We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 4 Star at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Solid 4 Star at best”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

As noted by others, the hotel has spectacular grounds and very good views. This is the upside. The downside is that it is seriously over-priced, has average service and poor food quality. If you are going to spend $550 per night like we did I'd suggest you do your homework - we simply left it too late and this was one of the few properties with vacancy. I'd rate it a solid 4 star by SA standards - not a 5 star experience. Definitely try to get a room with a terrace.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountain view with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    192
    109
    63
    32
See reviews for
111
338
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in March 2012 with some family. I remember the room being gorgeous, one of the ones with a private terrace. We got turn down service every night. The breakfast was really good, I was quite happy with it. The grounds themselves are amazing, the approach to the main entrance from the road is breath taking. It is on the edge of town but I enjoyed it as it was a pleasant walk or very short taxi ride. I felt safe walking to and from the hotel into Franschoek. We only ate breakfast in the hotel - in my opinion hotel restaurants are never that great and there are so many fabulous places to eat elsewhere, I would recommend eating off property.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Trust me when i say this is NOT a 5 star hotel. It is an average 4 star with lots wrong. Unenjoyable food, average cocktails, poor service, an unbelievably tired building. Rotting doors, dirty menus. Just not fair to trick guests into thinking they coming to a 5 star experience. Not good enough.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Mr Hanan,

Thank you very much for your time this morning. It was most disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and for this please accept my sincere apologies. Please be assured that the shortcomings experienced is not the order of the day and that as a management team we continually push the envelope to deliver exceptional experiences to all our guests.

We will therefore address your valid points as a matter of urgency to ensure an improved product and service delivery for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but we loved our room and specially the view of the mountains from both the room and the bathroom. Check-in was swift and concierge showed us around the property, beautiful gardens. The outside dining area was undergoing maintenance - pity as we looked forward to having dinner there. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If budget allows book a garden suite - best mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riaan-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Spent a couple of days days here as part of a trip through the Western Cape. Its a little out of town, like some other of the hotels in the area, but not too far, stylishly decorated with a speadout and perhaps quirky layout. Our room was in the 2nd floor attic area, medium sized and tastefully comfortable, (great high ceiling into the thatched roof!). One of the resturants (Verger) was closed for maintenance during our stay but the one that was open (Dish) provided good food and service, which given the dining options available nearby was on par in terms of value for money. Concierge service was very good at arranging transport and booking for lunch in another venue on our tour round the vinyards. Overall I would stay here again and thought it good value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headofstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I travel alot for my job in the states and I felt I was at a convention center. We stayed a couple of nights here to enjoy wine country. There was also a large business meeting going on at the hotel. The service was ok, but nothing special. The food was ok, but again nothing special. Our room was on the 2nd floor in the main building and was average. I would recommend looking at other options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spindygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Second time we pop in for drinks and the second time we wait for 15+ for them to arrive. We were planning on having lunch but decided to rather have it elsewhere. Dom Pedro with Amaretto was not worth the price. Could hardly taste the Amaretto. Huge improvements needed in service. Will miss the beautiful view and decor but it is not enough to make up for the irrations that come with the lack of 5 star service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelJCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing