We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 11 December 2012

* Small room, tidy and clean.
* Nice pool area
* Tenniscourt, but no balls or rackets (broken)
* No internet included, you have to pay extra!!! R30 for 30 min.
* Good food (dinner and breakfast)
Overpriced!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonniebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Bonniebe

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and happy to report that we have replaced the tennis rackets and balls. At the moment we only have complimentary wi-fi in the public areas but this year we will be working on having it available in the bedrooms on a complimentary basis too.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel was everything one would expect from a 5* hotel. All of the staff were extremely courteous and polite, just a little reserved. The setting is breathtaking and our room had a double aspect view of the mountains. Security is obviously a concern and nobody gets past the gate until identities have been checked. Whilst we could not fault anything the atmosphere just felt a little sterile.

Room Tip: Room 26 has the most amazing views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammyandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was disappointed with Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa having spent 2 nights there this last weekend. It is rated 5* but I felt that it misses out on attention to detail. Unfortunately you get a sense immediately that it is part of a corporate group.it is a pity as the location is beautiful. My bathroom was tiny.The water pressure in the shower was very weak. No special touches like flowers in the lobby/lounge area. The decor is bland and boring, not inviting. No newspapers to read at breakfast. The TV in my room looked like it dated back to the 80's. Will not be staying there again. There are better and more soulful places to stay in Franschhoek

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Beautiful setting. Had a very hearty welcome. Very friendly staff. Lovely view from room. Were spoiled with a hot bath waiting when we returned after a late night out! Definitely worth staying when you are visiting Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunettedvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We arrived late morning and were stopped by a very zealous security man, but I have give him the benefit of the doubt. That was the only downside to our stay though. The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The hotel is spacious and from the first minute of your arrival, you just slide into relax mode. The surroundings are fantastic, so take the time to walk around to soak up the views. The rooms are luxurious and very spacious, with lovely views of the hills. Great base to visit the numerous vineyards and taste the wonderful wines on supply. Spend some time here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 days. Too much to do, see & taste!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodcutter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great room in a fab setting. Staff helpful and attentive. Concierge goes out of his way to assist guests. Noted other comments about breakfast but we found it to be pretty good. The room received a bit of noise due to the thatched roof but not enough to spoil our stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper enquire if they have a room which does not have a thatched roof
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent the weekend in Franschoek at Le Franschoek to enjoy the open gardens. We were not disappointed. We had a garden suite overlooking the vineyards and mountains with a wonderful view of the rising sun. Our room was large and comfortable and although a little weathered it was clean and calming. The four poster bed was comfortable and the bedding was crisp and clean. The hotel is a 5 minute scenic drive out of town. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and breakfast was adequate. We enjoyed our drinks on the veranda and late night coffee (my only complaint are the smokers who are allowed to smoke on the veranda). It was a wonderful spot for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £100 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing