centre of Franschhoek where other fabulous restaurants are located but the hotel can easily book you a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Of the several hotels we stayed in on our trip to SA this was the only 5* and it was by far the worst service and fell far short of the 5* standards. Poor maintenance or the room, inconsistant staff, charges for services that were said to be complimentary and a spa the is little more than an average rate beauty salon. Try somewhere else and enjoy Franshhoek which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PogoDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

No towels, Internet difficult to get to work, no hot water and broken aircontitioner. Not what you would expect from a hotel which boasts such a lofty reputation. I think they have let things slip as they have rested on their laurels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeptunesExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing