We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 16 March 2009

My husband & I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Le Franschhoek hotel this weekend. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! We spent all weekend in the hotel grounds, at the pool or at the Le Verger restaurant for dinners both evenings. We felt it unnecessary to go out to the town as the restaurants were stunning and offered something to suit everyone. The staff are exceptionally friendly. We will definitly be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    195
    110
    65
    32
See reviews for
114
340
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We were staying in Franschhoek town/village and went to Le Franschhoek Hotel for dinner. We liked the atmosphere and decided to check-in the following night.

The hotel is great. It has a lovely feel about it and the restaurants are different, interesting and high quality. The staff are very friendly, attentive and helpful.

Unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to use the spa as we already had arrangements but if I was in the area again, I would definately come back to this hotel, stay longer and make the most of all it has to offer.

The only downsides are that it is over priced but you may be able to get deals if you plan in advance, which we didn't, and the bedroom we had was quite small, although very very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid-wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Impressive hotel - efficient check in - Good spa - thats about all the good points.

we booked a villa for the 3 of us - large 2 floor villa - bedrooms very small with the main ensuite room only having a small double bed. The bathrrom fittings were of a poor cheap standard.

Service - I dont know where to start - basically there wasnt any - the young staff are totally inexpereiced - it took 25 mins to get a glass of red wine and when it arrived it was actually hot - apparently they had run out of it in the bar and had to find some from the greenhouse resturant - hence it was very warm.

The greenhouse resturant - worst food all holiday - service terrible, no bread served, ordered soup and salads ( had a lovely lunch at petite ferme so fortunatley not hungary) - had to send them back - totally not as described and the dressing was like a thick sludge - disgusting. Manager not at all interested.

Breakfast - I have had better in a cheap motel - it was like a makeshift arrangement - 1 chef attempting to make omlettes on some camp stove - pathetic.

Very over rated - check ed out as soon as possible and cancelled my second night.
Fortunately managed to find a fantastic hotel on a wine estate called Asara Hotel - Relais & chateaux - apporx 15 miles away - would not hesitate to recommend this one.

Dont waste your money and stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We (my wife, 18month old son and another couple) have just returned from South Africa including four wonderful nights at Le Franschhoek.
We stayed in one of the two Villas with there being four adults and it was incredible. A full longe, kitchen and downstairs toilet, upstairs two beutifully appointed bedrooms with high thatched ceilings and each with an ensuite. The views were breathtaking.
We found the staff to be courteous, friendly and extremely efficient adding to the hotels overall atmosphere of relaxed quality.
I've read some of the other reviews and can sympathise with comments about the rooms. Whilst we stayed we asked to see the suites in case my wife and i returned on our own and we thought they were a little small.
We only ate at Le Verger (the less formal of the two restaurants). We had a lovely dinner but the lunch was a disappointing with one of our meals being delivered to the wrong table causing a delay and another being served only just warm and needing to go back - it was Valentine's Day and i think the staff were more concerned with getting ready for dinner which is frankly no excuse. However, this really was the only blemish on an otherwise fantastic few days.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JADB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We were amazed at how lovely this hotel was, and we travel a lot. Not too large to be personal, and not too small as to be invasive. The room was large, well appointed, with a large verandah overlooking the pool and vineyards. The bathroom marble & lovely with good light. Quality linens and bath products. The breakfast buffet was stunning to look at and eat. All services were first class. I cannot say enough about how beautiful the grounds are. I'm going to attempt to upload some photos.

  • Liked — Lovely ambience
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HBTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We had a terrible experience at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone! We had a series of bad experiences, with the hotel, it's staff and levels of service, the restaurant attached to it (Le Verger) and our suite.
The "suite" is no more than a double room with 2 arm chairs in it, a basic bathroom and rather stark decor. We had stayed at 2 other hotels in the area, and can say that the suites, service and general atmosphere was far superior in both of them. The rate of R4400 per night for the "suite" was far too high for the service and amenities that came with it - don't waste your money staying here!

We did complain to the hotel and were offered to move to a better room, but the only room they had on offer that was better than the suite was in fact classified as a room (at R2600 per night), so really only added insult to injury.

We cut our stay short by 2 nights and went on the the best hotel suit of our stay at Simola in Knysna.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London SW1
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I stayed at Le Franschhoek with another gay friend, having been recommended it by the people at La Petite Ferme (which was full). We had an initial problem in that the 2 bedroom suite we had booked (we are not a couple) turned out to be a rather splendid thatched cottage, but with a bed downstairs and two single on an open mezzanine floor. The helpful staff moved my friend into a separate cottage, without charging us any more, because we felt that we hadn't got what we bargained for - how often does that happen!

The service was excellent and friendly. In South Africa, anyone expecting rapid and responsive service is likely to be somewhat frustrated, but even this was better than most places.

The setting is exceptional - the grounds are beautiful in themselves and the views over Franschhoek to the mountains beyond are stunning. Many of the rooms (such as ours) are in small thatched cottages in the gardens, and some have basic kitchens. The rooms were clean, bright and well maintained - not luxurious perhaps, but very pleasant. My Garden View cottage had a small ground-level seating area outside; my companion's had a veranda.

We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but liked the fact that there was an option to eat outside in glorified greenhouses - it can get cool and breezy in the evenings. There is a basic bar menu which can be served either in the lounge/terrace of the hotel itself or by the pool. We had breakfast on the terrace every day, and the buffet-style range was tasty and the food plentiful.

The pool, although cold, is a decent size and there is a smaller child-friendly pool too. There were plenty of sun-loungers, with towels provided, and sun shades for those being careful of their skin. There was waiter service at the pool. One end of the terrace containing the pool has dramatic views over the valley.

We were not too demanding of the concierge service, but the staff efficiently booked us into local restaurants - Franschhoek itself is a good ten minute drive away and there are no passing cabs! We ate at La Petite Ferme - exceptional - on Christmas Day, and also very much enjoyed Reubens and The French Connection. The food and wine in Franschhoek are rightly renowned. On Christmas Day, there were so many people needing to be driven around that the general manager himself pitched in and drove us to the restaurant in his own car. We chatted on another trip to a trainee manager, who was clearly loving her time working at the hotel.

The Spa offered the normal range of massages, facials etc at fairly reasonably prices (compared with London), though we were somewhat misled when we booked for us to use the floatation pools at the same time - there is actually only one pool and we were both expected to share it, which led to fits of the giggles as we kept bumping into each other while trying to lie and relax. We gave up after 5 minutes - and were not charged.

All in all, we had a relaxing, pampered time and loved the peaceful ambiance and friendly service.

  • Liked — Wonderful location and fried
  • Disliked — Poor internet connectivity
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PimlicoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing