We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel focuses on the finer details, fresh macaroons, handcrafted chocolate, quality coffee in rooms. Grounds and buildings are in perfect condition, staff friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast, fair lunches, but barbeque supper not so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    195
    110
    65
    32
See reviews for
114
342
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice is an ideal word to describe this hotel. Not brilliant, but not bad either. My wife and I were in a room in the grounds and not in the main building, and we were pleased about this. The rooms were big and comfortable and quiet. We slept very well each night. The service was good and the grounds magnificent. Just 3 drive minutes from the village of Franschhoek and close to all the local wind estates, golf courses, etc. A good wine list at the hotel but definitely on the pricy side. The same bottle of wine that cost me R750 in a Cape Town restaurant cost over R1,100 here (and the actual wine estate that produces this particular wine is probably only about 15 Kms away from this hotel, if not less). We did expect more from the food. The breakfasts were nice but not on a par with other 5 star hotels I've stayed in. I could easily stay here again based on the good service, sleep quality and location but the food and beverage section needs to be looked at.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are smaller but more central. The rooms on the grounds are larger but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is beautiful. I can't say enough good things. Breakfast is excellent, rooms are lovely and staff are impeccable. We also ate in the hotel restaurant called Dish and it was delicious. Highly recommended. One thing to be aware of though......this hotel hosts conferences and on our second day a very large and very loud group checked in and spoiled it somewhat, still that's not the hotel's fault. I just wish people would behave better in such a lovely setting.

Room Tip: If you upgrade your room you get a private terrace, but the standard rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Despite the resort having a 5 star rating the service, especially in the rooms is far from 5 star quality.

Let us start with the good parts, although a bit spread out the hotel is functional, luckily the weather was good for us because I was not aware of any umbrellas in the rooms to get to and from the main hotel which I would have expected of a 5 star establishment. However the gardens are beautiful and the dining area light and well laid out. Breakfast was all that you could ask for and our chubby F&B Manager did his rounds of meet and greet with aplomb. The staff were polite but hardly gave one that warm and fuzzy feeling that one comes to expect.

The rooms however were a different kettle of fish! Whilst I am aware we weren’t in a suite the service left much to be desired! On one evening we had no clean towels at 7.30 pm and had to phone for them. When they arrived the bath mat was almost threadbare and had frayed edges – 5 stars I don’t think! Beneath the bed on the upstairs landing was a lonely complimentary slipper, it lay on its own the whole three days we were there! They was only one bin for the whole area – a little forlorn broken peddle bin in the bathroom next to a damp damaged wall!!

Thank heavens we used it only as a base and thrived on the excellent eateries that Franschhoek has to offer.

The Three Cities Group need a wake-up call on this resort!

Room Tip: Not room 34!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night and I'm glad it wasn't more. The hotel is in a remote location. We stayed in an out building and had to walk to the main building to the restaurant. It was windy and at night an exterior door wasn't closed properly and banged all night. No staff members check the outbuildings. They say you have to dress for their restaurant but nobody does. My friend and I wore sport coats, our wives were dressed nicely. Men came in jeans. If you are going to have a dress code, enforce it. The rooms were nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel and rooms are looking tired. Food was really bad and service needs improvement. Lovely location. Franchhoek was divine. In future I'll look for alternate accommodation. (if you pay for 5 star and expect it, you'll be disappointed).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieterBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The setting and backdrop to the hotel is fantastic. Beautiful views and the gardens are a delight to wonder around. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a cold evening when we arrived and I felt the hotel could have had the fires going in the reception area as well as the lounges in an effort to warm the hotel up and create a bit more ambiance. Our room was huge and had lovely underfloor heating. We had a full bathroom with shower and bath and twin basins. The room was equipped with a filter coffee machine as well as a kettle with a supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk. The La Verger restaurant would be magical in the summer months I would imagine although there were some eternal romantics who had arranged to have dinner in one of the outside conservatories even though it was freezing. Each conservatory is equipped with a heater and fold down sides so I'm sure it can get quite cosy in there on a winters evening....great for honeymooners or a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizC312612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing