We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and tranquil hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Calm and tranquil hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel was everything one would expect from a 5* hotel. All of the staff were extremely courteous and polite, just a little reserved. The setting is breathtaking and our room had a double aspect view of the mountains. Security is obviously a concern and nobody gets past the gate until identities have been checked. Whilst we could not fault anything the atmosphere just felt a little sterile.

Room Tip: Room 26 has the most amazing views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammyandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    189
    107
    62
    32
See reviews for
110
333
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was disappointed with Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa having spent 2 nights there this last weekend. It is rated 5* but I felt that it misses out on attention to detail. Unfortunately you get a sense immediately that it is part of a corporate group.it is a pity as the location is beautiful. My bathroom was tiny.The water pressure in the shower was very weak. No special touches like flowers in the lobby/lounge area. The decor is bland and boring, not inviting. No newspapers to read at breakfast. The TV in my room looked like it dated back to the 80's. Will not be staying there again. There are better and more soulful places to stay in Franschhoek

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Beautiful setting. Had a very hearty welcome. Very friendly staff. Lovely view from room. Were spoiled with a hot bath waiting when we returned after a late night out! Definitely worth staying when you are visiting Franschhoek!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunettedvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We arrived late morning and were stopped by a very zealous security man, but I have give him the benefit of the doubt. That was the only downside to our stay though. The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The hotel is spacious and from the first minute of your arrival, you just slide into relax mode. The surroundings are fantastic, so take the time to walk around to soak up the views. The rooms are luxurious and very spacious, with lovely views of the hills. Great base to visit the numerous vineyards and taste the wonderful wines on supply. Spend some time here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 days. Too much to do, see & taste!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcutter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great room in a fab setting. Staff helpful and attentive. Concierge goes out of his way to assist guests. Noted other comments about breakfast but we found it to be pretty good. The room received a bit of noise due to the thatched roof but not enough to spoil our stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper enquire if they have a room which does not have a thatched roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent the weekend in Franschoek at Le Franschoek to enjoy the open gardens. We were not disappointed. We had a garden suite overlooking the vineyards and mountains with a wonderful view of the rising sun. Our room was large and comfortable and although a little weathered it was clean and calming. The four poster bed was comfortable and the bedding was crisp and clean. The hotel is a 5 minute scenic drive out of town. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and breakfast was adequate. We enjoyed our drinks on the veranda and late night coffee (my only complaint are the smokers who are allowed to smoke on the veranda). It was a wonderful spot for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
324 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel set on a beautiful property with gardens and brook. We had a wonderful room high up in a tower with a balconey overlookling the valley. It was heavenly sitting there with a bottle of local wine and watching the sun set! Unfortunately, we had a dinner that was not well executed. The food was good and the wine list had a variety of excellent choices. However, the staff had a difficult time managing a table of 20 on our tour and we waited for over an hour to be served the first course. Three hours for dinner is just too long if you are not a Capetownian used to such a leisurely pace.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balconey overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing