We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights.The chef at the restuarant prepared world class meals.We had a lovely chat with the restaurant manager whilst waiting for our meal.He filled us in on the ins and outs of the scenic town.The staff is very friendly.The views of the mountains are extraordinary.The rooms are spacious.When visiting Franschoek,I dont think there is a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear clemkat,

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when our guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Chris Snyman
General Manager
Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel And Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We only spent 1 night at Le Franschhoek, could have done with a few more for sure. It was a very wet and cold weekend but our room was snug and warm with underfloor heating, a lovely big kingsize bed with all the goodies you would expect from a four star hotel. The fire in the reception area as well as the bar were not on which was a pity as I do think there would have been more people milling about if the general areas were warm. Breakfast was great, enough variety but the juices are terribly thick. Staff happy and smiling. We loved our night away in the winelands and this hotel is really pretty.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms at the top of the hotel are lovely, the ones with baconies are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Travelbabe40,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed there for 2 days and loved the food completely. The location is just superb while the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is very warm and always ready to help. Highly recommended to all my friends and family. The Executive Chef Scott Shepherd knows his business very well and is on top of it.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good view, go for rooms on the 2nd floor such as 15, 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Shadzad K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Le Franschhoek for business and I was blown away at the level of service and accommodation. When I went to my room there was some jazz playing which created a really nice vibe. The rooms were fantastic and a nice touch was the coffee machines and pods which was delicious. Great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Richard W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with our associates and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This has been my 4th visit to this Hotel with clients and once again I depart a happy and contented person.
From the time I arrived at the gate till departure it was excellent service all the way.
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: All Rooms have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zs1rap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear zs1rap,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A beautiful hotel in the most gorgeous setting. The decor in the public areas and in the rooms are understated and tasteful. The outside patio, gardens and pool are gorgeous and all surrounded by mountains and huge trees. Pity about removing so many couches from the outside patio and replacing it with tables and chairs. The outside lounge area was one of the best features of the hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant the night and the food was really good.

But like everything the beauty and setting does not make up for the terrible service. Check in was fine but from there it went downhill. Getting lunch outside on the patio was a mission, we walked around looking for staff, once we found one we had to ask for menus. Then we had to get up twice to ask someone to please come and take our orders.
The evening in restaurant was even worse. We were literally falling asleep around the dinner table waiting for our main course.

I will be back because it is one of my favourite places in Franschoek, but a beautiful tastefully decorated hotel and the perfect setting with poor service will only get you so far.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony, we were in room 20 with the mopst awesome view onto the mountains from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazy-henk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear lazy-henk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is most disheartening to note, the poor service levels experienced during your recent stay.

As a management team we continually push the envelope to deliver exceptional experiences and in this instance have clearly erred. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced and be assured that this is not the levels of service we continually pride ourselves.

Please be so kind as to contact me directly for your next reservation in order for me to extend the necessary courtesies.

Kind Regards

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at Three Cities' Le Franschoek Hotel and Spa in the main building on the last floor (there are many rooms spread out throughout the gorgeous gated property), for seven nights, and had a wonderful stay. Our spacious room had beautiful vaulted ceilings, a beautiful 180 degree view on the valley and the swimming pool, a nice balcony, a comfortable bed and turn-down service every night. The public areas are cozy, inviting and meticulously kept, and the service was very friendly and professional. Breakfast was lovely and could be taken on one of the pleasant tables outside. The premises have spa facilities and tennis courts, but we didn't use them. We also very much appreciated the free shuttle to downtown Franschoek, a mere 5mn drive from the hotel. We can't think of any flaw for Le Franschoek, maybe except for the very slow, but free, internet connection...but with so many things to see in the area, there was no reason to spend time online anyways! We would definitely recommend this hotel and beautiful Franschoek to anyone traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear heiranig,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £107 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing