We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food, vista's and hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Bournemouth
2 reviews
“excellent food, vista's and hospitality.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Never been made more welcome and at home. Room with bathroom and beautiful views, walks in the vinyards and mountains and Franschoek village, excellent wines available at give-away prices and gourmet food comparable with any top hotel in the world.No hesitation in recommending this hotel and area to anybody.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as it is surrounded by mountains, try to get the more secluded chalets on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanoffunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear fanoffunki,

We are very appreciative of your wonderful review. Thank you.
I am pleased that you were made to feel welcome and at home. At Three Cities Le Franschhoek we know how important travel experiences are to our valued guests and when we can contribute towards that, it makes us very proud.

Happy travels
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    192
    109
    63
    32
See reviews for
111
338
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Having initially been very concerned about booking this hotel prior to checking trip advisor for feedback, I was prepared for the worst.

Probably one of the few times where I think raters here have gotten it somewhat wrong.

Yes, there are a few issues with service etc but it is not exclusive to this hotel in the region.

I found the room to be nice and spacious with great beds and a decent bathroom.

The views and setting of the hotel is spectacular.

Maybe having read so many negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. I also think it is unfair to try and compare 5 star hotels across the board.

Yes, the hotel needs a hand here and there and the restaurant is definitely trying to be something it is not. (chef seems unable to manage tables over 6 people) and the quality of the restaurant food is only okay. On the other hand, the bar food is very good.

I would give them one piece of advise.

Don't have your 'managers' just walk around as if they are actually doing anything. I saw them constantly roaming the floors of the hotel. I presume they do this to show that they are in control, but they didn't seem to do anything, sorr

Maybe they should instead lead by example and help the very young staff get up to speed by showing them how it's done ?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Peter K,

I am very glad that you dediced to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleasantly surprised with your experience.
Thank you for your advice in your review. We will definitely take it to heart.

Happy travels
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We went to this hotel first in 2006 to check it out for our wedding and fell in love with it. At this time the hotel had a lovely restauarant Le Verger where you could eat outside in clean and well appointed huts - a great experience. We returned for our wedding March 2007 and hired the entire venue exclusively. Again it was fantastic and our wedding was lovely but the food in Le Verger was noticeably different - Nowhere near as good. In January 2011 we returned to this hotel and found it again noticeably different. Le Verger had gone completely .......Rooms were V expensive (even with a discount as we had complained about a minor error at our wedding.) On leaving and settling our bill we questioned our account as we beleived there was an error with it and the lady on reception was rude and unhelpfull and it ruined our stay to be honest as we left on a negative note. We wanted to complain but i didnt have the time or inclination at this point. We always planned to return to this hotel again on our fairly frequent trips to Cape Town but our last experience and seeing the reviews on here will make us go elsewhere. This is a true shame as the hotel WAS amazing with spectacular service and amazing views , the food was superb and it was every bit a 5 star hotel in a lovely town BUT now it seems for whatever reason they have let it slip ...... we have great memories of the place but wont be returning unfortuantely.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chippsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear ASC_Surrey ,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you liked the ambiance at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa.
I deeply regret that your room was not ready at check in time and would like to assure you that it is not our normal standard. In terms of the issues experienced with the basin and Wi-Fi I would like to apologise that we did not deal with the matter more efficiently. We will soon be implementing the complimentary Wi-Fi in our rooms as well so that should resolve future issues with connectivity.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in future.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

i should have taken note when i telephoned to confirm our booking two weeks before and was informed nobody could help us as they were at lunch!

The place looks great from the outside but that is about the nearest it should get to five stars. If i had looked more carefully i would have noticed that the award they got was for the view, which i have to concede is good. The only other thing to commend are the staff in the breakfast room who were excellent, although perhaps they should tell you that anything other than the last nights washing up water which they serve as coffee with breakfast does cost extra. The porters arnd cleaning staff are also friendly and helpful.

It all falls apart after this:
The door to our room did not fit its frame, with about an inch clearance at the bottom, so no privacy at the front of our room.
The blind in the bathroom was filthy and had obviously been broken for ages without any attempt to repair. The piece of shower trim lying on the shower floor for our entire visit and which had obviously been there for some time was also slightly random.
The huge terrace balcony would have been pleasant except no attempt had been made for privacy screening, which meant that our neigbours could stare straight into our 'superior ' room! They also could stand right outside our window puffing cigarette smoke into our room like some kind of communal hotel smoking room. Thank goodness we had not gone for the cheap rooms!
I fail to see why any guest anywhere in an alleged five star establishment should find in the middle of the night that there is no spare loo roll in the bathroom and having to resort to the box of tissues on the sink unit. The original loo roll was half empty when we arrived anyway.
In a country where we have huge drives for energy conservation to find a hotel that insists on keeping on every light in every public area 24/7, even though the natural sunshine is pouring in, beggars belief.

However, the utlimate shame of the place was saved til last. I had made the reservations under my name, as my mother was our guest over from England. She arrived in the lobby a few minutes before us and had seated herself to wait for us, only to be demanded from the staff how she intended in settling the bill? I do not expect to have to give a five star establishment a lesson that if somebody has made reservations in their name do not ask somebody else to settle a bill. And the response when i pointed this out? Complete incomprehension of the situation and an utter disinterest.

In summary, it is a shame that somewhere as fantastic as Franschhoek has to be let down by a hotel like this. It is also a shame for the few staff who persevere and try to drag this place out of the gutter. If you like hotels which are little more than a motor lodge for coach tourists parading as something smart with very poorly trained front of house staff, then this is your place. If you do not then find an altenative in this beautiful travel hotspot.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Katherine K,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We welcome all reviews because that enables us to better our offering and service to our valued guests.

I am glad that you found our breakfast staff excellent and our porters and housekeepers friendly and helpful. Thanks to your feedback we immediately reverted back to our previous coffee offering. We tried a new brand for a few days and needless to say it was less than appetising!

I am truly sorry about your room and check in experience and would like to assure you that it is not the normal experience at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa.

We believe in a process of small, but continuous improvements and would like to thank you for assisting us to achieve this.

Happy travels
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The views from this hotel are outstanding, but the hotel itself dreadful. The first two staff members we were introduced to had just started that morning! They were more than enthusiastic and this was a common thread running through our stay. One genuinely friendly member of staff was from Ulusaba, worlds apart from LFH. The staff were the gems, but, some needed extra polishing. The food at breakfast was run-of-the-mill. Coffee dull as dish water and if you wanted espresso, you pay extra.

Rooms were presentable, ours (12) was the colour of a naval frigate. For some reason we had two Al Jezeera channels on DSTv!

No spare toilet paper provided. No privacy on balcony. Lights left on in all public areas, even in broad daylight. Staff do not replace any shampoo after use. Pool chairs broken. Simple tasks, like making sure the room clocks are set to the correct local time are over looked.

Staff on checkout really not suited for front of house. No training, no clue, hopeless case.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tkirkbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Tkirkbri,

thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad that you liked our view and regret that you did not enjoy your experience at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa. We did have quite a few new staff members that joined us during January and February and I will certainly take a lesson from this and strengthen our induction process and period.
The issues that you experienced in your room is not our standard and I have taken the appropriate measures with the department to ensure that they live up to our standards at all times. We have embarked on a refurbishment of our terrace and pool area and also reverted back to our regular coffee at breakfast.
Please be assured that we will put renewed energy into our staff training as they have always been our most valuable asset.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen

Happy travels,
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

On arrival hotel buildings and location look fantastic, and there is a general ambiance of high class style. Arrived about one hour early for check-in so room not immediately available. Lunch on terrace was no great hardship. However room still not available one hour after check-in time was not a good start. Room was in loft at end of building and while thatched roof of room looked very attractive, howling winds through night were not conducive to good sleep. After unpacking visit to bathroom to wash hands showed that sink drain plug mechanism was jammed closed so basin would not drain. 90 minutes work by maintenance man did not solve problem although he did manage to open drain such that water would run, although you could not then fill the basin. We elected to make do with this as prospect of re-packing and changing room would have been major upheaval.

Be aware also of a problem with WiFi access in room. It is expensive but advertised as unlimited access for 24 hours. Shortly after starting usage I was disconnected. On checking I was told that this was because I was using two devices on the connection, so if like me you use a smartphone and iPad at same time you will probably have the same problem. Seems a funny definition of unlimited. Answer is not to pay the exorbitant cost but to go downstairs to the lounge where access is free and unlimited.

We ate dinner one night in the main restaurant which was good but expensive. Perhaps that's why we were the only couple in the restaurant for the whole evening. Better and cheaper solution other nights was to use the small pavilions in the orchard.

In summary this stay was like the Curate's egg .... "Good in parts - but ....... "

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASC_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The look/style and the location of this hotel are excellent, but once you get under the skin of this hotel it is a big disappointment. This should not be described as a 5 star hotel - the staff,service,food and the swimming pool are just not upto the task. The hotel seems to be training young recruits on the job- you do not expect to be greeted at reception on your first day by a girl only 5 days in the job, she did her best but that is not good enough. The management need to get their act together and sort out the myriad of problems this hotel has, otherwise it will just fail. The service was just hit and miss- one day impossible to get a drink in the lounge and the next, a few staff who were worked off their feet as a conference was taking place. After the Cape Grace this was a complete let down - we will definitely not be returning and make sure our agent is aware of the problems and so other people are sent there under the chareade this is a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLORIDAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing