We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Break Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic Break Away”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is situated on beautiful grounds and the service is great - the breakfast staff and porters are extremely helpful and friendly. The staff can really be complimented for making our stay enjoyable. Room service was efficient. We received a nice celebratory gift for spending our anniversary there. Rooms are comfortable and well equiped - just missed some teaspoons for coffee.

Negatives: charging for wifi (its the year 2013... no one charges for wifi anymore) and the check-out is 10:00 - which is extremely early and then also charging for a late check out.

We had a good spa experience - only issue was that there were kids there and you could hear them talking and playing - spoiling the relaxing atmosphere a bit. The spa (like all Camelot spas) is also overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnndeeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    195
    110
    65
    32
See reviews for
114
340
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in Le Franschhoek when visiting the winelands on our honeymoon and all I can say is WOW. I was absolutely blown away by its uniquenes and beauty. We were met in reception by a staff member who arranged to have our bags brought to the room while they gave us a tour of the hotel. On arrival to our room we got a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, chocolates and a personalised welcome note waiting in our room. The room was stunning, so different and very comfortable.
The staff was very friendly and helpful they orgniased a guide for a private wine tasting tour for the following day, which was an fantastic experience. The tour started at 10am, we visited 3 vineyards throughout the day and the guide booked us lunch in the Solms-Delta resturant and made a reservation for us in Reubens restaurant in Franschhoek for that night.
We booked in for a spa treatment in camelot spa and it was like being in another world, my therapist was wonderful, when they heard we were on honeymoon they presented us with champagne and chocolates when we arrived back to the relaxation room after our treatments, it was just what we needed.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night and the food was exquisite, such a lovely athmosphere in the restaurant When we returned from dinner we had a desert left for us in our room. The breakfast was excellent and the room service was great. Overall we had a wonderful stay, if going again we would have booked another night.Higely recommmend a visit here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starinthesky1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, including having heated floors! There's a control next to the door for that. It certainly makes putting your feet on the floor in the morning very nice. The hotel is a bit out of the city center, so you might need to drive to get to shopping. The dinner I had in the restaurant was amazing. The only negative was that it took a very long time to eat (we were in a group of 16, but we ordered off a small three course menu, and it took over 2.5 hours for dinner). We didn't have anywhere to go, but still, that's a long time to sit! We were only there for a night, but it really is a great place, and our room was huge. Breakfast was included and very nicely done.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StraightTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Beautifully renovated hotel. We had our honeymoon here many many years ago and came back to celebrate our wedding anniversary. White, light and bright decor. Breakfast fantastic. Buffet and a la carte. Friendly staff. Would prefer undercover parking especially during the Rainy winter season. Hotel close to top South African Restaurants

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This beautiful hotel is in the heart of South African wine valley. It's an exceptionally designed, maintained business hotel which caters to family audience as well.

Once again, it was a shame that we could spend only a night while on our way to Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We went fr 1 night with 2 young kids and ha a family suit. Very big and more like a house! Whilst its not the most child friendly hotel the staff were great with the kids. We also had a birthday and the hotel did some amazing little birthday touches! Great romantic hotel! Spa was also great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We chose the middle of winter to excape to the exquisite Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa, nestled in the winelands at the base of the majestic Franschoek Mountains for a romantic getaway. We couldn’t have made a better choice! From our arrival until our departure we were pampered by and given individual attention by a warm, passionate, team of professionals – from the General Manager to the cleaning staff. Our room was large and comfortable, with under floor heating, own balcony king size bed, and all the expected facilities that make a home away from home. Most of our meals were taken at the fireside where we enjoyed outstanding cuisine; and the wine list was commendable. The hotel decor is stylish and sophisticated, and the gardens are glorious – even in the middle of winter! The Hotel Spa, Camelot, was idyllic, offering a wide range of therapies. We particularly enjoyed the decadent 2 hour couples treatment. The surrounding wine estates and the charming town were a delight to explore, and we can whole-heartedly recommend this venue for business or pleasure. Thank you again to all the staff who gave us a holiday that wonderful memories are made of! x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing