We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Franschhoek Hotel not five star and not great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We booked to stay at Le Franschhoek Hotel for 6 days as part of a package from Kulula.com. It is a decent hotel but very far from 5 star and therefore not good value for money. You would do far better to stay in a 5 star hotel in Cape Town where the service is of the level expected.

I've listed the pros and cons below of our experience to help provide an overview of what we experienced:

Pros
1. The rooms are big and comfortable
2. The staff is friendly
3. The location is beautiful
4. Franschhoek offers some really great restaurants like Haute Cabrierre and French Connection
5. The breakfast is very good and although the service isn't the best (you ask for tea and coffee and it never arrives, they close early although they say it is open until 10:30am - so get there by 10am), the actual food is delicious.
6. The bed is comfortable and big
7. There is underfloor heating which in winter (May-August) is really great. They have underfloor heating in both the bedroom and the bathroom and it makes a big difference.
8. They also have air conditioners which in summer will help regulate the temperature.
9. They have a mini-bar fridge, kettle and stock up on tea and coffee regularly.

Cons
1. The biggest problem is that if there is a company function at the hotel you will be a very far second - they will cater solely for a corporate event and are unapologetic about it.
--For example, they booked out the restaurant for an event and closed it to other hotel guests. No alternative plan was made and we were simply told it was closed, we were not informed and had to make another plan that evening. They were not willing to set up a table for us in the other dining area, our only option was to sit at a coffee table and use a bar menu (burger, sandwiches and pizzas). We booked this hotel because we were told they had a good fine dining restaurant and we were denied this opportunity.
2. Quiet - the rooms are not very quiet if there is an event hosted at the hotel.
--Guests played music in the hotel until 10:30pm (which you can hear from your room even if you book a suite) and then later in their rooms until 12am. Many of the guests were drunk and there was a fight outside our room from 12-12:30am. They also mow the lawn at 8am in the mornings outside your room so you are not able to sleep in.
3. Parking - not all the rooms have parking close to the rooms - so make sure you get a room with a parking spot. Especially if you are old or disabled in any way - the walk is downhill or alternatively down and up steps.
4. No microwave in the room (if you want to heat up your own food this will not be possible)
5. Poor staff training - whilst the staff are very friendly they are poorly trained. We had 2 days with no toilet paper - when I asked if someone could come through to assist I was told that house keeping had left so he would find out if someone could assist. Be prepared to buy your own toilet paper :).

Overall this is not a terrible hotel but it certainly does not justify the price tag. It is a great location and you have a super view of the mountain but if you are expecting 5 star service you'll need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Find a room with parking outside or close by. If you book a suite ask for one that is as far away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Everything about Le Franschhoek Hotel is fabulous. The rooms, the common areas, the grounds, the staff, the food, the spa, all are five star. If they would only provide free wireless internet in the rooms it would be perfect. (I know that sounds petty, but the time difference and high cell phone charges make e-mail or internet phone calling the way to stay in touch with home and business when as far away from the U.S. as Franschhoek). We bought wine and food in Franschhoek, then ate it in the evening sitting on our balcony looking at the beautiful surrounding mountains. A truly memorable picnic! The SA winelands are gorgeous and are the equal of any wine country in the U.S. or Europe. Le Franschhoek hotel is a great way to experience them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a wonderful experience in a beautiful setting. Short drive (1 hour) from Cape Town, and 5 minutes from Franschoek village. The standard room is very large and has underfloor heating in the room and bathroom. I had a large balcony, but not all the roms had balconies. The hotel is exquisitely furnished in very modern, fresh, white colours. The spa is outstanding, and I found the most wonderful therapist, Bronwyn. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. The manager, Mr Burgess took personal care of my needs, and I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Most Rooms on the first floor have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa ist an absolutely amazing hotel!!! The staff was so friendly and attending and the breakfast was divine - seriously the best breakfast I've ever had!!! We enjoyed our stay so much and would have loved to stay longer!! I would definitely recommend it to everyone!!

Room Tip: We had a Vineyard Suite which was absolutely beautiful, the view was simply incredible!! Even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

After a two night stay with my wife this past weekend, we were completely blown away. Our room just amazing, the food mouth watering, the hotel itself.. well just beautiful. It was raining the whole time we were there but still we had such an incredible stay. Really beautiful scenery as well, world class! Looking for a getaway to completely rid you of any stress, look no further!

Room Tip: We stayed in the vinard suites, was incredible. But from what Ive heard every room at this place is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were driving the Garden route and were expecting so much and looking forward to staying at this '5 star ' hotel for two nights. The hotel itself is stunning and set in the most beautiful grounds.

It's such a shame that the management and staff don't match the star rating.

On arrival we went out onto the balcony area of our room overlooking the gardens and we noticed a small wasps nest on the door frame of the room next to ours. I carry adrenaline injector as I am allergic to wasp/hornet stings, we called reception and informed them and they said it would be dealt with....it wasn't. the nest was still there two days later when we left.

Evening meals were delivered to the table cold, a waitress in the bar area where we were eating brought a glass of red wine to the table instead of the white that we had ordered, and when we pointed out her mistake she gave stomped off back to the bar and poured half a glass of white and slammed it on our table.

Dirty cups and half full glasses of drinks were left all day attracting flies in the communal hall area outside our room.
The under floor heating wasn't working on the first night, so reception called the man to sort it, which he did after about half an hour, but It then took another hour before the room was warm.

At breakfast on our second morning we felt invisible!.
.We had to call for service after being ignored for about 20 mins and then after a further 25 mins of waiting we saw the chef and kitchen staff come out into the restaurant and start helping themselves to THEIR breakfast! , we abandoned all hope of service, got up and walked out of the restaurant in disgust.

A lady working on reception saw us and asked if everything was alright, we told her of our experience and disappointment and she deducted all costs for meals and drinks when we went to pay our bill.
We would rather have had the service and experience we EXPECTED from a 5 star hotel and paid for it.

The same lady came running out of reception as I was getting into the driver's seat of our hire car and gave us a bottle of red wine and offered us her apologies.
Management really should shape up and get their act together, this hotel could be fantastic if the staff were trained to the standard expected.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel and book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of February, our room was a bit tired on arrival, after politely asking if there was anything better we was moved to a lovely room with fantastic views. No charge. The staff even noticed it was my wife's birthday and we had champagne and roses left in the room. It's not often that you see the management out in the hotel and clearing plates etc when needed. Well done and if we are back in franschoek again we will return.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank luckytravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
58 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £111 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing