We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Lovely hotel in beautiful region.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights (wish it had been longer) Sunday 06/11/11 to Tuesday 08/11/2011. Basis was B & B
This is a very good quality hotel set in a private estate (gated with security) beautifully landscaped and maintained. The hotel is spacious and open. The room we had was a standard but very big room. The en-suite was clean and modern. The TV was outdated and there is a need to install the local satellite provider (DSTV.ZA) to enhance the five channels available. Wi-Fi was available at a fee (was common in all five hotels we stayed in)
The breakfast was plentiful and consisted of a very big choice. The dining room was big and they had a lot of staff to cater for our needs. The food was excellent.
The staff throughout this hotel could not have been more friendly and went the extra mile to help with advice regarding local restaurants (made bookings), taxi's and driving directions. The spa was well equipped with knowledgable and experienced staff (experienced gained on cruise ships and in European hotels) but it could do with a covered walkway between hotel reception and spa.
This is a good hotel to use as a base for Stellenbosch, Franschoek and Hermanus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyWikeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

I booked to stay here on Feb 2009 as a surprise for when I proposed to my now wife. I could not have been more impressed with the service - don't be deterred by the fact that there are so many rooms (63) this does not impact the attention you get whatsoever.

A service story: After we got engaged we went for dinner & I requested that when we come back from eating at Rubens the bath and room be filled and littered with rose petals. Not only did they shower the room with many roses, when we walked into the room the bath was run with mountain of bubbles and rose petals sprinkled of top... What was most impressive was that the water was the perfect temperature. Serendipitous I say!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanpa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We loved our stay there, the rooms were very beautiful, the breakfast was 9.5/10, we didn't have a dinner here, but the bar service was a bit too slow...Still would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The room was nicely appointed and spacious and we had a beautiful view of the garden and mountains from our spacious patio. The room was stocked with new magazines but no mini bar though. The bathroom is starting to look a little dated and the TV and satellite is not up to current standards. Staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapdreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear sapdreyer,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am glad that you found our team friendly and helpful and enjoyed our breakfast.
Our new TV's have been ordered and I will certainly look at the channel offering.
I hope that we can welcome you back in future.

Happy holidays,
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A very fine looking hotel but now in need of refurbishment. We were disappointed to find that the 'Spa' had no links with the hotel, it is only in the same grounds, one cannot contact it from the hotel but have to call using an outside line. Everything is chargeable, except use of the outdoor pool, so even using the sauna is an additional charge.

The hotel had been notified of an all day power cut during our stay, but no one thought to inform the guests in advance and the reaction of the staff on inquiry as to the lack of power and heating was less than sympathetic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear John M,

Thank you for your thoughts on Le Franschhoek.
I am happy to report that we are going through a soft refurbishment as we speak.
I am sorry that our staff did not communicate the power failure properly and that this affected your experience. It is not our normal standard and I hope that in time you will be able to forgive us so that we can welcome you back to our hotel.

Happy holidays
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The room was quite spacious and we had a beautiful view of the garden and mountains from our spacious patio. The room was well appointed with new magazines but no mini bar though. Staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Stevie D,

Glad that you enjoyed your experience at Le Franschhoek.
The idea behind our minibars is to request items of your choice and we would stock the fridge accordingly. I am sorry that you were not informed of this. However we are now relooking the concept and might actually start to restock as a standard.

I hope that we will see you soon,
Happy holidays,
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Just spent a weekent at this hotel and absolutely loved it. When we got there they gave us a villa instead of a family room so we had a very spacious house with a kitchen. The rooms were lovely and the view stunning. We had a lovely stay and would definetly go back again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fuzzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear fuzzyb,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your upgrade and our views.
We would be happy to receive you back at le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa.

Happy holidays,
Eben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £97 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing