We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a wonderful experience in a beautiful setting. Short drive (1 hour) from Cape Town, and 5 minutes from Franschoek village. The standard room is very large and has underfloor heating in the room and bathroom. I had a large balcony, but not all the roms had balconies. The hotel is exquisitely furnished in very modern, fresh, white colours. The spa is outstanding, and I found the most wonderful therapist, Bronwyn. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. The manager, Mr Burgess took personal care of my needs, and I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Most Rooms on the first floor have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa ist an absolutely amazing hotel!!! The staff was so friendly and attending and the breakfast was divine - seriously the best breakfast I've ever had!!! We enjoyed our stay so much and would have loved to stay longer!! I would definitely recommend it to everyone!!

Room Tip: We had a Vineyard Suite which was absolutely beautiful, the view was simply incredible!! Even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

After a two night stay with my wife this past weekend, we were completely blown away. Our room just amazing, the food mouth watering, the hotel itself.. well just beautiful. It was raining the whole time we were there but still we had such an incredible stay. Really beautiful scenery as well, world class! Looking for a getaway to completely rid you of any stress, look no further!

Room Tip: We stayed in the vinard suites, was incredible. But from what Ive heard every room at this place is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were driving the Garden route and were expecting so much and looking forward to staying at this '5 star ' hotel for two nights. The hotel itself is stunning and set in the most beautiful grounds.

It's such a shame that the management and staff don't match the star rating.

On arrival we went out onto the balcony area of our room overlooking the gardens and we noticed a small wasps nest on the door frame of the room next to ours. I carry adrenaline injector as I am allergic to wasp/hornet stings, we called reception and informed them and they said it would be dealt with....it wasn't. the nest was still there two days later when we left.

Evening meals were delivered to the table cold, a waitress in the bar area where we were eating brought a glass of red wine to the table instead of the white that we had ordered, and when we pointed out her mistake she gave stomped off back to the bar and poured half a glass of white and slammed it on our table.

Dirty cups and half full glasses of drinks were left all day attracting flies in the communal hall area outside our room.
The under floor heating wasn't working on the first night, so reception called the man to sort it, which he did after about half an hour, but It then took another hour before the room was warm.

At breakfast on our second morning we felt invisible!.
.We had to call for service after being ignored for about 20 mins and then after a further 25 mins of waiting we saw the chef and kitchen staff come out into the restaurant and start helping themselves to THEIR breakfast! , we abandoned all hope of service, got up and walked out of the restaurant in disgust.

A lady working on reception saw us and asked if everything was alright, we told her of our experience and disappointment and she deducted all costs for meals and drinks when we went to pay our bill.
We would rather have had the service and experience we EXPECTED from a 5 star hotel and paid for it.

The same lady came running out of reception as I was getting into the driver's seat of our hire car and gave us a bottle of red wine and offered us her apologies.
Management really should shape up and get their act together, this hotel could be fantastic if the staff were trained to the standard expected.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel and book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of February, our room was a bit tired on arrival, after politely asking if there was anything better we was moved to a lovely room with fantastic views. No charge. The staff even noticed it was my wife's birthday and we had champagne and roses left in the room. It's not often that you see the management out in the hotel and clearing plates etc when needed. Well done and if we are back in franschoek again we will return.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank luckytravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice, tucked away at the back of Franschoek. We loved the mountain views and the quiet elegance. We received a 5 star welcome. There are some areas in the hotel that need some maintenance but the overall picture is one of luxury and french flair. Breakfast is a delight and supper at Dish is a must. Rooms are clean and well equipped. We will recommend this hotel to anyone. We were just wondering about the spa? No one made any suggestions or promotions. Do they still have a spa?!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Minnaars,

we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa!
I am also very happy to report that the Spa is still with us and I am sorry that it was not brought to your attention.
I hope that we can welcome you back soon to our corner!

Happy travels
Eben Lassen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We only had one nigh at Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa and upon arrival were thrilled with it's appearance and ambience . Nestled in the foothills of the Franschhoek mountains the location is beautiful as is the thatched hotel. Unfortunately for us our experience was very much let down by the service and the policy of the hotel. It is situated 3 to 4 kms out of the town and has no courtesy service to or from the town. On our arrival we had to request someone to deal with our luggage. The reception staff were surly and didn't provide any welcome.

In the room which was first class there were a couple of other things that I wouldn't expect from a 5 star hotel. Wifi wasn't complimentary, tea and coffee in the room was charged for, there was no mini bar, and the TV couldn't be properly viewed due to the post of the bed.

At dinner in the fine dining restaurant we arrived at our booking time of 7pm and there wasn't anybody in the restaurant. We sat on a sofa for 15 minutes and then asked a passing maid if the restaurant was open...it was and 5 minutes later a waiter showed us to our table.

At breakfast a cafe latte has to be paid for as an extra and my wife complained having waited 30 minutes for an omelette to be delivered.

The hotel offers much but the service didn't meet the 5 stars the hotel has attracted. I fear that if this continues then stars will be deducted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £108 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing