We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Thank you for an amazing stay at your hotel - we were so impressed with the details as it was my birthday and a half bottle of champagne was waiting for us on arrival and then on our first evening out we came back to a very romantic setting. Rose petals on the bed and an enormous piece of chocolate cake. Stunning - thank you for making us feel very special and looked after.
Gershin was very friendly and we made to feel very comfortable with the whole team at Le Franschoek Hotel - thank you for having a hotel in a beautiful location. We both fell in the love with the area and hope to come back soon for another visit next time we are in SA.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    183
    107
    62
    32
See reviews for
108
324
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I spend a night at le franschhoek everything was very perfect the food the service people that i meet inside the hotel they we very good to me so friendly so I able to make friends the same night. I highly recommend le franschhoek to every one who want to pay a visit in franschhoek

Room Tip: Examples of helpful room tips •"Rooms on the south side are quieter" •"Corner sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silindile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the area, the hotel however is let down by its cold uncomfortable lounge uncomfortsble seating areas and gas heaters instead of real fires and comfy seating. We found out room to be fine and felt we had good service. Gersin ( spelling probably wrong) took care of our day trips which were brilliant he was the star of the show

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvermead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent two nights here in late September and we were very happy with our choice.

The hotel is a little way out of town but accessible in less than five minutes by hire car (easy drive from Cape Town) which we felt was really a necessity to properly enjoy the area as there is a good choice of excellent wine estates, restaurants, boutique shops and scenic drives.

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and everything from bag handling to room features was handled with friendly efficiency. The interior common areas and grounds are excellently maintained and very enjoyable to explore. Breakfast quality, setting and service were exceptionally good.

Our room was very spacious which easily devoured the king-size bed and every amenity was provided. We had a loft suite which afforded extra privacy and a variety of superb views and tasteful furnishings. Yes, there were a few extra stairs but probably just as well to offset the extra weight gain from imbibing too much of Franschhoek’s fine food and wine and the porters were very prompt and efficient with our luggage.

All in all we felt we had a most enjoyable five-star experience with both the area and a hotel to match.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Lexus51

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa. I hope that we can welcome you back in future.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed at Le Franschhoek Hotel as part of my honeymoon tour of South Africa. Upon arrival, on a rainy rainy day, we were met by very friendly and efficient staff at the hotel front desk. As we had arrived fairly late in the afternoon, there was not much for us to do except to consider dinner and an early night. It isn't the most conveniently located so if you have a car, it's a bonus!
We were shown to our room. Bags taken by the gentlemen. A lovely spacious room with a decent sized bathroom (I think if people think these bathrooms are small, maybe they should visit some hotel bathrooms in Singapore or France?!?!?!). Unfortunately for my husband and I, work was banging on our iPhone. Having departed for our honeymoon the day a major review came out at work, we somehow had to find a way to get some work done. We'd left both computers behind as we were on "honeymoon".
We came down and asked if there was a business centre or something similar that we could use. The gentleman at the front desk picked up on our anxiety and offered for us to use his computer. They brought us a wine list so that we could select a bottle of wine to accompany us while we worked. After finding we were there for a honeymoon, he congratulated us, but of course wanted to know why we were working on our honeymoon! Shame he said! Once our work was complete, we retired to our bedroom. Suddenly, there was a bottle of sparkling waiting for us. Very impressive.
We decided to have dinner at the restaurant. Whilst on our way down, we bumped into the gentleman from front desk again. He asked if we found anything? We said, yes, thank you for the bottle of sparkling. "Is that all you got?!?!", he asked with grave disappointment. We replied with yes, come on, how much are you supposed to expect? Really? Dinner was fantastic. Upon returning to our bedroom, our bed was turned down, rose petals on the bed. I was pleasantly shocked, upon going into the bathroom, that they had also poured us a hot bath with petals. Fantastic!
The rest of our stay was very much in line with this. The service was exceptional throughout our stay. They organised a private wine tour for us and our driver was the most hilarious and friendly guy you could ever ask for. Camelot spa was also fantastic. I can also honestly say, Le Franschhoek Hotel provided us with one of the best breakfasts. I love scraping my honey off the honeycomb!!

I cannot fault anything with Le Franschhoek Hotel. I personally had a great experience with them. I think your own experience and level of enjoyment will be very much dependent on your own expectations of them.

We were on honeymoon. We're pretty laid back and just wanted to have a good time away from chaos. This was a perfect place to do that. We didn't arrive with any expectation other to enjoy our time together away as a newly married couple. We got the best of things from Le Franschhoek Hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopskipjumptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear hopskipjumptravel

I am so pleased that we could assist you in creating special memories during your honeymoon. I hope that we will be priviliged to host future anniversaries too!

Happy travels!

P.s. Remember, we are purely the stage and you, our guests, the stars :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

On a very rapid trip across the garden route and didnt spend enough time in the area. But this was the jewel in the crown. The local wine area guide Girschen would has a desk in reception he is a must. It is extra but we got driven around the local area vineyards and met owners and went in the cellers. You should go to Dieu Donne late afternoon with sun going down the views over the valley are staggering and the have a restaurant too. We ate in the hotel which was very good.

Room Tip: rear of the hotel overlooking the grounds from the verandah with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Graham S,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Le Franschhoek and hope that we can welcome you back in future!

Happy Travels
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel in early september. Before writing this review I was mindful of some of the negative comments made by other guests. Firstly Le Franschhoek is a beautiful building with wonderful views of vineyards and mountains resembling an Austrian setting. Our rooms were excellent, clean and tidy. The reception staff were helpful and efficient. The concierge went out of his way to help with trips to wineries and restaurants. The big let down was the service at dinner on the second night. We were one two tables the waitress had to attend to. Her skills were extremely poor, more what you would expect from a cheap city diner. Her attire was poor She spent more time giggling to the chefs and delaying them hence the food was cold. The people at the other table complained I got fed up waiting for her to pour our wine I did it myself This was not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. It's a pity this bad experience colored my view of an otherwise lovely stay. Manager please take note!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Denis E,

The manager has certainly taken note! I am glad that you liked our hotel and most apsects of your stay. I am sorry that the dinner experience was not what it should have been. Please be assured that I will address all the issues you highlighted to ensure that there is no reoccurrence.
I hope that we can welcome you back in future.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing