We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Spent the weekend at this hotel and absolutely fell in love with it. Located just outside Franschhoek, nestled in the mountains, it's the perfect base from which to explore the Winelands. The hotel feels like a retreat, serene and beautifully decorated in tones of white and beige. The staff were efficient and friendly, and went out of their way to give us a truly 5 star experience. Rooms well appointed with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. Breakfast was great - recommend the croissants! Food at the restaurant for dinner was a bit disappointing for the price, but lovely ambience with the fire place and pianist, and helped along by the attentive staff.
Cannot Wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem a bit smaller than the rest, but offer twice the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Scarlett_SA,

Thank you for your wonderful response.
We are so glad that you fell in love with our hotel and cannot wait to welcome you back.

Happy holidays,
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

The view from our room over the valley and onto the mountains was stunning. The staff were very friendly and the spa was world class.
The sound proofing of the rooms is not very good though and you could clearly hear people in others rooms.
Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear dcroberts,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed our staff and spa. The views are magnificent and I can guarantee that they will still be here when you return :)
Thank you for your feedback on the soundproofing - our maitnenace team has been looking into it and we hope to have the particular rooms that are affected, sorted our very soon.
Best wishes for the holidays,
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights in one of the very attractive thatched villas built in the grounds of the hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and made our stay a very enjoyable one. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for a very large convention our first night, but we thoroughly enjoyed a bar meal, served by a very helpful and pleasant waiter. The amenities in the hotel meet any demand. Our breakfasts were excellent with friendly staff, again very efficient and courteous. This hotel definitely lived up to its 5 star rating and more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Ruth M,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that we can welcome you back in future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I wish i would have stayed at least two nights in this property, we stayed only one night in 3rd week of August 2011, that to we checked-in the evening and checked-out early morning. But i notice the property is in beautiful location, close to mountains, friendly staff and nice dining facility. We had wonderful dinner in the restaurant and they have very collection wines too.

We checked-out the room about 3am to catch a flight in Cape Town, my hot breakfast was made available to carry with us at that early hours.

If you want to spend some good time outside the city for a nice breeze then this is the hotel I would recommend. Do not miss nearby few Franschhoek good vineyards for wine tasting

Room Tip: Try to get the mountain face rooms, you will never regrate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast pack but 3 am is really early to leave for the airport!
I hope that Tembile's directions were of use.
I hope that we can welcome your family back in future and that you can spend a longer period with us.

Best Regards and happy travels,

Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here for a wedding and it was postcard material. Views just stunning!

Rooms were lovely and quaint. Bed Very comfy. Shower powerful.

Breakfast was great.

Bar very expensive and food menu a bit limited.

when i got home i noticed they had charged me twice but was easily resolved.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AW11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

I am glad that you found our hotel beautiful and enjoyed our breakfast experience.
You'll be glad to know that we are increasing our menu to offer more variety.
I hope that we will receive you back soon at Le Franschhoek.

Happy Travels,
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August during our 2 week trip throughout South Africa. No detail at this hotel was over looked - they knew we were arriving late so they had set up a table in their lounge area for us to have a late dinner (great food by the way), all transportation to and from Cape Town as well as to all lunches and dinners was arranged as we did not have a car, and they assisted us in making wine tour plans with Winelands Experience (be sure to ask for Roger). Everyone at the reception desk was helpful and very friendly, and we cannot thank Tembile enough for helping with all of our trip plans. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean, and our room was very spacious overlooking the vineyard and mountain with a spacious balcony. We also really appreciated the heated bathroom floors! It was very convenient to have breakfast every morning at the hotel, and they had a great buffet available. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Franschhoek! We also used the spa one morning and had a wonderful experience there too!

Room Tip: The Vineyard Suite was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaTravelGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

I am so glad that you enjoyed your Le Franschhoek experience.
Please be sure to stay in touch and visit us in future.

Best regards
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel is beautifully appointed. Everything is clean and one cannot fault anything about the physical aspects of the hotel. We had wonderful breakfasts and room service on the one evening. The food was good. However the front line staff were very aloof and not at all friendly. It appeared to us that it was even difficult for them to smile. I guess to sum it up - there was no warmth. I had wanted to stay at this hotel for many years. In fact I had wanted to come here on our honeymoon 35 years ago. During our recent visit to South Africa I was really excited about coming to stay here. The question is - would I come again - maybe not. Most of the other places that we visited the staff were so warm and friendly and helpful - that even when the accommodation was not as grand, it made up for this, because of their warmth. However if you are wanting to come to Franschhoek this would not be a bad spot to stop - but I would not make a special point of coming here to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

I am glad that you thought our hotel beautiful and enjoyed our food. I am sincerely sorry that you experienced our frontline staff in the manner you did. I assure you that it is not the norm as normally our staff is described as very warm and friendly.
If you find yourself in South Africa again, please make contact with us and pay us a visit. I assure you that then you will experience true South African hospitality.
Best Regards and happy travelling.
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.7 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £96 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing