We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 5 August 2014

La Franshoek I should definitely say is by far the best winter holiday accommodation I have been to and when I say that I don’t just mean that they are great in winter only but for me they were absolutely ideal for a winter getaway.

We arrived the Friday evening and were welcomed by very friendly staff at reception who checked us in within a matter of minutes, no waiting time or any admin fuss. The fire place close to the reception area warms the entire reception area and makes you feel like you at home. Once we were checked in, they escorted us to our room and took our bags up. It was extremely cold that Friday with a cold front that hit Cape Town, when we got to our rooms the staff set the aircon and under floor heating prior to our arrival so by the time we got there it was cosy and warm.

The carpet and soft bedding just adds to the room being more cosy than what it’s supposed to be and immediately made me want to get in bed and snooze away. We had dinner at all restaurants during our stay and the Saturday we spent the day at the market.

I was just surprised that they do not allow irons from their house keeping into the rooms, they collect it from you and charge you for ironing it. Then again that doesnt count if your expresso coffee machine in your room makes the best expresso! I wasnt too bothered about the ironing actually..

Everything were 5 star, the service, the food just everything! I would like to experience it in Summer, the backdrop of the mountains is certainly a sight to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandre-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Chandre-CPT,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when our guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will most definitely share your comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Kind Regards

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

As an outside guest who just pitched up for breakfast I was very impressed. I was met at the door by the doorman and then again by the Hostess who showed us to the table. The fireplace was a great touch and very welcoming considering it was around 6 degrees outside.

The buffet spread is just amazing with emphasis on fresh foods. I loved the fact I could also order off the breakfast set menu as well as help myself to the buffet.

Well done to the Chef and Staff for making my Sunday brunch a great one

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Seano1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Seano1495,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in a very average room. The hotel is quite old and so the rooms were not 'flash' at all. However, everything was spotlessly clean, the room was very warm (it was freezing in Franschoek!) and we had everything we could have asked for. However, whenever we asked anything of the staff - be it room service, bar service, reception etc etc, they all went above and beyond. They were accommodating and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarriiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear CarriiG,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I do not understand why this hotel has such a low rating.We had a great weekend 27,28 june and as it was my b,day we really enjoyed a great stay and perfect service!We used to go to the Swiis Farm Exelsior(old name)for dancing on a sat. night!The mountain view is spectacular,spa world class
and the rooms are superb.Franschoek remain a town with fantastic food and wine.

Room Tip: The shuttle offered was very expensive,ask how much before using it.It is not a hotel shuttle,but an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBLEROUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear JBLEROUX,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The last time we were at this venue but not this hotel - it was the Swiss Farm Excelsior - we were honeymooners. 20 years later we decided to treat ourselves - and a treat it was. Staff very friendly and enthusiastic. Food and ambience at fine dining restaurant was 5 star and breakfast was a treat. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to soak up the country atmosphere of Franschhoek in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaCapeTown2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear MelissaCapeTown,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights.The chef at the restuarant prepared world class meals.We had a lovely chat with the restaurant manager whilst waiting for our meal.He filled us in on the ins and outs of the scenic town.The staff is very friendly.The views of the mountains are extraordinary.The rooms are spacious.When visiting Franschoek,I dont think there is a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear clemkat,

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when our guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Chris Snyman
General Manager
Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel And Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We only spent 1 night at Le Franschhoek, could have done with a few more for sure. It was a very wet and cold weekend but our room was snug and warm with underfloor heating, a lovely big kingsize bed with all the goodies you would expect from a four star hotel. The fire in the reception area as well as the bar were not on which was a pity as I do think there would have been more people milling about if the general areas were warm. Breakfast was great, enough variety but the juices are terribly thick. Staff happy and smiling. We loved our night away in the winelands and this hotel is really pretty.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms at the top of the hotel are lovely, the ones with baconies are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Travelbabe40,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £108 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing