We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LE FRANSCHHOEK: A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 22 April 2014

LE FRANSCHHOEK: A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN

This is La Belle France in the South Africa’s Western Cape - framed by magical mountains; surrounded by landscaped greenery and steeped in history – Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has it all (and 4 stars to complete the picture).
Travel through the delightful village of Franschhoek - tourist’s paradise and vacationers Mecca – towards the towering Huguenot Monument (memorial to the French Huguenots who fled persecution in the religious wars after King Henry IV revoked the Edict of Nantes in France) and, turning right, head for the hills.
The winding road continues, through breathtaking scenery, until you reach the very base of the towering peaks – and there perched above, flags fluttering in the wind, rises the majestic, thatched hostelry that is a monument in itself. Smiling security staff will jump to attention and guide you towards the ample parking bays; reception staff will swan out of double-height glass doors to welcome you, and birdsong in the beautiful, backdrop of trees, will delight.
Whether you choose to overnight, indulge in a French-style meal, or simply take tea, with rich cheesecake or freshly baked scones drenched in heavy jam and clotted cream – you could not be made to feel more welcome. The reception rooms are a dream of white tiled floors, mirrors, white orchids and deep easy chairs; the bedrooms are regal and the gardens and large swimming pool are mega inviting. This deserves a visit and you can even imagine yourself in a small corner of France.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Relais-Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Beautiful location, very reasonable. It was our favorite hotel on our 10 day trip to South Africa. From the moment you arrive the staff are welcoming, the smell all over the hotel I think of vanilla is exquisite! The thatched roof allows for the ceilings in the rooms to be open, high ceiling with beautiful beams and thatch. The bed was comfortable. The pool area was delightful for a relaxing afternoon. We had drinks and and cheese plate outside, a lovely dinner in the restaurant and the breakfast was also excellent. Our favorite part of the entire experience was the Couples, Bali massage at the spa! where we were massaged scrubbed and exfoliated! smothered in warm yogurt and hen bathed in a huge double bath while drinking a glass of champagne. We were in Heaven. Entire experience was fantastic I will recommend and hope that one day we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Delphine J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us especially seeing it was the highlight of your holiday accommodation.

I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

OK, it is not in town and you have to drive a few minutes but it's worth it. We had a set menu as part of a package deal and sometimes this option is not to everyone's satisfaction. But in this case everything was perfect. The selection of the courses was great and complimented each other and all 5 courses were absolutely fantastic. Perfect in size and flavor. The butternut soup was a dream and the beef fillet was the best I had in a very long time (and I eat a lot of fillets). Even the apple torte tartin which sounded like nothing special was outstanding. Just a pity that the restaurant was so empty. It deserves a lot more food lovers

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JogM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for two nights. We did get a complementary half bottle of fizz, which was lovely. The hotel is nice but location is poor as it's too far out of town to walk and there is no complementary car offered. They do have a local driver that does the run for 100r which was fine.
Check in was poor, they couldn't find our reservation which seems to be a regular thing as we hard another couple being told the same later that day. There were four people working most times at reception, way to many.
Breakfast was tasty but dinner was only ok. The hotel don't deal with cash, never had change so it's hard to tip or pay with cash. The staff were very friendly and nice.
The pool area was not well kept but looked lovely in the morning but unfortunately after lunch the area could be cleaned up with fresh towels etc.
There is wifi but only at the end of the lounge/bar area not all over the bar or hotel. Which was a little annoying.
Our room was nice but as there was a thatched roof and carpet we found afew bugs in the room. The carpet could have been cleaned a little bit better.

All in all we had a an average stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Staff were courteous, helpful and very professional. A special mention must go to Andrew the concierge who gave us excellent advice on vineyards to visit and the best roads to choose.
Food was of a very good standard and the grounds were immaculate.
Rooms were very nice with plenty of space.
We were originally given rooms 1 and 15 but there was noise from the kitchen and we asked for a move. This was done with no fuss.
The hotel had lovely features including a thatched roof and exposed beams. The public areas were beautifully appointed with very comfortable sofas and chairs.
There is a courtesy taxi service to the town.
All in all a very nice experience in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is hidden in Franschhoek, and gives one a sense of peaceful and serenity. This is a good hotel and serves great breakfast. The hotel is well maintained. While breakfast is excellent, dining falls short and can be improved. Ample parking and a good spa complete the offerings. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Globegourmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I am attending a wedding in the area. I am here with my 6 year old and 8 year old boys. I got a room with a loft: a double bed for me & 2 single beds for my boys. It was perfect!! Got back to our room on the 1st night and there was milk & cookies waiting for them next to their beds. The kids were super excited! Very clean rooms & comfortable beds... I would totally recommend this hotel for couples or families with kids.... Cosy is the first word that comes to mind when you get here!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £101 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing